We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed here twice while on Achill Island. Its good value and convenient location near the beach. The rooms are basic but clean. The breakfast was really nice and we also had an evening meal which was good but the menu was limited. There is a sauna upstairs which we used after a hike which was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eimear32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Whist not luxurious we were very happy with the good sized room, and friendly welcome at a good price. The added extras such as the sauna and the extensive choice of cooked options at breakfast (the largest choice in 2 weeks of holiday in Ireland) cliched the 4 star rating from us. The hotel is well located for Achill Island sightseeing, and there is an excellent bistro 3 doors down should you not eat in the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a very good meal at this hotel where the service was of a very high standard. I was surprised at this although really I should not be. There was much attention to detail and it was really quite impressive. The scones to start with were lovely. The organic salmon and beef my companion had were both very good. The portions are generous so we did not have dessert.
We had heard a lot about the hotel and were keen to try it out. Although dining early in the evening before there was a bit of a buzz, the meal and atmosphere were very pleasant.
They work hard and know their business and seem to do all they can to make dining in Achill a delight

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Cliff House Hotel is certainly more of an upmarket B&B than a hotel. It is a comfortable place to stay in a remote part of the west of Ireland. Food was very good with generous portions. The decor in the hotel and bedrooms is basic. There is not much to do if the weather is inclement apart from sleep and eat. As stated by others the WiFi does not reach the bedrooms. Staff were friendly, if a little fussy. The absence of a bar accounts for a lack of atmosphere in the place but I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 280Esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and had a very pleasant time. The food is divine - the best fish ever. On the downside, the staff are just ok and I would agree with some reviewers that they are more friendly to the locals than to the visitors - hardly a good business for a hotel. The hotel itself is a little dated but overall good value for what you pay.
All that said the food it so good, I can overlook the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Cliff House Hotel in Keel Achill is A very pleasant place to stay,the rooms are spacious, and the food is very good.
We only stayed one night but would certainly stay again.
The location is very central close to Golf Links and restaurants

Room Tip: Our room was at the side, ask for a room at the front overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaullineCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Had dinner here on the June Bank Holiday weekend and paid our regular visit to The Achill Cliff Hotel. As always the food was superb and the service was great. The view of Keel Bay from the restaurant is beautiful. Prices are average for food that is above average. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
2.8 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Achill Island Hotel
Achill Island Hotel
#2 of 4 in Achill Sound
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achill Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achill Cliff House Hotel

Address: Keel | Achill Island, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achill Cliff House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Star family-run hotel and restaurant located in Keel, at the heart of Achill Island, Co. Mayo. We offer quality accommodation and fine dining in one of the most spectacular settings in the west of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Achill Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achill Cliff House Hotel Achill Island/Keel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing