We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park
Nearby Hotels
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$101
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$305
US$234
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$172
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$221
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
52
31
16
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
31
16
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile homegames roomcampers kitchenclean facilitiesgreat facilitieslovely campsitewithin walking distancesmall shopdisabled bathroomshower blockflat areatent pegsrelaxing holidaypicnic bencheskids playgroundbeautiful beachachill island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Directly on the beach, this park has so much to offer if you like the beach. Facilities such as showers are charged for via a token system. Has laundry facilities in the park with a TV room and pool table,, Costcutter, pubs, restaurants close by. Lovely walk to Slievemore Mountain. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This caravan park is in an excellent location on overlooking the wild Atlantic ocean on keel beach and in the heart of Achill island. Facilities are excellent and it is very reasonably priced. We travelled in a camper van and even though the weather was poor, it did not dampen our spirits during the weekend.

I did many activities on this holiday that I am normally not allowed do. For example surfing was a great way to start the day. There is a man with a van called Tomas who parks on the beach every day and gives excellent surf lessons. He has a variety of surf boards and wet suits. His rates are very reasonable and he is an excellent instructor (or maybe it was just me who was an excellent student!!). We also went horse-riding on the beach which was awesome and reminded me of my childhood. 

I would strongly recommend a trip to the end of the island to visit one of the best beaches in the country, Keem. When the sun is shining on the island, this place is second to none. A must do activity is a cycle on Mayo's fantastic greenway. It is a dedicated bicycle track on a disused railway and is a fantastic amenity that should be enjoyed by anyone visiting the area. 

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in one of the mobile homes over May bank holiday weekend. Despite our arrival late in the evening, the staff were warm and welcoming. The accommodation was very clean and well equipped. Our first night was quite cold but the staff were happy to hand out extra bedding and a heater at no extra cost the following morning. The mobile home was cosy, the kitchen and bathroom were spotless and the four of us had plenty of space to spread out our walking and cycling gear. Cycling the Great Western Greenway which starts in Achill Sound approx 8km away was a real highlight. In between the showers, the scenery was truly stunning and the cycle way meanders past rocky coves, sandy beaches and heather-covered mountainside. The campsite has clean and well-maintained toilet blocks and its location on the beach beside the Minaun cliffs is breathtaking. We were travelling with children who loved the campsite - there is a top-class play park just at the gates and they can cycle around the area without being in any danger. There is a supermarket nearby that makes fresh croissants daily and stocks a good range of food. We're used to camping both in Ireland and abroad - usually in a trailer tent. This was the first time we'd tried a mobile home and it worked out really well. Unfortunately we were unlucky with the weather but we will definitely be back. A really beautiful location and excellent campsite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ffibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We wanted to stay here for 5nights but left after two and won't be back.there are dogs everywhere and some people let their dogs roam around and poo everywhere and never cleaned it up.Yes there are sheep but it wasn't sheep dung!!!people were walking their dogs on the beach and letting them go wherever they wanted and our children got it on their hands twice in the time we were there..
We had to use the kitchen as we were camping and there was only one...yes one stove top working for the campers...we ended up having to have take out.
There is a swing top bin in the kitchen which had seen better days and was disgustingly filthy and there was no recycling bin in the kitchen and as a result everything went into the bin.
The showers are a joke...filthy and 4minutes...for a euro...the toilets are so small you have to squeeze beside the bowl to close the door.
The site is in a fab location and I think the owners just don't give a damm..there is a huge brown dog on the way in..the owners..and he barks and barks whenever anyone goes past..and barks and barks.
We needed to bring 2cars and we were charged for parking an xtra car...wtf!!!

There were people near us camping who were drinking until 4am outside their tent making a lot of noise and I dont know if the night supervisor was deaf or not on duty but they were very very noisy.
The staff seemed very young but were polite and helpful.
God only knows what any foreigners think of the set up.we won't be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank everlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed in motorhome for a night in July, it is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the country. Staff were very friendly and helpful. facilities were average, toliet , shower, playground outside complex. Five minutes walk to a shop, Pub and a few restaurants.Will return again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John N, Manager at Keel Sandybanks Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thanks for the comments and feedback. Hopefully we will see you again sometime !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews