We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filoxenia Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 star Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been on all inclusive holidays for the last few years but decided to have a change this time,and after research chose the Filoxenia.Like other people we thought it can't be as good as the reviews, but it is and more.The rooms are cleaned daily and the pool area and even when busy we didn't feel crowded.What can you say about the food,it was the best we have had on any holiday,big portions and so well cooked.We were there for 2 weeks and Steve didn't have the same meal twice and he still didn't have everything on the menu! It is Nikos ,Eva and all the family who make your holiday so special they really are so welcoming.We really enjoyed our holiday and we will be back.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steviebeeLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    46
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
92
167
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Filoxenia is a lovely place for a nice relaxing holiday. Good price and lovely family made it perfect for a cheap break. rooms basic but good, clean and everything you need. The area is really nice, with some good restaurants nearby. the food at the hotel was very good as well, in particular the BBQ night on Saturdays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Came for the price, stayed for everything else!
This is by far the best hotel we've stayed in. Nicos and his wife and sons are the greatest hosts and made us feel welcome. The atmosphere is divine - quiet, peaceful and sunny, with greek background music. There are two pools that are never crowded (even in rush hour), great bar/restaurant/reception that is always lively, where you can stay for hours.
We booked a room with breakfast, but ate there lunch and dinner too because the food is fresh, tasty and listen to this - cheaper than other bars and restaurants outside the hotel. Because they make the food on the spot, you can choose what works for you - We asked for vegan meals and diabetic meals. Nicos went out of his way to organize dishes that suit us. His wife (sorry - we didn't get her name) was more than happy to assist us with everything that has to do with getting around the island and sightseeing.
Also, there is a bus station just outside the hotel. A bus drive is 5min to the airport and about 30min to Rodos medieval town. Beach is about 10min walk, Butterfly Valley is 5min by car/taxi.
Another huge bonus - Travata and Mira! The hotel's official dog and cat team - cute and lazy :)
As for the rooms - Pretty basic (bed, closet, table, small kitchen with cutlery) but very clean. We really didn't need more in our room.

We totally recommend. You get full value for your money, and special family atmosphere that you'll never find in the big all-inclusive-tons-of-people hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NyGili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our stay at the Filoxenia was the ultimate relaxation experience with exceptional food and unsurpassed attention from the gracious and charming owners, Nikos and Eva, their sons,Panos and Mikel and Grandma Georgia and Grandma Anna. They really are the fabulous Filoxenia family!!

Linda B. and Linda T.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Have just returned from a week at this little gem. All the reviews on here are thoroughly well-deserved. The whole family make you feel very special and are very welcoming, always on hand with tips and advice. Thank you Nikos, Eva, Panos and Michel ( not forgetting the Grandmas!!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne Minster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely hotel, ideal location but it's the family who own and run Filoxenia that made the holiday special. It was my first holiday on my own and it couldn't have been better and that was down to the lovely atmosphere created by everyone from the wonderful welcome, the great food, recommending exactly the right things to do for me, interesting conversations about Rhodes and its history and a reluctant goodbye. All the other guests were friendly and chatty too. It was lovely to be able to share in the family's good news whilst I was there too. Love to everyone. I really hope I can return soon. Sue

Room Tip: I had room 31 - I think it was the best! Second floor on the end overlooking the olive grove and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for 14 nights in August, a family with 2, 18 year old girls and a 12 year old boy. We had a real rest in a place where our family was genuinely cared for. The family who own and bring the Filoxenia to life were welcoming and hospitable from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. As so many others have said, Eva, Nicos, Panos, Mickel, 2 grandmas and Travata (the well loved and very lovely dog) make everyone feel like they are part of their extended family- nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are as clean as everyone has already said- the ladies who keep them that way are very friendly too- cleaning quietly around sleeping teenagers with an understanding smile.
The pools were perfect for us- the deep end being not too deep and we often enjoyed a pool to ourselves, at different times throughout the day. The atmosphere around the pool was so relaxing- families enjoying time together, reading, chatting, sleeping, playing... just lovely.
The resort is very quiet, you really can't help but unwind here. We hired a car for 3 days and caught a bus into Rhodes Town too (we went late afternoon and returned late- its beautiful in the evening) The food was delicious and so comforting !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ella688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
21.3 mi away
Ville di Lindos
Ville di Lindos
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
9.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
8.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#3 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
32.3 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel Apartments

Property: Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
Address: 19 Klm Rhodes-Kamiros AV, Tholos 851 06, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Filoxenia Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a word: a Philosophy!! Its meaning: friend (FILOS) to the stranger (XENOS)! Welcome to our family, to our home! Filoxenia! The perfect place for family holidays where relaxation, safety, culture and the feeling of traditional warm hospitality is always present! Escape to nature! Located at the outskirts of Tholos village, in the heart of an olive garden, the ideal basis for escapes in the countryside through rural paths and the most important highlights of Rhodes. Our place offers Three (3) swimming pools and free sunbeds for your relaxation during your holidays, alongside with bar-restaurant where you can enjoy delicious home-made food of the Greek cuisine, enjoy your cocktails throughout the warm days of summer or even relax under the shade of the pergola, enjoying the free wireless internet. For your entertainment, There are an 18 course mini golf, giant chess, giant droughts and a pitch for French balls, a table tennis and a playground. Let us guide you in the world of history and tradition through our exhibition of old family itens and rural tools. A library can be found in-site, all in your disposal !!! Bar-Restaurant Filoxenia We welcome you to the family restaurant Filoxenia, where we will offer you an unforgettable journey to the most pleasing joys of the genuine local traditional cuisine cooked with the purest products. Delicious dishes, cooked with our own pure virgin Filoxenia olive oil, olives, pickles, aromatic plants, various vegetables all of them from our own cultivation and production, which will make you experience the finest gastronomic pleasures. We would happily share with you some of the oldest, forgotten recipes of our rural tradition, so that your every meal will be transformed in a true journey in the world of gastronomy. In this journey, your dishes will be accompanied by one of the exceptional Rhodian wines that we have in a huge variety. End up your dinner in the best way by tasting our traditional home made fruit sweets and liqguers made by grannies Georgia and Anna !!! Filoxenia Hotel – Apartments has a number of different rooms of which are: -Single/double studios with 2 beds - Triple studios with 3 beds -Apartments with 4 beds -Apartments with 5 beds Rooms’ Description Every studio and apartment is equipped with a kitchenette of two electric stoves, fridge with freezer and the necessary cutlery, dishes etc... Furthermore, bathroom with shower, telephone, Air Conditioning and a safe- deposit box. Filoxenia offers the perfect place for your summer vacations. Designed accordingly to the traditional architecture and colors of Greek heritage, it will attract your sight immediately. Close to the world-famous Valley of Butterflies and the exceptionally preserved city of Ancient Kameiros, Filoxenia studios offer a wide range of activities and actions. From sight- seeing of monuments to excursions through the rural paths in the Mediterranean nature and from gastronomy to a first-hand taste of local culture. Let us guide you throught the paths for the Temple of Appolo Erethimios and the ruins of the cherch of Saint George ! Location and useful distances Filoxenia studios are located next to the main road that connects the city of Rhodes and all the villages of the west side of the island. A bus stop is located just outside of the hotel, making your transportation even easier. Rhodes (Greek: Ροδος, Rodos, [ˈroðos]) is an island in Greece, located in the eastern Aegean Sea. It is the largest of the Dodecanese islands in terms of both land area and population, with a population of 117,007 and also the island group's historical capital. Historically, Rhodes was famous worldwide for the Colossus of Rhodes, a giant bronze statue was dedicated to Appolo, god of the sun and protector of the island. It was completed in 280 BC but was destroyed in an earthquake in 227 BC. No trace of the statue remains today. It's one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The medieval Old Town of the City of Rhodes has been declared a World Heritage Site. Today, it is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Europe Historical sites on the island of Rhodes include the Acropolis of Lindos, the Acropolis of Rhodes, the Temple of Apollo, ancient Ialysos, ancient Kamiros, Kallithea springs, the Governor's Palace, Rhodes Old Town (walled medieval city), the Palace of the Grand Masters, Kahal Shalom Synagogue in the Jewish Quarter, the Archeological Museum, the ruins of the castle of Monolithos, the castle of Kritinia, and many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Tholos
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing