We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sunlight Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunlight Studios
Ranked #1 of 2 Tholos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A really great week away already planning for next year. for 2 star accommodation rooms are excellent and clean. But it is the family that make you feel welcome and work very hard to make you feel at home i highly recommend sunlights to anyone best holiday in a long long time i look foward to going back soon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msam1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    36
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
53
131
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

What more can you say that everyone else is saying just so nice . we will be going back next year .the rooms are so cleaned every three days with clean towels and pool is cleaned every morning . the food is good value for money ,beer is cheap and cold. Geek nights are the best ,but bingo and fancy dress night were brilliant too . the locals make you feel like part of their family from people running the place and their friend's who use the pool and the bar .thanks for a lovely holiday .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petefogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just returned from a holiday in Tholos with my two children. Although we were not staying at the Sunlight Studios ( we were staying at a large hotel nearby ), fortunately we came across this wonderful oasis by chance. We loved it so much we returned several times during our stay. The family running the Sunlight were very friendly and made me and my children feel extremely welcome. The atmosphere was so relaxing and everyone staying at the studios spoke very highly of the family and recommended staying there. We went along to the barbecue on Greek night which was excellent, lots of fun and delicious food. I look forward to returning to Sunlight Studios in the future but would definitely stay in the accommodation next time. Thankyou to all the family for helping to make our holiday memorable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are returning customers to the Sunlight and are always amazed by the truly friendly family welcome that awaits us.We consider kostas Irene and the boys part of our extended family, they make anyones holiday so relaxed and friendly. We have returned so many times,not because of Tholos as a resort, but for the accommodation and people at the Sunlight. We always have a car for our whole stay,and literally use the accommodation as a base as we travel every day, we arent pool people, but the pool area at the sunlight are beautiful for anyone who does.Tholos is so quiet,and many things have closed down over the years,all down to the dreaded all inclusive brigade which is a crying shame, as the quaint greece of old will soon be lost completely to this colourd bracelet army, thank goodness for families like Kostas and family that allow us to still see Rhodes in the best of lights.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a larger room if they are available and you like extra space, but they are upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home, after staying at sunlight studios. What a time we had! The accommodation itself was very good. Clean and spacious with all the self catering facilities required. Set next to the bar and restaurant facilities and swimming pool and well cared for garden.......like many other like for like appartments you might think......but what sets this place way above any of the others......is the family that own/run it. Kostas and irene are amazing in their enthusiasm. ....strongly supported by their three sons.....george, lucas and theo. Irene is a great cook and never seems to stop working while everyone loves kostas for his passion for his business and his humour.....with what ever request you have greeted with 'no problem'.....or 'happy days'......really cant recommend this place enough....its what holidays were made for.......and what ever you do......dont miss the greek night......oh and bring your dancing shoes.......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johneefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a lovely place, the family that own and run the studios are so friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Kostas, Irene and the rest of the family have pitched what they do just right and should be really proud of their gorgeous retreat. The room we had was on the ground floor and was quite small but had everything we needed and was cleaned twice whilst we were there. We had a little balcony area and basic cooking facilities if we wanted to use them. The pool and bar area are fab, lots of room and kept really clean, there wasn't one day when we couldn't get a sunbed. The Greek bar b q nite was brilliant, lots of effort put in and a great experience. As it is a small place you get to know the others staying which was lovely and made it more enjoyable. The menu is good and we had some lovely food, although I personally would have liked to have seen more fish on the menu, but that's just my preference. Rhodes town is a bus journey away and well worth a visit, although mind the scams(scratchcard, you could win a holiday, in a taxi before you have blinked and then 3 hrs hard sell). They are situated by the bus station , so avoid if you can!
The Butterfly valley is amazing, we hired bikes for 6 euros for a day and rode there, took about 25mins but well worth it. The little chapel at the top of the hill is gorgeous.
The beach is not sandy and its very windy, perfect for all you wind and kite surfers out there. Very stony beach but beautiful all the same and the water was like getting in a warm bath.
Not much going on in the village, lots of empty and closed restaurants and bars but still some lovely places to eat and lots of little supermarkets.
All in all the holiday was really relaxing, in a gorgeous place with great accommodation and no-one constantly trying to get you to go on excursions. Other people went to Lindos and Symi which are meant to be beautiful but we were too chilled out to bother.
If I one slight issue it was the wasps around the pool, I know that the owners have tried everything they can to prevent them but I was quite anxious getting in and out. However, they do not bother you and fly away if you get near the pool and don't fly around food or drink, so bit annoying but seemingly nothing like English wasp variety....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missbusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Been to thollos now 4 times each time different hotels, stayed for about 6 weeks at a time. So me and my family spent plenty of time in this area. Its quiet and relaxing the whole area, there are a lot of all-inclusive hotels in the area. but they don't perform they are expensive and you will not get what you expect for the price. So the best plan for thollos is self-catering and this set of apartment's offers the real thing. Nice and clean, fresh and set in lovely gardens, the pool area is good for the size of the apartments very clean. And the owner's are out of this world, all the family willing to help any time of the day with all of your problems. Loved this holiday hope you will make the choice for these apartments to.

Room Tip: a second floor room couples or family's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholos
0.8 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
0.9 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tholos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.6 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pastida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alex Beach Hotel
Alex Beach Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tholos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marietta Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Studios

Property: Sunlight Studios
Address: Tholos 85106, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Tholos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tholos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunlight Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Onthebeach, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Studios Hotel Tholos
Sunlight Studios Rhodes/Tholos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing