We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bervie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bervie
Ranked #2 of 12 Keel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just back from an excellent stay in Bervie Guesthouse. Beautiful location with a little gate leading to the amazing beach.
The rooms where spotlessly clean, the staff where so friendly and attentive and no request was a problem for them.
As a coeliac its often quiet difficult with eating out but dinner and breakfast was excellent with great gluten free options without any fuss whatsoever. I would have no hesitation in recommending Bervie house and hopefully we will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
86
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We ate dinner here during summer 2014 and it was wonderful.
The restaurant is located in an old cottage which has been superbly renovated for the purpose. Elizabeth and John and their staff are excellent. The wine list is good and the food fantastic. The tables are superbly laid out with lovely covers, heavy cotton napkins, fine cutlery, etc. You get the idea.
Fabulous food, lovely evening. Go here.
We did not sleep at The Bervie.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a treat the Bervie was - arriving late so rang in our order for dinner en-route! delicious spring lamb, Elizabeth,, our hostess was a delight, so welcoming and full of fun & stories - just good old-style hospitality, no pertence. great service, Roonm was spotless, looking across beach to the inaun Cliffs, slept soundly on a very comfortable bed, awoke to the sound of the waves outside our window, wandered along the beach before a Full Irish and taking our leave. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It doesn't matter what the weather in Achill is like if you stay here. You are welcomed as if you had been coming for years. A wide expanse of beach on your doorstep, dramatic cliff views from the rooms to the dining room, delicious homemade scones for afternoon tea, the catch of the day for dinner (plus other options naturally), comfy as anything beds, oodles of options for breakfast -my favourite meal of the day - from poached eggs and salmon through to crepes and of course the traditional fry. I went on a family vacation and we were able to convene in the many communal spots or equally disappear from one another. I would happily return with my partner for a romantic trip away. Incredible value too particularly given the luxury of the rooms, detail to the meals, and consistently friendly and helpful staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

just back from another wonderful stay at bervie. so relaxing and peaceful waking up to the sound of the sea. a type of greek feeling to it. lovely food for both breakfast and dinner. Elizabeth is great, will never forget your name. can't imagine staying anywhere else in achill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I've had the true pleasure of staying at the Bervie as part of a Boundless Journeys hiking trip. The grounds are beautifully maintained, providing a spectacular view of the dramatic beachside cliffs. The Bervie is a peaceful, little slice of heaven. Liz is wonderful and really goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect. The icing on the cake is the delicious cuisine prepared with locally grown or caught ingredients. This is a gem worth checking out!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irlandia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the Bervie for the first time, it's magic ! The room we were in was no 11 with a wonderful view of the sea and cliffs. Tastefully furnished with paintings photographs and little artistic touches to make you feel totally at home. Elizabeth and John both on hand to personally see to your well being. Add to that gourmet cooking and delicious organic wine and you have a perfect evening! Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eabha60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
13.1 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
971 reviews
24.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
956 reviews
17.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#5 of 27 in Achill Island
133 reviews
4.4 mi away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achill Isle House
Achill Isle House
#12 of 12 in Keel
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bervie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bervie

Property: Bervie
Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Keel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bervie Achill Island/Keel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing