We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Bervie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bervie
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It doesn't matter what the weather in Achill is like if you stay here. You are welcomed as if you had been coming for years. A wide expanse of beach on your doorstep, dramatic cliff views from the rooms to the dining room, delicious homemade scones for afternoon tea, the catch of the day for dinner (plus other options naturally), comfy as anything beds, oodles of options for breakfast -my favourite meal of the day - from poached eggs and salmon through to crepes and of course the traditional fry. I went on a family vacation and we were able to convene in the many communal spots or equally disappear from one another. I would happily return with my partner for a romantic trip away. Incredible value too particularly given the luxury of the rooms, detail to the meals, and consistently friendly and helpful staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Bervie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

just back from another wonderful stay at bervie. so relaxing and peaceful waking up to the sound of the sea. a type of greek feeling to it. lovely food for both breakfast and dinner. Elizabeth is great, will never forget your name. can't imagine staying anywhere else in achill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I've had the true pleasure of staying at the Bervie as part of a Boundless Journeys hiking trip. The grounds are beautifully maintained, providing a spectacular view of the dramatic beachside cliffs. The Bervie is a peaceful, little slice of heaven. Liz is wonderful and really goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect. The icing on the cake is the delicious cuisine prepared with locally grown or caught ingredients. This is a gem worth checking out!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank HeatherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the Bervie for the first time, it's magic ! The room we were in was no 11 with a wonderful view of the sea and cliffs. Tastefully furnished with paintings photographs and little artistic touches to make you feel totally at home. Elizabeth and John both on hand to personally see to your well being. Add to that gourmet cooking and delicious organic wine and you have a perfect evening! Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eabha60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I echo all the wonderful reviews others have left. We had a great experience and will be back. It is the complete package of setting, comfort, and hospitality. The Bervie is the epitome of Irish charm.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea, and it was well worth the small additional cost. It's enchant...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeborahBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you are looking for a combination of excellent food, relaxing atmosphere and real hospitality in one of the most remote areas in Europe the bervie is the place to go. We enjoyed a week with excellent food and comfortable rooms right beside the sea and one of the most beautiful beaches.
Elisabeth and her team fulfilled every wish, even before we thought about it. Nothing better than a fresh cup of coffee and sitting right beside the atlantic when the fog lifts in the early morning.
We can fully recommend the place, its like coming home after a long time abroad!

Room Tip: Had a room to the west, but it was perfect and totally quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just returned from a night at The Bervie on Achill - a place I have known for many years. My parents also frequented the Bervie many times in the past and I was not surprised to learn that many generations of guests keep coming back again and again. Elizabeth and John are so welcoming and attentive in an unflustered way that they make the stay very, very relaxing. In fact "relaxing" is the keyword. The lovely, comfortable decor and furnishings that achieve that rare quality - uniqueness and character - simply invite you to kick back and take it easy. Located right on one of the most spectacular beaches in the world in a quiet location - a good night's rest is assured. And the food! The Bervie has really upped its game in recent years and the evening meal was wonderful (as indeed was breakfast). So, for ambiance, hospitality, comfort and great food - The Bervie is indeed the complete package!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a sea-view room if you can - it is really worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
0.4 mi away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pure Magic Achill
Pure Magic Achill
#1 of 3 in Dugort
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bervie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bervie

Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bervie Achill Island/Keel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing