We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, unusually large”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roskeel House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roskeel House
Ranked #8 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, unusually large”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Roskeel is situated just 5 minutes walk from Keel strand and has a small little pub just 1 minute away. The B&B is very large compared to the vast majority of Irish B&Bs, with more than 10 rooms. While this might mean it loses a little in cosiness, the hosts are still perfectly welcoming and gave us plenty of attention. Our room was big and spacious and absolutely clean. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife (a Dub) and I (a Virginian) stayed for two nights at the end of June, 2014 and I thoroughly enjoyed myself, fine amenities, the traditional Irish Breakfast, minutes of walking into Keel and escaping into the beauty and history of Achill Island. Maura and Brendan were exceptionally helpful and always available. A great adventure. Matthew R Cartier

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The beds are very comfortable, the rooms spacious, the beds comfortable, the views of Atlantic ocean, cliffs and mountains were great, the pub is close to pub and shop and the owners are very friendly,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webby621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were very lucky to get a room at this house on a very crowded marathon race weekend when another B&B we had reserved overbooked and gave out our room. Thank heaven for a late cancellation here.

The hosts could not have been nicer. Our breakfast was delicious and abundant.

As far as price, it is a bit high. We were charged €45 per person for a Friday night on this July weekend, which is higher than any other B&B we've stayed at during this drive around Ireland. And yes, as some others have stated, the room appointments were a bit shabby considering. To compare, as I write this I'm overlooking the Atlantic from the tower of a spectacular modern castle in Donegal where we just finished an equally wonderful breakfast in a relaxing, beautiful, spa--like atmosphere at €35/pp.

However, given the circumstance we were grateful for a room at all on Achill Island this July weekend and it was comfortable, warm, and dry. Hence, 4 stars.

Room Tip: There are ocean views in #12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

80 euros a night b&b in May 2014. Room very basic with my pet hate - flowery bedspreads! No duvets - sheets, one blanket and a bedspread. Furniture a mixture of old odd pieces - nothing matched. Our room was cold and had an old fashioned tiny portable TV and no socket beside the small mirror on the dressing table to use your hair dryer. No tea making facilities in the rooms either - you had to go downstairs to a nice communal lounge to make yourself a cuppa. The breakfast, however, was lovely with extra tea and toast if you wanted it. The owner was very pleasant too. All in all though, I've had much better value for money with much nicer rooms and wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 120Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I paid €120 for a room for three of us for one night with breakfast in September. The room was huge with a nice sea view from one of the windows. The decor was disappointing, a collection of old wardrobes and dressing table a bit like you would find in a rented house. There was no plug socket beside the dressing table so had to plug in the hairdryer in the socket at the bedside cupboard (no mirror ) and as all three of us had mobile phone chargers we had to take turns charging up the phones. The TV was tiny with a couple of channels and looked lost in the big room.
The sheets were the flowery kind which was a surprise. the room and bathroom were very clean.The bed was comfortable.
The house has a nice lounge downstairs where you can make tea (no tea making facilities in the room which was disappointing). The breakfast was good and the owners were pleasant. The location was great for Keel beach. Adequate but pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Roskeel House in August and while many of the other B&Bs were fully booked we managed to get two rooms.
We were travelling with a baby and they were very accommodating. They provided a travel cot and they had a high chair in the breakfast room.
The breakfast included an Irish breakfast or scrambled eggs (with bacon or smoked salmon). There were also some fruits and cereals for those who didn't want a cooked breakfast.
The owners were very friendly and definitely made us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
0.0 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#7 of 12 in Keel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#1 of 4 in Achill Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roskeel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roskeel House

Property: Roskeel House
Address: Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Roskeel House Achill Island/Keel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing