We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what you pay for!”
Review of Lemon Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lemon Grove Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Kavos B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for what you pay for!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for our first lads holiday, and was ace!

The room is basic to say the least, but we didn't really spend much time in there. We only had hot water for the first few days, then its was freezing for the last 4, but we just used the kettle to get hot water instead. No towels or toiletries were provided so you'll have to take your own. The beds were average, but when you've been out on the night you won't even care. We paid 25 euros each for air con, safe and sunbeds, but we found that other people paid different prices to us, some paid 35 and others paid 15, so not sure what happened there. The cleaners come in every few days to clean your room, but hardly do anything, they didn't even clean the sheets, the only thing they did do was empty the bins, which is good because you're not allowed to flush the toilet roll. But there is a toilet in the middle of the hotel what you can use if you don't want to us your own.

On the night, the hotel is generally quite and out of the way of the strip. But not only a minute walk to the bottom of it. There was only once when I was kept up on the night but was only because of these lads trying to impress these girls who were staying below us. But apart from that you can get a decent nights sleep.

The pool is kept in good condition, and we spent a lot of our time through the day relaxing around the pool. There is really much else to do there though, there is a pool table but doesn't really pass the time. There is a water sport event, that is on the beach right next to the hotel, that offer loads of stuff that you can do through the day. The beach doesn't look that good in front of the hotel, but the further you go up, the better the quality of the beach becomes. There is a sports bar called scorers, what is only a couple minutes walk from the hotel, and they put on anything you ask for, we went in twice and asked them to put rugby on and they offered to put it on the projector for us.

The hotel didn't provide any food that we knew of, and there was only a kettle (what didn't look in the best of conditions) and a stove what didn't work in our room, so we were forced to eat out. There was a cafe at the top of the hotel what did a deal what was a starter, main course and any 2 drinks for 9.50 what we had pretty much everyday, the food there was as good as the food offered at home. There are plenty of other places to go and eat but we only went there because it was the closest and it had WiFi.

When we got there we was greeted by a rep and they welcomed us, and offered us tickets for the foam/paint parties, and everything else that was happening around Kavos. But the prices they offered were expensive, about 30/40 euros per event, they were worth it but they I am sure you would be able to get them cheaper on the internet before you go. I'd try and go to all the events if you can, they last a few hours each and there is plenty of time after to go out after and explore the strip. The reps were pretty nice, but only because they tried to drag you on bar crawls at 10, when the strip was near empty. We stayed at each bar for about an hour and only went to a couple so wasn't that interesting, but was decent because you met people from yours and other hotels.

The strip on the night is awesome, the place where we mainly went was called buzz, it is opposite another bar called snobs (I think), it was packed all the time. It closes about 4ish, but there are a couple of bars open next to the beach that are open until about 7. We went to rolling stone once but my mate came along this female who he didn't want to see again so we didn't fully experience it.

Some advice:
- You will see some gypsies on the night on the strip, just stay away from them and ignore them and you they will walk past you
- Through the day, there are some black people that come around your hotel pool trying to sell you stuff, just do the same thing.
- You are bound to see some stray cats, but they are harmless, and won't come near you.
- I wouldn't bother going out on the strip until after 12, unless your'e going to a party or tagging along with a bar crawl because there will hardly be anybody about.
- Don't insult the people that try and drag you into bars, they pester you until you pass the bar and they enjoy some banter, but don't take it too far because they get pissed real quick!
- Don't cause too much trouble in the hotel on the night because they is always some staff walking about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millar108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    22
    9
    25
See reviews for
8
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Having booked the holiday with a group of friends, we were sceptical of the hotel due to the vast array of reviews that were avaliable - we weren't to sure it the place even existed at first!!

Having flown in around midday, we were addressed by a friendly receptionist who confirmed that we would have to pay €30 each for the air conditioning, a safe and the use of the sunbeds. We found this reasonable as some reviews stated that it was €50 a week for the air con and €2 a day for the sun beds! Plus, the safe itself was made a lot easier by the code system, reassuring us that no one could break into it unnecessarily and we wouldn't have to worry about losing the key!

We lost our key on the last day, turns out it was in one of our suitcases and came home with us, but the staff were really nice about it and only charged us €10 for a new one, which was like €3 each so wasn't expensive at all!
Also, we had a late flight home and were due to be leaving our room at around 10.30/11 am. Instead, we paid to keep our rooms for the rest of the day, which was a reasonable €15 each and made sure all our stuff was kept together and safe.

As mentioned by other reviews, the rooms are relatively basic, but what more can you really expect given the price and the location, and if in all honesty you didn't come for a typical girls/lads holiday, then you're coming to the wrong place entirely!! The beds themselves are quite comfy, and the room we had was quite spacious - this may have been because we were on the end of the row of appartments, as our friends room next door was slightly smaller.

The pool itself is quite nice, we never noticed the broken tiles or anything, so I'm not sure how evident these actually were! The hotel could do with opening the poolside bar and restaurant though, to make the place itself more accommodating, but in all honesty, we didn't even notice that it was there until the end, if we needed anything we walked to the shop which was literally 30 seconds away.
They could also do with investing in a few more umbrellas for around the pool, as we only counted a handful, but again, there were ways to get around not having one.

The location of the resort itself it ideal, as it backs onto the beach and is so close to the strip, yet far way enough so that you're not kept up by the music etc.

The only downside we found to the hotel itself was that the shower was a bit hit and miss, some days it's worked perfectly fine and others not at all, but having spoken to the manager, it was typically due to the high quantity of water needed to supply the whole of the island so it was beyond their control as to as and when the showers worked. Also, there is a limited supply of cups etc in the rooms, so when pre drinking, your friends need to bring their cups with them!

Furthermore, if you booked the holiday online as opposed to in a travel agents, you're not given a rep so you have to find them yourselves, which wouldn't be difficult had they have introduced themselves, but to us personally they didn't!

Overall, myself and my friends had an absolutely brilliant holiday and we would definetly come back to Lemon Grove due to its ideal location and general value for money.
A word of the wise, do not be put off by all the other reviews as we almost were though, it's best to see the place for yourselves - some people expect too much from a 3 star hotel when realistically all you need is a bed to collapse in after a night on the strip!
And another thing, Penny's is such a nice restaurant on the strip, the staff are so friendly and the prices so reasonable, we ate their most nights so it's definetly worth checking out!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week long lad's holiday at Lemon Grove, or should I say Lemon Hole.

Where to start?

Upon arrival we were told we had to pay 30 euros for the use of sunbeds, aircon and a safe. Even after stating we didn't want them and hadn't been made aware this was the case, we were told if we didn't pay we wouldn't get our rooms. Righto..

After almost 24 hours traveling we asked where the hotel bar and restaurant was, as we were all hungry and thirsty. We were told 'The restaurant and bar are closed this year, but you can eat and drink out on the strip'.
I don't know whether it was just us, but every country you can 'eat and drink out'. Thank you Captain Obvious. Surely you should expect a basic level of amenities at your own hotel. This made getting a quick sandwich for lunch or a cold beer around the pool impossible. If it was advertised without a hotel bar/restaurant we wouldn't have even considered the Lemon Hole. But now we had no choice..

We were then shown to our 'Self Catering' rooms, which didn't have a fridge, microwave, stove, kettle or anything at all to prepare food. Instead, we were told it had been replaced with 'food tokens' which you had to collect during certain time periods, walk to the strip and redeem at a local Greek cafe. But oh it's fine, to keep our drinks cold they can 'install a fridge' into the room, however it will cost 20 euros for the privilege. I'm sorry but that is just pathetic. After just paying 30 euros for sunbeds we resigned ourselves to the fact we had to drink warm beer from the shop and eat out every day. Can it get worse? Yes, yes it can.

The rooms themselves were disgusting, UV paint up the walls, on the floor and on the balcony, the beds were like planks of wood, the door looked like it had been previously broken into with a damaged frame, bathroom was so small you have to shower over the toilet, no shower curtain so the place gets flooded in seconds, you have to hold the shower head while you wash as there isn't a holder, light fittings hanging out by the cables, balcony door didn't lock, no TV even though advertised with 'Sky Digital', the shower itself was so bad you were better off standing under a dripping tap, could barely fit two people onto the balcony at the same time, the list seriously goes on and on..

But surely if they're cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding they can be lived in for a week? Wrong. In a week long stay our rooms were cleaned twice.. It gets worse. After a 4 day period without even a new toilet roll, we went to complain.. We were faced with the rudest, angriest and biggest troll of a receptionist who claimed 'the cleaners sheet has been signed, therefore the rooms have been cleaned'. We suggested she comes and looks for herself but obviously declined our offer. At the very least we just asked for some fresh towels and some toilet roll, but her reply was 'the cleaners cupboard is locked, I can't get into it, there are communal toilets by the pool'

So we had to use beach towels covered in sand/dirt to dry ourselves after showering and use the disgusting communal toilets if we needed anything other than a wee. Absolute filth. Believe it or not, it gets worse.

While sitting around the pool on the 5th day, the troll receptionist approaches us and says 'your rooms have been cleaned, the towels are too dirty to be given to the next guests, there is UV paint on the walls/balcony, blood on the bed sheets, blood on a pillow and damage to the doorframe'

Apparently there was a 10 euro fine for every bed sheet, pillow, bed cover and every dirty towel plus 50 euros for the damaged door frame.
This was literally the last straw for us. We literally couldn't believe what we was hearing. We told them we would wash the bedding and stuff ourselves at the local launderette and coughed up another 50 euros for a damaged doorframe which was already damaged when we arrived!

But at least we could relax at the pool after all this stress? Haha, yea right.
The pool was absolutely disgusting with clumps of hair and plasters floating around in the water, cracks in the tiles made walking bare feet a challenge who could survive the longest without slicing their foot open, the only good thing about the pool was the abundance of sunbeds, there was never a problem getting one, probably because everyone had the sense to go elsewhere. Also no music and no pool bar made the atmosphere somewhat like a funeral.

As a group of lads, we're extremely easily pleased and we really don't expect much, however the Lemon Hole has taken this to a new level. We have been to most of the top party destinations in Europe now but this was by far the worst accommodation we've ever stayed in, by a long long way.

Kavos itself is alright, considering we went peak peak season it still seemed pretty quiet, a few clubs and bars on the strip were closed etc but if you stick to the places which have ticketed events they'll be busy. Highly recommend the boat party and paint party.

A word of warning, don't walk home on the beach on your own, a friend of ours was hit around the head with a cricket bat and mugged by 6 suspected Serbians, known by the police it happens a lot apparently. Also make sure you have travel insurance as all the medical centers on the strip are private and his 15 stitches would have cost hundreds of pounds without it.

To sum up. Kavos itself was great, food was absolutely amazing, clubs were decent and the people very polite. Just don't walk home on your own and definitely definitely definitely DO NOT stay at the Lemon Hole.

6 lads, 21-25 age bracket.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Shallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kavos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lemon grove was perfect. We wanted a basic room to sleep and get ready in, and that is what we had. The room was clean, cleaner came In every day, towels and sheets changed every day too! I'm usually very fussy about where I stay but I was pleasantly surprised!! You can use the air con and a safe for 25€ For your whole stay ( defo worth it ) We had a stove provided, however the restaurants (especially 'big max') were very cheap! 'Big max' I defo recommend, €9 for any starter,main and drink and the staff were lovely! Alex the manager was very friendly, and ashley the rep was helpful too. The pool isn't the biggest but the hotel is literally on the beach so who cares! We opted for the events package I.e.. Foam party,pool party's, bar crawls,paint party etc, DO IT, was amazing !!! For a 2* hotel this hotel was perfect!! The hotel is in a perfect location as it is 2min walk to restaurants and a mini supermarket and a 3min walk to the strip!! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody (and I'm fussy)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ayeshabritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkhsire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked a last minute for myself and husband, both of us early 40's so was expecting a rowdy hotel. Couldn't have been more wrong. Hotel was quiet, pool area quiet. Hotel on beach, lovely setting. Despite hotel being on strip once in room with doors closed could barely hear any noise. Alex the owner always happy and cheerful, if you needed anything you just had to ask. Rooms cleaned every day. Lots of sunbeds available, no fighting for a sunbed here! Shame the pool/snack bar were not open but most people would just go to shop next door. Rep Ashley was a lovely girl around everyday, always checking you were ok. Relaxed all day and went out every night, lots of places to eat, Big Max's opposite lemon grove €7 for a two course meal and the portions were huge, steak dishes amazing, well worth a visit. Enjoyed the break as just what we wanted, nothing to do through day except relax and a few drinks every night. Would stay at lemon grove again. Don't be put off with what you read. Alex and his family all friendly and available to help with anything you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went in August with a group of friends, and i would definitely recommend Kavos. The top bars were Buzz and Madisons. Ocassionaly Rolling stones was alright but often wasnt busy as everyone was at Buzz.
If you head to the left out of lemon grove hit up Pauls he was very friendly gave us free nos and drinks making it a great prinks place. The strip does only get lively around 1/2am , we made a mistake on our first night being ready by 11pm and having nothing to do.
Lemon grove hotel has positives and negatives:
(+) Staff were very friendly. I got very ill on about the third day and the staff went out and bought my medicine for me going out of their way to making sure i was okay. And if you need extra cutlery they are happy to go and get it
(+) Very close to shops! which is good if you want to keep the holiday on the cheap side and self cater, although chips on the strip were about €2.
(+) very close to the beach! Me and my friend went for midnight swims all the time and it was realy nice to sunbathe on the pier opposite lemon grove.
(+) They dont mind people coming back
(+/-) On the strip. I found this a good thing as it was slightly set back and enabled me to go back and fetch things or whatever when i need to. However, the noise can become a bit much if you get ill like me and had to stay in all night.
(-) other hotel stayers are very rowdy and violent. We had one guy opposite us use a chair to smash a window to try and break into what i assume was his own room? However this broke the chair and later in the holiday our group was charged €60 for this chair and the staff forced us to pay or theyd keep our passports , and since our flight was in 3 hours we had to pay :/
(-) You really do get what you pay for. The shower was literally a drain, everything got wet and we had to hold the shower head up to wash.
(-) it cost €50 for aircon and i seriously regret not getting it ,as it got so hot we had barely any sleep, the fans are cheaper at €20 but make no difference to the room so dont recommend.
(-) Pool is very quiet and not lively at all. was practically dead if it wasnt for my group and one other group.
(-) 2 euros for a sun bed per day/use
Tip: The hotel next door threw amazing pool parties and me and my group payed £400 for this holiday whereas our friend we payed next door payed £250. And i can tell you theyre hotel room was alot nicer! (Quayside if youre curious)
Dont recommend the boozecruise was pretty bad for how much you payed! Drinks were very expensive on board and i forgot to take money so i was pretty sober the whole time. And due to it leaving so early everyone was pretty hungover from the night before. However, saying that once we'd all eaten and the music was playing it was very good. Misleading advertising when it says rave in a cave, it means rave next to a cave. and when it says snorkelling it means you can jump of the boat. I do feel that girls were pressured to take their bikini tops off for free shots.
Definitely a memorable holiday! Kavos ruined me!! But glad i went :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiniGirlMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This review was writton September 2004 - As with all Holidays we were all looking forward to ours with eager anticipation. The flights went well, the coach transfer was OK, albeit without a Rep..
As we pulled into the resort all seemed OK. Then we got to the apartment at approx. 1am, the entire complex was in darkness, we had to find our own rooms until out of the darkness somebody showed us our room. What a horrible place, small, dirty and extremely smelly. The kitchen was about 1.5metres square, the cooking top was two camping style rings sat on top a workspace approx. 500mm wide adjacent to the sink, and that was the kitchen except for a fridge. There was no seating area, only three single beds, in our two bedroom apartment. The Bathroom had a toilet, Wash hand basin, and a shower tray, no shower curtain, so everytime you had a shower everything in the bathroom got soaked, the only other thing in the bathroom was a broken electrical socket, with no fascia, just exposed wiring.
The whole area within and outside our apartment stank of sewerage.
At this point we all thought, we need to be moved.
After this initial shock we decided to see if we could get a drink somewhere, which we did across the road at the 'Face Bar' drinks were 3.5 Euro's a pint, cheap, NO..
In the morning we attended the Reps, welcome meeting all they were interested in was selling excursions. We asked the Reps about moving, only to be told everywhere was full, but if we still wanted to move, we could try to find our own accommodation, and pay for it.
All in all the resort was horrible, smelly, loud, overpriced and not a place I would wish anybody to end up in for a long awaited rest. Try walking down the street at between 9-10am in the morning, seeing all the discarded food, booze and vomit.
As there is only one Street through Kavos its hard to avoid it.
We booked an excursion one evening to Corfu Town on the boat, on the boat you could purchase a small can of 'Amstel' beer for 3.5 Euro's, we later found a supermarket just outside Kavos where you could but six of the same cans of 'Amstel for 3.6 Euro's.
The boat trip was totally boring, the shops in Corfu Town where the boats harboured were disappointing and totally geared to holiday gift junk. The boat trip back to Kavos was freezing outside and like a sweat box inside, that was our last boat trip excursion.
Unless all you want from your holiday is all night booze in horrible smelly little bars overcharging prices, to spend all day sleeping in you horrible smelly apartment this is not a holiday for you.
The beech appears quite nice, I think the only reason the sea's not as clear as the west coast is because when the apartment owners clean the beech all the cig ends, all the rubbish are brushed into the sea to get rid of it.
Our apartment had the sheets changed once in the whole of our two week stay.

Room Tip: The best rooms are located elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank TimGilliland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavos hotels
1.0 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.1 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#4 of 13 in Kavos
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kavos
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Island Beach Resort
Island Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Kavos
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elenas Garden
Elenas Garden
#9 of 62 in Kavos
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antony's Complex
Antony's Complex
#45 of 62 in Kavos
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Grove Hotel

Property: Lemon Grove Hotel
Address: Kavos Area, Kavos 490 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Lemon Grove Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach location perfect for those lazy days and crazy nights. Well kept property and very friendly staff. 3 mins walk to the start of Kavos and its crazy night life high season. Suitable for all ages, but very much a youth programme July/August. English Staff, on site office, exchange,safety box, internet access, bar, Sky TV, restaurant, watersports high season. All room have air conditioning (payable locally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lemon Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Grove Hotel Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing