We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Boutique la Espanola
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a party of eight. When we arrived the selection of rooms was slim, even though we had reservations through booking.com. The next day the manager gave us all the opportunity to switch if we wanted to. Each room had some quirkiness...noise from the street, a leaky faucet, a broken toilet seat, no water in the sink.... But overall, this was a good place for exploring the area either on foot or by car.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room away from the stray barking dogs at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyn818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

A lovely boutique hotel in the centre of Villa de Leyva - so easy to walk everywhere. A lovely old colonial building, beautifully restored and furnished - very stylish.
Rooms are very comfortable, stylish, ultra clean and bathrooms excellent.
Breakfast is simple and of good quality.
Staff are just delightful - friendly and helpful.
Hope we get the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a lovely time at this hotel- the hotel is absolutely beautiful and very convenient- it was great to wander back through the square after an evening meal or drink. The staff were very friendly - even if our complete lack of Spanish meant we had to be very creative and the breakfasts were really good. The only complaint I would make and it isn't really a full complaint but a suggestion- we seemed to be the only guests there and there were several much bigger suites/rooms which we could have been upgraded to- might not be the practice in Colombia but would have been nice- definitely would recommend- Villa de leyva is such a lovely unspoilt spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laethantasaoire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We got the junior suite. It was great with a nice jaccuzzi. Huge bed, A little noisy by street action, but heck, you are in a great town anyway. Nice restoration work. Breakfast was ok but not spectaulcar. But being 1 block from the square and most restaurants, it was not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZenLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is run by the owner and located just 2 blocks from the main square "Plaza Mayor". The rooms are spacious, clean, and save. Highly recommend staying here.
Parking is included and complementary. The only downside was the wifi. It didn't work in our room on the second floor. Other than that you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

When we arrived we were shown two options for rooms for our family of five for the same price, either one room with beds for five, or two rooms with one for two and one for three with bunk beds. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. In the morning, a set table was waiting for us for the included breakfast and made to order with bread, fruit, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit and eggs. The next day there was a buffet breakfast with similar items which we ate at the upstairs deck with amazing views. The proximity to the main plaza was amazing and you could be anywhere within the main core of town within 5 minutes walking. The views from our room, the central courtyard and the back upstairs patio were incredible day and night. The only note was that the shower head sprayed some water sideways but the hot water and pressure were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coltexdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here, occupying half the hotel with a group of eight. The hotel is beautiful and the location only one block from the main square perfect. Not all rooms are the same size and the smaller ones are on the small side but the nice courtyard and balcony more than make up for it. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast delicious, would definitely come back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
273 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Adobe
Hotel Casa de Adobe
#10 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#5 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Olivo Boutique & Spa
Hotel Bahia Olivo Boutique & Spa
#16 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique la Espanola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique la Espanola

Address: Calle 12 No. 11 - 06, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique la Espanola 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boutique La Española is located one block from the main square of Villa de Leyva, the rates range from COP150,000 to COP354,000 depending on season and type of room, including parking, WiFi, breakfast, taxes and insurance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique la Espanola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing