We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but you get what you pay for!”
Review of Kavos Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kavos Plaza
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap but you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this as it was cheap and before the summer holidays. Like recent reviews we had to pay for air con and a safety deposit box on arrival (we were prepared having read reviews) the first room we were in was in the bottom left hand corner and it was so quiet we forgot where we were but our second week we had a friend come out so were moved to a bigger room (for groups) the right side of the hotel was so noisy and we were woken several times a night by young adults (kids) returning drunk, being sick and banging on each other's doors! The hotel is beautifully kept , clean and tidy and rooms cleaned often. The staff behind the bar were lovely and very friendly. We were not bothered to join in entertainment ( DJ) if your looking for a quiet holiday this is not the area, there is nowhere to walk to get away from the strip. The hotel is basically to get as much money selling alcohol and the evening entertainment is drinking games. Not really our cup of tea. The Thomson rep didn't even bother to greet us or speak to us the whole holiday. Very unhelpful when we needed her. There is no need to fight for the sun beds as they are all empty to at least 12 noon as people are sleeping off the alcohol. We had a nice time but won't be going back to Kavos, maybe another part of Corfu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shellie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    50
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
12
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Reading all these reviews below, people are just moaning for no reason for the amount of money we paid for the hotel, it was an amazing hotel, with great rooms. On arrival we was welcomed in and yes we paid 50 euros for the air-con but that was split between 3 of us.

The bar staff were amazing and made you feel very welcome and by the end of the 2 weeks i felt part of the kavos plaza family. Especially Billy that always made the night!

The DJ Harvey was so amazing by getting all the groups of friends to know each other by doing different actives every night that brought everyone together!

The rooms were meant to be cleaned twice a week but I'm sure they was cleaned everyday with clean towels and clean beds!

Dina the head of the hotel was all she said she was the mother of Kavos plaza and that is what she was looking after us if we ever needed her, for example she got us a free doctor if we needed one and on our holiday we did and we didn't pay one bit of money.

I recommend this hotel so badly that we are all thinking about going back next year!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Freya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived late Monday night with another group of girls the same size (4) and fortunately they had been before so asked for 2 separate rooms, we got lumbered with the double room in 404 which was at the top right in the far right corner. Bit of a nightmare but we managed. All the staff were lovely as was the English DJ Harvey who made the stay that much better because he got everyone involved meaning we got to know the other people in the hotel and became a little plaza family. This was also good for when you lost your friends on the strip there were familiar faces so you didn't feel like you were on your own. Rooms were cleaned regularly which was a bonus! Food was good and the alcohol was cheap enough (cheaper in the shop round the corner though - Charmis) nighttime entertainment was on point getting you ready for a drunken night every night! Loved everyone we met and genuinely didn't want to come home!

If you are looking for a quiet week away I don't think kavos is for you!!

Thankyou plaza family for an amazing girls holiday!! POSITIONS xxxxxx

YAMAS X

Room Tip: Don't get the double room go for single rooms if there is a group of 4, unless you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I went to plaza with my friends on a out first girls holiday, we expected it to be average for the price that we paid! As we had other friends in hotels which looked like hostels! But we got to plaza and it was great we had the best week imaginable staff were friendly and always happy to help, apart from the moody tw*t early hours of the morning which no one cared as they were drunk! Every night drinking games and activities took place by the sexy DJ Harvey! Which got everyone involved this made our stay even better as everyone spoke to each other for the rest of our stay and looked out for each other on the strip! As we were only there for one week rooms where only supposed to be cleaned twice, but nearly everyday our rooms got cleaned and tidied for us which was good, the food at the bar was lovely and reasonable! Overall our stay was fantastic and would defiantly go back again, and to all the comments of how bad the hotel is from noise and vulgar comments? The hotel is based in a young party area so it's to be expected it's Kavos not for a quiet break away !!! I'd recommend the plaza to anyone looking to have a brilliant time and don't just book a week go for longer as I wish I did!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katieeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Recently got back from a stay here with my boyfriend. We got a really good last minute deal just a week before we flew. Arrived at the Plaza early afternoon after just an hours transfer (when booking we were told this was 2 and a half hours).

Greeted by Dina, a hand shake and some talk about her 'being our Greek mother' - (we are both 26), she then pushed us to buy air con & a safe. Worded as €5 per person per day, she writes you up a bill for €70 so it is completely unavoidable not to have this (many guests we spoke to also felt the same way). Dina then went on the make several inappropriate sexual comments about myself and my partner in front of another couple, ending by giving them a high 5. Needles to say that's not the welcome we were hoping for leaving us embarrassed & feeling very very uncomfortable. We then had to wait for the other couple to check in before being shown to our room (no help with cases up the stairs).

Finally in, Dina had told us we had a private balcony... All balconies face the pool/bar which is lovely throughout the day. However, in the evening, the bar is open 24 hours and the music is played till the early hours so if you want an early night, good luck! There is a curtain between the sleeping/kitchen area but not in the kitchen itself, so complete privacy is minimal at night. Beds are rock hard & uncomfortable & we had a nest of spiders eggs above the beds by the lights. A few things in our room were broken on arrival, so check & report or you will be charged for damages (even if it wasn't you!).

Finding the hotel to be nothing as we expected, we kept ourselves to ourselves, spent time by the pool throughout the day (very good size & lots of sun beds), then ventured out for dinner each night. We were up on our balcony one late afternoon to hear a banging on the door. I answered it & it was Dina. She asked to come in, I explained now wasn't a good time, but she pushed her way in, out onto the balcony where my boyfriend was to talk for 15 minutes about a BBQ she was having. Both of us being vegetarian & not very big drinkers, we declined & explained we wanted a quiet holiday & to keep ourselves to ourselves. She obviously took great offence to us not wanting to buy tickets, as she had a jibe at us for not eating meat/drinking. This really was the final straw. We never spent a penny in the hotel, there are plenty of other lovely places (shops/restaurants/bars) that are very grateful for your custom. We later found out that those who paid €15 per person for the BBQ & we promised fire eaters & belly dancers - there were none... Just a cold buffet.

Overall we had a lovely holiday. Kavos itself doesn't have much to offer but it's cheap great food and all day long sunshine could not be better. I would recommend Eve's Garden for a 3 course meal & drink €8.50 or Terry's for a similar deal but better quality food. We would return to Corfu but would never stay at the Plaza again... At least not until it has a new owner.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank bunyip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Returned yesterday having had a lovely holiday based at Kavos Plaza apartments, the only criticism I have is the high-pressure salesmanship executed by Dina - the hotel owner - without a doubt she could sell sand to the Arabs as they say! But fair dues to her, she is good at it!!!

Arrived late Monday evening to a warm welcome, whilst being checked in lots of smiling, gushing and glad you chose the Plaza, etc etc... - two young girls in front charged 35 euro's each for aircon and safety deposit box, so when our turn came I said only wanted the safe (I don't particularly like aircon, dry's my throat!)... Despite my protestations she continued to write out the receipt and before I knew it I too was parting with 70 euro's! So be warned - YOU WILL have both aircon and safety deposit box whether you want it or not.... Had we not booked a late deal which was ridiculous cheap I would have been very annoyed at having to part with another 70 euros on top of the holiday cost. Whilst I couldn't be entirely sure I think guests were being charged per person rather than per room for this facility - if this was the case, it is definitely a rip-off... whether there is one or four per room the charge should be standard... not the argument she was giving me that it only worked out at 5 euro's per day (per person in our case!!!)

The apartments are lovely - and looked as though they have been recently refurbished. Kitchenette has fridge/freezer compartment, kettle, microwave, two ring portable-type hob and toaster... sufficient for preparing light meals and snacks. Beds comfortable, with spare pillows and blanket in the wardrobe - which was handy in that my husband and I both like two pillows and we didn't have the hassle of having to ask for more. Everywhere was kept spotlessly clean, rooms, poolside etc... and all rooms face the pool with sunny balcony.

Chandris Supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away, but water is sold in Reception if you don't want to carry it far... Unfortunately for some reason they didn't sell fresh fruit or salad stuff, so I bought this at a little supermarket just past Maria's Bar a little further down... as ever, you need to shop around for competitive prices.

Top tip.... I took Boots own brand Bite & Sting Relief Antihistamine Cream and I was so glad I did. I only had one mosquito bite in bed but knew about it seconds after hearing the familiar buzz.. my finger went numb almost immediately. I shot out of bed and applied the cream... it was brilliant. Will be the best £3 or so you ever spent. I did use spray on my legs and arms nightly when going out... which obviously worked... well worth the effort.

Dina hosts a BBQ once a week... 15 euro's per person... "so that everyone can get to know one another". If she doesn't catch you poolside... she WILL FIND YOU in your room. Having said that, I am glad that she did. It was a fun night with EXCELLENT food served... games were organised for the younger generation which were quite hilarious - although I am not quite sure entirely PC. A pole dancer gave a small show...but the promised 'fire eater' never materialised without explanation. The games by the way invariably entailed participants buying shots at 1 euro each... eg. competition to see whether the boys or the girls could drink most shots in say 5 mins - again, a nice 'little earner' Radio 1 DJ Charlie Sloth came into the bar for half hour or so... personally never heard of him but all the younger generation obviously had and were busy shaking his hands, so I did get a photo.

There was a nice mix of guests all ages, all of whom were well behaved... even us older ones! I was worried in case it turned out to be a 18-30 type establishment... but no... suited everyone. Lovely pool with sizeable splash pool for little ones. Plenty of sunbeds for everyone, and I was pleased to see that there was no rush of folks putting out their towels reserving beds at first dawn - except of course there is always some who do it. Congratulations on his forthcoming marriage to the young man who was there with friends, the Devon Boys, on his 'bachelor do' .

Other than the BBQ we didn't eat at the Plaza (mainly because I was still bristling about having parted with 70 euro's on arrival), but the drinks prices were pretty reasonable - only slightly more expensive than on the strip.

The Plaza is ideally situated off the main strip, which is only 5 mins walk away, so you don't get noise late evening/early hours morning. We enjoyed a few nights in Maria's Bar, who again is very friendly and welcoming, and actually bought us a couple of rounds - together with the free shots that came out nightly.

Thomson's again didn't fail to disappoint... our pick up time was 16.40 for the return journey, a "special notice" was put up half way through the holiday to say this had been altered to 17.50. Fortunately for us we had decided to get changed at 16.30, intending to have a drink in the bar shade to cool down... leaving friends we had made still sun bathing - when one of the bar staff came over and said the bus was here for our flight - it had arrived as originally planned, leaving our friends frantically getting out of their swimwear whilst staff looked for the others on our flight - who had gone out for a walk. Needless to say the bus left minus 4 guests having to catch up in a taxi. The Rep on the bus said our Rep had been on airport duty all day... but I know for a fact I saw her on site briefly at around 15.00 - when she should have been searching us out to warn us that it was leaving at the earlier time.

Whilst nothing to do with Kavos Plaza, I would add that Corfu airport is an absolute disgrace, I don't think I have ever been in a place as filthy in my life, with plastic bags of litter / liquid spilling / food remnants all over - they really need to get some cleaning staff on the job, it was GRIM. I would have thought that this was something that Thomson's ought to be taking issue with. I don't think we will be rushing back ...

Room Tip: All rooms face poolside, we were in 201 first floor - never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Kavos Plaza a week ago. Arrived in the early hours (03.00-04.00h) and were escorted to our room hassle free. Spacious, clean, comfy beds. Nice pool with enough sunbeds. As this was a last minute holiday offer we didn't expect much for the price we paid but everything was amazing! The staff and the owner made us feel like home! The entertainment at night was good too- a lot of games for everyone.The only problem was the countless mosquito's and as we had ground floor room it was full with ants so we had to keep all windows and doors shut.
Would stay there again!

Room Tip: all good,with balconies and table with chairs overlooking the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristiyana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavos hotels
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.1 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kavos
739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#4 of 13 in Kavos
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corfu Sea Gardens
Corfu Sea Gardens
#11 of 13 in Kavos
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionian Sea View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kavos
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavos Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavos Plaza

Property: Kavos Plaza
Address: Kavos, Kavos 490 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kavos Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly property close to clubs, bars and the beach, the Kavos Plaza scores points for location.”This place is spot on if you like your holidays action-packed. It’s a five-minute walk from Kavos’ neon-lit strip, so you’ve got bars, clubs and restaurants close by. Plus, it’s even less than that to the beach, where you’ll find plenty of watersports on offer. The apartments themselves are newly renovated with ash and natural coloured walls, tiled floors and wooden furniture. They come with kitchenettes, so you can cook when you fancy. And there’s a balcony or terrace so you can dine outside. Factor in air-conditioning and you’ve got a basic but comfortable bolthole. And for those you don't like to cook you'll find breakfast is served, as well as light bites and full-on lunches. Outside, there’s a rectangular pool surrounded by sunloungers, and a bar right by the water. It’s a rustic wood-and-stone affair serving up everything, with a great selection of drinks and fresh home made food. The cocktails are really popular, too.On top of all that,every night the Kavos Plaza puts on games and events with a resident DJ, with weekly barbecues by the pool. In fact, the whole place has a really friendly vibe – you’ll be on first-name terms with the staff before you know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kavos Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavos Plaza Hotel Kavos
Plaza Hotel Kavos
Kavos Plaza Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing