We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koulouris Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Simply a great place, clean and sharp apartments. A big clean swimming pool with many deck chairs. Its located on the beach and a 5min walk down the beach to the strip, just far enough for the music not to be noticed in the rooms. Best of all is the staff, very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They will not only help you in the hotel but advise the best spots in Kavos and help with any problems in or out of the hotel. My friends and i compared each others hotels and this came out on top, no surprise. Shout out to Alex and Petros in the pool bar who were amazing. From John and the lads June 27th-->July 7th 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnMeadows95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a fantastic holiday, the hotel itself was pretty average and there were a lot of things that could be better even for low budget apartments. Getting there takes around an hour and a half and you get to one hotel and go on a minibus for another 5 minutes to reach the koulouris beach complex.

The room itself was fairly nice, clean beds, limited self catering facilities, clean bathroom (as expected anywhere in greece,) there were a few maintenance problems but on a girls holiday they don't make much difference. You have to buy your own toilet roll, the beds don't get changed and you only get one towel - so being close to the beach the floor quickly feels quite horrible to walk on. The cleaner did visit once and just tidied around us (not very quietly) as we slept, also on our last day she insisted on cleaning as we were packing, (before we needed to be out of the room) which was a bit annoying as she was tidying away our things before we'd finished with them.

You will probably need air con which is 50 euros and the safety deposit box which was 12 euros for the week (i think) although the aircon was set too high so wasn't that great anyway. You're supposed to leave your apartment key at reception when you go out so you don't lose it - but anybody could ask for any key and get into any apartment so the security of it is appalling. We think that someone went in to our friends room and stole around 40 euros but got interrupted so make sure not to leave valuables in the room. **There is a security guard but all he really did was get angry with boys wanting to come back to the room with us** So if you plan on bringing anyone back go elsewhere. (which lets be honest it's likely in Kavos.)

The poolside is fine, the food is fairly expensive, you can get nice pizza 24/7 though. Eating on the strip is much cheaper. We got up fairly late as we stayed out most of the night so there were rarely sunbeds left, but if you want a better poolside just next door there are some apartments and a bar which have a pool you are welcome to use - the staff are lovely and welcoming too.

The location is okay, you have to walk on the beach (bring a torch) to get to the strip which takes about 5/10 mins to get to the nearest bars/restauraunts/supermarket, and a further 5 minutes to get to the main strip -- on the way back go the way you came as it takes ages to walk from atlantis/bamboo (clubs) on the front of the beach. On a side note Kavos beach really isn't that bad, it's sandy and there is a bit of dead seaweed around but it's really quite pleasant.

Regardless of the hotel you will have a fantastic holiday, kavos is full of really friendly people and there is a great night life and events going on every day and night - before booking events get advice from the PRs on the strip as to whats worth the money as most events are 30-40 euro. Lot's of people said the paint party was amazing, and we thought the crazy speedboat trip was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlyleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Group of 4 went, didn't know what to expect. arrived to find ourselves in a beautifully arranged - rather small hotel. Pool was perfectly sized, staff were incredibly friendly(this was true about Kavos in general) and the view from the beach by the hotel was absolutely sublime. The room we stayed in had 3 single beds and one double, the bathroom was a large wetroom with plenty of space and the kitchen was an alright size. My only fault of the hotel was that for self catering there was no kettle(an essential for the holidaying brit craving tea) and limited cutlery. Otherwise, showers were only hot daytime due to the water tank on the roof requiring sunlight to heat - but in somewhere as hot as Corfu a cold shower is the most refreshing thing. Clientele were mostly large groups on 'Party' holidays so beware if you're booking in the peak season and looking for a couples retreat or a relaxing family holiday. But generally the people we met were friendly and a good laugh. The barmen Petros(who I converted to tequila) and Alex(Huge) both make great drinks too, so look out for them. The walk to the strip is not that bad, it is only 10 minutes or so and there are many bars and restaurants en route. The lemon trees around the site were also a boon for improving a drink.
All in all I had a great time and the hotel was a large part of this.

Room Tip: Go for D block, near the pool bar and beach with good fittings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dominic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at Koulouris Beach with 2 friends for a week from the 24th June and after being dropped at the wrong hotel by the transfer we got a taxi to the hotel down a crazy bumpy road. We checked in and paid £60 for the air con for the week and then £12 for a safety deposit box
The room was pleasantly surprising! Clean basic but everything you need for a party holiday for 18 year olds
Only problem we had is not being able to adjust the air con and freezing at night and having to pay for the loo roll after using the one but we just got some from the pool loo :')
Pool area is great! Love the bar staff Maria and Alex they're amazing
Would defo stay there again the location is great loved walking along beach with sunrise after a night out only like a 5 min walk to the main strip
Loved Koulouris cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Ten friends and I organised a week in Kavos to celebrate my 21st. I wasn't sure what to expect from the hotel considering pictures can definitely be deceiving and a cheap price doesn't usually guarantee the best accommodation but my friends and I were definitely pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were lovely (we booked three three bed rooms and two two bed, and I ended up sharing a bed with my boyfriend in his room so he, a friend and I shared what was effectively a double bed with room to spare), although my friends didn't like that the floor got covered in all the sand and whatnot we brought in from outside. The maid was often around and the balconies were a really nice place to spend the evening outside. However, the apartments face both ways so one side of the building faces away from the sun so can be slightly cooler, but there is still the poolside should this be the case. One complaint is that 'self catering' at Koulouris apparently seems to mean 'eat out' because the cooking area was meagre, not that we were much bothered. There are plenty of cheap places to eat out (go to Eve's Garden, it is AMAZING). The showers also didn't attach to the wall so you had to hold it, but it's not much of an hindrance on the grand scale of things.

The poolside and bar were also really nice. The music played was fairly good and you could request music from Tom, Maria and Alex who work the bar/reception during the day and Nasos, who covered the night shift (and they're all really nice!). When they say it's 24 hour, they mean it. We arrived around four am and were immediately able to get a cocktail and pizza and watch the sun rise from the beach, as Koulouris literally does back on to the beach. It was such an amazing experience. There is also a hammock and jacuzzi which are both really nice and plenty of sun loungers.

Can't really think what else to compliment. Koulouris isn't a five star hotel, but nor does it claim to be. It's a brilliant place to spend a week with friends, and even a family would be comfortable providing you don't go mid season when Kavos is guaranteed to be filled to the brim with young people looking to get drunk, and the experience is definitely not one to miss. The imperfections are what makes it a holiday to remember. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SquashedByAHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here from 16th July get dropped of at sister hotel and get picked up and driven down bumpy road. Sister hotel much nicer stay there we spent all are time there. Taken to one of the bunglow sort of rooms got in and laughed, stained sheets rusty lights. knife and a spoon only cutlery you get and a pan so carnt do much cooking. And you basically shower with the toilet, lovely. Ye so not great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank efcjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

this hotel is great for a party holiday, the rooms are very basic but clean.
the hotel is on the beach and a 5/10 minute walk along the beach away from the strip really easy to find!
there is 24 hour service at the desk and snacks always available, food not so good and quite over priced compared to places on the strip. the pool is warm and lovely to sit round, and current music played all day long.
the only problem we had was the security guard - he was really aggressive and threw a chair at us for laughing when he was talking. otherwise kavos and this hotel is a fun place to go! make sure you go on the crazy speed boat - a lovely short fun day out!

Room Tip: the maisonettes are closest to the pool and are better than the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rizzyriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.8 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#3 of 13 in Kavos
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kavos
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corfu Sea Gardens
Corfu Sea Gardens
#10 of 13 in Kavos
450 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
18.2 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koulouris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koulouris Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 49080, Kavos 490 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Price Range: £21 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Koulouris Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koulouris is a hotel complex comprising of 5 buildings (Bungalows and Hotel rooms) situated just outside Kavos on the beach in the Aspro Kavos area.It is surrounded by 16.000 m² of beautiful natural landscape gardens on the sea of Asprokavos.The excellent location and good on-site facilities attracts young guests who want to be at the centre of the action in early and late season families will also enjoy the pool, beach and facilities at the Koulouris.A 300 metre walk down the beach will reveal the resort centre of Kavos, which offers the liveliest nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koulouris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koulouris Beach Hotel Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing