We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice scenic mountainside location in a busy tourist town”
Review of Hospederia Duruelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hospederia Duruelo
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice scenic mountainside location in a busy tourist town”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This historic town is well frequented by persons from Bogata and is quite unique. The roads are made of HUGH stone bricklike pieces and both walking and traffic slow down as a result; nice overall, but bring good shoes. The hotel is 'fancy' and likely expensive for even middle class Columbians. It is on at least 4 levels rising up the mountainside with older 'convent like rooms' which do not justify the price for sure, given the location far out in the countryside. Sparse bedding, sparse bathrooms and certainly the doors are anything but soundproof. But it is very busy and well regarded since options are limited for any average+ hotel. The grounds are well maintained, security gate, pool for kids etc; so it has what one needs. For this area, for north americans, it lacks value, but it is probable that it is good value all things considered.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, make sure you get a 'low number' room. eg level one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospederia D, Coordinación Servicio al cliente at Hospederia Duruelo, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Receive a warm and friendly greeting Human Duruelo Hospice Team

We appreciate your positive feedback and recognition of our work that makes us better every day and do the work with dedication and love to make your stay a pleasant one.

With regard to the suggestion this is sent to the Senior Management to take into account
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    115
    21
    15
    3
See reviews for
178
86
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was there for a couple of days attending a regional conference. Overall the hotel was fine, got a comfy room yet it didn't offer some basic amenities you might expect from such an hotel. Most of the time I was busy with the conference, but my impression was that the hotel offers quite pleasant gardens and outdoor, it seems that they keep a quite good physical maintenance of the building and the staff was friendly. The only problem was the poor access to WiFi in my room. Bottom line, I had a pleasant stay..... the town is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hospederia D, at Hospederia Duruelo, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Google Translation
Sr. Miguel . Reciba un cálido y cordial saludo del Equipo Humano de Hospedería Duruelo

Agradecemos sus comentarios positivos y reconocimiento a nuestro trabajo esto nos hace mejorar cada día y hacer las labores con dedicación y amor para que su estadía sea placentera.

Agradecemos nuevamente sus comentarios y esperamos contar con usted en una nueva oportunidad.

Cordial Saludo,

Sandra Milena Serrano Romero
Coordinadora Servicio al Cliente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I live in Bogota and went to Villa de Leyva for a long weekend out out of the city. The Duruelo was highly recommended, and I understand why! The hotel is gorgeous, and the views are breathtaking. The grounds are perfectly maintained and the staff beyond accommodating. I forgot my charger for my iPhone, and called the desk to inquire if anyone had one I could borrow. In 5 minutes, they were at my door with their personal charger! Breakfast was included, and delicious. All in all, we could not have had a better weekend in Villa de Leyva, and are already talking about our next long weekend out of the city. The Duruelo will be our hotel of choice when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kkl1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a lovely time my sister and I had here. I went back to Colombia for Christmas 2012 after 9 long years of not returning, and decided to invite my sister away for a weekend somewhere really lovely. Villa de Leyva is a gorgeous colonial style mountain/countryside town about 1.5 hrs outside of Bogota. For those who are considering travelling to Colombia, definitely recommend this place. We stayed in the Duruelo because traditionally, this has always been 'the' place to stay. They recently renovated it. The rooms are really super simple, but they're perfectly suited to the environment. The rest of the hotel is full of little courtyards and little rooms with artifacts from long-gone days. Service was what one would expect from Colombia - first class (Colombians are renown for the hospitality), food yummy and location perfect - just a stone’s throw away from all the hustle and bustle of this gorgeous town. Highly recommend. If you go, take a horse ride into the country side organised by the hotel. Well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolombina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This Hotel is the best that Villa De Leyva has to offer!! The views are breathtaking, the weather was so prefect that we were so surprised there was no need for heather or AC.
The staff ( Javier and Belisario) was very nice and professional.
We were lucky to have a minitour and they explained facts and other infromation regardingthe hotel and the city!
Food at the hote was a little slow but it was great as weel and we found out that more affordable to the places in town.

Room Tip: Uppre level if you are looking to be near the pool and good view. If you have a baby (like me) bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had our family reunion in Colombia last year, and one of the places we stayed was Duruelo in Villa de Leyva. It was by far our favorite hotel. The rooms were very spacious for the four of us, very clean. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular!!! Everywhere you look you see amazing gardens, and the colonial style is beautiful.
The food at the restaurants was delicious and the service was phenomenal.
The hotel is expensive, but it's really worth the experience!!!

Room Tip: Anywhere you stay in this hotel is a good location. It's worth walking to the main lobby from w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had to write a post because I keep reading about people saying the place is too expensive. We stayed with our three children in a double and we could not be happier. The hotel has a million dollar view, horseback riding, tennis court, basketball court, gym, spa, three pools, fish pond, hiking trails, ten minute walk from the main square, playground, free wireless etc. I have nothing bad to say about the staff either. We had a great time and will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usaob2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa De Adobe
Hotel Casa De Adobe
#9 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Suites Arco Iris
Suites Arco Iris
#1 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#7 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Getsemani
Hotel & Spa Getsemani
#10 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Duruelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Duruelo

Property: Hospederia Duruelo
Address: Cra. 3 No. 12-88, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Villa de Leyva
#2 Family Hotel in Villa de Leyva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villa de Leyva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hospederia Duruelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospedería Duruelo is located in Villa de Leyva becomes the perfect destiny to rest, to share and to know tourist sites with your family and in pair, to realize enterprise conventions and meetings successfully. Currently Hospedería Duruelo has only 93 rooms surrounded by beautiful gardens, 5 halls and 6 rooms for meeting of your convention or your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hospederia Duruelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Duruelo Hotel Villa De Leyva
Hospederia Duruelo Boyaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing