We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great breakfast”
Review of Stella Maris B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stella Maris B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The location is great, views to the beach and close to several restaurants.
We had great rooms for a family, two together on one floor so it was very convenient as no other rooms closely.
The breakfast was excellent, very fresh and healthy, the pancakes were superb.
The downstairs area was very formal, personally I would have preferred a few comfy sofas and turf fire.

Room Tip: For a family two rooms together at the top of a flight of stairs was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PElspethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Thank you Greg and Mary for helping to make our holiday one to remember, best place we have stayed in Ireland, spotless clean , fantastic views, and the breakfast was second to none. the hospitality of these people was unbelievable, cant wait till next august till we go back. Mary, Liam said thanks for the homemade strawberry jam its delicious. see you both next year. Liam and Trish. Kilkenny.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellamarisachill, Owner at Stella Maris B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Patricia and Liam thank you so much for your great review it's very much appreciated ,it was a pleasure to accommodate you and it will be the blackberry jam next time Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

For a week long trip around the week of Ireland, Achill was our first stop. We decided to stay in B&B's which we don't normally do so was a little wary!

Wow, this place was fabulous! Located in Keel and is essentially on the beach! The large rooms are fabulous with gorgeous 4 poster beds and the place is spotless! You can come and go as you wish and Greg & Mary are just lovely people. We were also able to avail of a discount in the local restaurant by mentioning we were staying in the Stella Maris.

Breakfast was also lovely, would recommend trying out the pancakes! Yum yum!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just home from super holiday in Stella Maris.Greg and Mary are superb hosts,nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as good as possible!!Breakfast choice has to be the best in Achill...fabulous.This is my third year staying there and I'm already looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eilis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellamarisachill, Owner at Stella Maris B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hi Elish Thank you for your great review it was very much appreciated and we were delighted to welcome you back for the third time.hope your well rested after the holiday and enjoying the meat, hint hint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Well what can I say about wonderful Stella Maris that has not been said,Spotless, beautiful. lovely breakfast, warmth of Mary and Grieg the owners, Carmel and Lena who help out just angles!! We felt spoiled and NOTHING was a trouble for these wonderful people. Dining in the conservatory with the Atlantic and mountains as backdrop!! who could a for more. DONT HESITATE to book it!! we had 5 wonderful days and did not want to leave. TY Mary n Grieg from Monica N Kenny (Scotland)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband & I spent several days at Stella-Maris in July of this year. We were there celebrating his sister's birthday and also to visit his father's homeland. We had a wonderful time, and Greg and Mary are very warm and friendly hosts. The room's view was to die for, it overlooked Keel Bay and the mountains. The yard has direct access to the beach. Greg and Mary could not have been more accommodating, greeting us with a bottle of wine upon arrival and giving us suggestions for dining in the area.

The breakfast at Stella-Maris was exceptional. Mary makes wonderful pancakes. If you go, you must try them.

If you are going to visit Achill, Stella-Maris is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This tribute could write itself.......Words have not been mined to describe the location and character of the absolutely perfect bed and breakfast home of Stella Maris.. The word Perfect is only half good enough to describe every aspect of this little gem especially the food. .
Truthfully I only rate when I do find a treasure of a rare jewel - Stella Maris -, in the beautiful, seaside resort of Keel in Achill Island is just such a jewel ,and is the home of the welcoming Mary , Greg and family. We shower praise on the charming , efficient , diligent staff.....A special treat was presented to me by Mary for my birthday Go raibh maith agat .. and "charming " could be Greg s middle name.
This spacious neo clasically decorated and finely furnished home would not be out of place in a photoshoot for "Hello " magazine.
We intended to stay one night only and then move on but when you find perfection it captivates you, so we stayed for only one week !....This B and B is situated one hundred metres from Keel beach which is just Greg s pristinely manicured lawn and a small field away .
All bedroom windows view the sea and the village amenities are within a very short walking distance of Stella Maris' secure carpark..
A sense of pure class, beauty , style , cleanliness,space, peace,serenity and tranquility, , brightness and homeliness prevails. It could be a retreat , and should be visited .. good for body , mind and soul.....Pat and Aine

Room Tip: room no. 6 is best room in the world ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aine-oCoLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#3 of 4 in Achill Sound
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Breeze B&B
Atlantic Breeze B&B
#6 of 12 in Keel
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris B&B

Address: Keel, | Achill, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse offers luxury accommodation, a welcome retreat after a day of activity. Relax and prepare for the evening where you can sample local cuisine in one of the many restaurants within walking distance of Stella Maris, or join in with some of the traditional music in one of the local bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Maris B&B Achill Island/Keel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing