We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Ten Days”
Review of Renacer Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renacer Hostal
Ranked #2 of 83 Villa de Leyva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Ten Days”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Easy walking distance from town (fifteen to twenty minutes), Renacer sits on a hill. It is quite up and down, so be prepared. If you are just in average physical condition, you should have no problem. The rooms have just what you need. Don't expect amenities. You're traveling in hostels in South America. Water is always hot and has plenty of pressure. Beds are firm, but you'll get used to them.

It feels very, very safe there. Families from all over the world travel there with small children. Members of the staff are very welcoming. There are several young girls who work the front desk and one speaks English.

The beer and water are cheap ($1.00). You cannot beat that. They serve breakfast for as inexpensively as $2.00 for cereal and coffee up to about $5.00 for a large breakfast - there are also prices in-between. They also serve dinner. There were a couple of times when I would have liked food in the evening, but there was a sign on the door that indicated the kitchen was closed. Also, even though they advertise the availability of free tea and coffee at all times, there were times that it was not available. I guess they had those 24/7 except for the times they didn't have them 24/7. No problem - you learn to deal with inconsistencies and the minor inconveniences when traveling.

I was a little worried about only having a simple button hook latch on the inside of my door - you know the kind that is metal and hooks into a hole. However, I really didn't have any reasons to worry.

The staff there is also available to arrange expeditions to nearby points of interest - use them.

There is room for camping on the expansive grounds. They even have tents to rent! This might be of interest to young travelers.

There are plenty of hammocks, plenty of tables, and an open kitchen to anyone who wants to cook meals for themselves.

Overall, this is a really good value. I would certainly use them again.





Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank benbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    43
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
89
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Renacer Hostal (aka Colombian Highlands) is a great spot. We camped for three nights. There are tent pads closer to the common area, as well as some nestle higher up a hill if you care to sacrifice some convenience for seclusion.

The kitchen area is just fine, and the restaurant does offer some decent food if you don't care to cook - some interesting international fare. Beer is available on an honour system and isn't outrageous compared to buying in town.

It is a bit of a walk into Villa de Leyva, but a very nice one. While located near a small military base, the soldiers are quite friendly and we only felt safer being aware of their presence. Villa de Leyva is a nice place to spend a day or two, and there are decently places to hike in the area, amongst other activities.

We generally felt very comfortable with our tent at Renacer. Of course it is never wise to leave valuables around, but the general feel was that nobody was going to walk off with your shoes or something to that effect, which is not always the case - people come to Renacer because they want to be there - not because it is an intermediary stop. We met quite if few nice people from overland travelers, to backpackers and most people were very friendly. I guess this is the difference between being slightly off the beaten path, versus staying at a party hostel.

If you like nature, pleasant mountain weather, and a slightly rustic environment, you will enjoy Renacer Hostal.

Room Tip: Various tent pads. We liked being close to the kitchen, but if you want super quiet, maybe try up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Renacer Hostel for 3 nights. We camped on the tent pads that are scattered throughout the beautiful, lush grounds. The communal kitchen is one of the cleanest hostel kitchens that we have encountered on any of our travels. The restaurant is a bit pricey but the food is really good. The bathrooms were very clean, even the shared bath. Nice common areas, fireplaces inside and outside, a pizza oven, and a very caring and friendly staff. Lots of room for RVs, and camping. It's a bit of a hike into town (about 15-20 minutes).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildrling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

we stayed there 3 days in a dorm with two double beds. Very clean rooms. They even made our beds everyday! They don't have free breakfast you have to pay for it. Clean small kitchen. Nice TV room garden Very good price!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Renacer Guesthouse was a pleasure to stay in and possibly our favorite hostel with 5 weeks of traveling throughout Colombia. The rooms were extremely clean, the bathroom was spacious, and the shower had amazing pressure and hot water. There was a quaint and well manicured garden and grounds. Although the bed was only moderately comfortable, the rooms had a welcoming and cozy ambiance and were decorated nicely. There were some very comfy hammocks to lounge in right outside the room. It was a reasonable walking distance to town (20 minutes or so) and the area seemed safe. E-mail access was decent. The price was pretty reasonable with a good value at around 65,000 COP per night. Overall we enjoyed our stay and Villa de Leiva is a pretty excellent area to explore.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hostel, as many others have said, is hit or miss...
The pros for us were comfy beds (like, REALLY comfy), a beautiful hostel with a pizza oven and a fire pit to make a bonfire, as well as hammocks to lounge about in. Theres a "restaurant" where a really nice chef makes delicious food (although quite pricey for what you get) and generally, the staff are really friendly.

However, the downsides were the proximity to the centre, which is quite a walk, albeit a nice walk, its about 20 minutes, the lack of English spoken (which is not crucial as we were able to get by fine but for people who spoke no Spanish, this would be quite problematic. And seems as its such a popular hostel, you would have thought the staff would be multilingual).

Additionally, for me personally, my major problem here was the great big vat of stagnent water right next to the hammocks which was an active breeding ground for mosquitos. I appreciate that theres a water crisis but putting a lid on the water when its not raining or relocating the container would have saved my poor ankles from inflating to the size of a large elephant after having an allergic reaction to the mosquito bites!

The other major issue we had when we were there is that our laundry was missing several items (which I went back to reception at least 3 times to ask for T-shirts etc) To this day, we still havent got back what went missing, despite the staff looking. Considering you are paying for a service, it just isnt good enough!

I would say that overall our stay was good but could have been better. I wouldnt return after having such a bad reaction to being bitten - i just wouldnt want to chance being as ill as I was whilst travelling.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in Villa de Leyva, super friendly and helpful staff who also booked me my hostel room in Manizales. Nice vibe and cool place to relax. Particularly enjoyed the hammocks. It's a bit out of town but the hostel will deduct your taxi ride from the bus station from the bill and then it's easy to walk into town and back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa De Adobe
Hotel Casa De Adobe
#7 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
#6 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Solar
Hotel El Solar
#29 of 86 in Villa de Leyva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renacer Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renacer Hostal

Property: Renacer Hostal
Address: Avenida Carrera 10 # 21 | Via La Bañadera. Free taxi on arrival, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Villa de Leyva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family home of 9 rooms is considered by backpackers as one of the most beautiful guest houses in South-America, it's located close to the Flora and Fauna Sanctuary Iguaque, just 1,200 meters from the Main Square (20 minutes walking, 5 minutes by car). Free taxi on arrival (Villa de Leyva's Bus terminal to the Hostel. With a 5.000m2 area, beautiful and extensive gardens, social areas full of hammocks and total tranquility. Fire places and bonfire area, peaceful places and ecological trails. Kitchen (free coffee & tea) pizza oven, BBQ, bio-pool, TV room and board games, restaurant (breakfast & dinner), caravan park and more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Renacer Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renacer Hostal Hotel Villa De Leyva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing