We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunlight Studios - Theologos' Hidden Gem”
Review of Sunlight Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunlight Studios
Ranked #1 of 2 Tholos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent the best holiday of my life with Kostas, Irene and family. When we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by George & Loukas and shown to our rooms which were very nice, clean and more than adequately equipped. The food was of excellent quality with the majority of it grown organically on Kostas' allotment (not more than 20 meters from the kitchen) and the kids were spoiled rotten with sweets and cakes from Irene. We were treated to a Greek party night with a lovely BBQ, "greek viagra" and traditional dancing which went down very well indeed. The atmosphere was a family one and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them - always a smile and a joke - these people really do care about their guests and went out of their way at every turn to make sure that we were having a good time. My only complaint was that we had to come home. Had such a good time and highly recommend staying at Sunlight Studios as you'll want for nothing, we're already saving up to go back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Both myself my wife and keiron arrived one day early to the sunlight studios and after explaining the situation we was given a room by Kosta straight away, we had been visitng the pool most of our first week as it was clean and the family was very accomodating, the food was good and the drinks just flowed nicely. Everything we asked for was never an issue it was sorted if not straight away within an hour or two, the family are one in a million they took myself to places by there transport ie George and Kosta to get things we needed, the music was good and we had a ball young at heart you need to be and you will never have a problem there we enjoyed every minute of our stay there, well done to Kosta Irene George and Luca, be back on 16th june to have a beer with you all see you next week,
Trevor Myra and Keiron

Room Tip: rooms are clean and have what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

24/05/12 just returned from yet another fantastic holiday spent at Sunlight ! Haven't been there for 3 years, but the freindlyness of the Lambrakopoulos family (Kostas,Irene,Louka & George, even Theo came and cooked a Barby for us)) has not altered !! Nothing is too much trouble whatever you ask for. All meals take time as everything is cooked fresh, if you dont fancy what is on the menu ask and if irene has it she will cook it for you
This year we took along 2 friends of ours who had never visited Rhodos before but they really loved it especially Sunlight and the family and are planning another visit later in the year. The rooms are basic for self catering which is what you find in most countries abroad we found them very clean and tidy, cleaned twice a week and supplied .withclean linen and towels
All this for 20 euro's a night that is room (upstairs) not per person, we will not wait another 3 years before we visit again

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and the cool breeze, keeps rooms cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I do not understand how the prices can be so different; If you book direct with Sunlight Apartments in May for example the cost is 15euros per night - if you book with Lowcost Holidays the cost is £38 for 7 nights!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salsarioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We arrived at Sunlight studios on august the 23th, and we were so enthusiastic for the good reviews read on trip advisor.
But when we reached Sunlight studios, we had immediately a bad impression, in fact the studio we booked was small and a dirty.
So we decided to ask for a bigger room and we payed an extra cost for it.
The other thing that we did not liked was the morning breakfast, in fact the “continental breakfast” was just an orange juice (or tea) with some bread, butter and jam, If you wanted something more you have to pay an extra cost.
Sunlight studios are out from the touristic center of Rhode, you can find here some good cheap restaurants where you can eat fresh fish and meat , on the road to Ancient Kamiros we recommend you To Spitaki and to Akrogiali (you can reach them only by car they are about 10-15 km far from Sunlight)
Another thing not good for us is Theologos beach (it is the beach in front of Sunlight), in fact Meltini wind blows constantly during summer, so the sea is always rough, if you want to see the best beaches you have to rent a car and go on the other side of the Rhode but it takes more than an hour.
The last thing we want to remark is that 2 km far from sunlight there is a big Electric central station, that blows out black stinky smoke from early morning until night!!!
That’s all!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cricco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Having read the many great reviews on TripAdvisor, we were SO looking forward to our week-long stay at the Sunlight Apartments (Aug 2011) and felt sure we would happily give it a 5 star rating. However, it didn’t really turn out that way.

First the good stuff:

Everyone in the family was really friendly and hospitable; we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived (NB we didn’t get there till 11.30pm!)

Although our room was small and basic, it was perfectly acceptable. We were allocated a ground floor front-facing room which had a lovely view of ..the hedge! (No one’s fault, sure, but we did get a bit bored of the view!!)

The pool area was fantastic as was the pool itself; it was kept clean and we spent lots of hours either in the water or at the poolside

Irene’s food was first rate; we had 3 evening meals during our week-long stay, and nothing was too much trouble.

Now, the not so good stuff:

On arrival we were told that air-conditioning (which is absolutely essential in July when we were there) cost 7 euros a day. So, straight away, another 49 euros gone. We weren’t informed about this in advance.

We were a bit put off by the signs around the pool exclaiming that “NO food or drink to be consumed at the poolside (including water) unless it had been purchased at the bar”. This seemed very mean-spirited. I wouldn’t say, like another reviewer has, that everything at Sunlight is designed to get your money off you; after all, these guys are not a charity, they have a business to run and bills to pay. But to insist that that even bottled water MUST be bought from the bar (at 1.5 euros a pop) is a bit much. It just gave our stay a bit of an unpleasant edge – something which other guests remarked upon too.

However, the most annoying thing about staying at Sunlight was the music. George insisted on playing music LOUDLY!!!! all day every day from about ten in the morning till evening time. It was a complete pain in the neck. So, if you want a ‘quiet’ break then DO NOT stay at Sunlight. It got so bad that we spent four of our seven days taking a bus into Rhodes Town just to avoid having to put up with the noisy music. We know from speaking with other guests, that they also shared our opinion on this matter. Note to George: Not everyone wants to hear YOUR music!! We didn’t come to Rhodes for a pool-party, OK?!! Kostas really needs to decide who he is running his Studios for: George to practice is DJ’ing skills, or his fee-paying guests?

Because of these last two issues we won’t be back to Sunlight Studios. This is a great shame, because if Kostas could just sort out these issues, then our review rating would easily jump from a three to a five.

A note about Theologos / Tholos generally: there is NOTHING there. If you are looking for a get-away-from-it-all holiday, this is your place. The village itself is pretty much a non-entity; in reality it couldn’t even be described as ‘quaint’. There’s nothing remotely historic or visually appealing about it. The ‘famous’ church isn’t famous at all, and is very modern infact (est 1980s?). There is one SUPERB taverna (Drosia) at the very top of the village. But be warned, the helpings are HUGE – so you can easily do without a starter.

The beach is pretty grim, and best avoided.

The bus to Rhodes Town takes about 40 mins and was 2.60 euros each one-way when we were there (Aug 2011). But be warned, the published timetable bears no relation to reality whatsoever. It’s as if Rhodian bus drivers live in a parallel universe. Best to just turn up and wait it out ….

The highlight for us were our day-trips to Rhodes Town. Such a wealth of history and antiquity. The harbour is great. Take the fifteen euro / 2 hour boat trip: 40 mins out, 40 mins snorkelling and 40 mins back. Wonderful.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor rom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HongKongFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Arrived at Sunlight to be welcomed by George (son) who made us a drink from the bar. I had requested an upstairs room if possible - George showed us our room downstairs offered to upgrade to upstairs apartment we decided to stay with the downstairs studio although it was quite small it was fine for our holiday.

Theologos is quite spread - most of the eating places are on the main road which is left out of the studios and right onto the main road, also a few supermarkets, the beach is reached by the same directions but cross over towards the supermarket and it is well signed.

We tried a few places to eat, and with every meal seemed to be served frozen chips (did not see much veg) we would have preferred not to have chips with everything. The main one we liked most (it had its own apts),was the Seaview which is off the main road down a side road, friendly people and the food was lovely, nice portions and 'proper' chips depending which meal you chose

There are two ways to the 'old town' - turn right out of the studios and follow the road round (there is also another supermarket just off this road) . The second way - out of the studios turn left and then left again walk down the main road until a sign saying Theologos, down this road the archeologists are still working which is quite interesting

buses to Rhodes are very regular 5.20euros each way for two, go away from the main tourist centre and there is still quite a lot to see

The Sunlight is run by a lovely friendly family and nothing seemed too much trouble for them Kostas, Irene, Lucas and George, The gardens and pool are well kept with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.8 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Summer Dream Hotel
Summer Dream Hotel
#9 of 9 in Tholos
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tholos
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Vallian Village Hotel
1.7 mi away
Rhodian Sun Hotel
Rhodian Sun Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paradisi
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doreta Beach Hotel
Doreta Beach Hotel
#7 of 9 in Tholos
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Studios

Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tholos
Price Range: £12 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunlight Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunlight Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Studios Hotel Tholos
Sunlight Studios Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing