We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic girls/boys holiday”
Review of San Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Marina Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic girls/boys holiday”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Being a budget hotel and holiday I did not come with great expectations. However, the appearance and cleanliness of the San Marina is up there with some 5 star hotels I have stayed in on family holidays. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and happy to help with any problems you had. One who I believed to be the manager was occasionally angry if we made too much noise but I guess this is understandable.
Only a minute walk to the strip this is the perfect hotel for a girls/lads holiday as you get the full nightlife without any of the noise ; as soon as you closed your doors you could barely hear a thing. The location was perfect and the beach was right on your doorstep.
The rooms were lovely with all the facilities you would require. You do have to pay for air conditioning at 40 euros per room per week but I would highly recommend this.
The pool is clean and well kept and big enough that it doesn't feel cramped but small enough that you can make friends around the pool. The lady who works at the pool bar is absolutely lovely and the food there is cheap and delicious.
The only criticism I have of the hotel is that the breakfast isn't the nicest. It is very basic : bread, cheese, ham, greek yoghurt, two cereals and boiled eggs. It wasn't inedible but it wasn't great. However, if youre coming to Kavos for a party holiday you probably won't be awake to have breakfast anyway.
One other criticism is that the drain that was in our bathroom occasionally flooded as I think that the bathrooms used to be wet rooms so I would just advise you to not leave clothes on the floor.
Other than that it was a really lovely hotel and when you compared it to other hotels on the strip it was by far the best.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view then do so, it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melieha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    10
    16
    13
See reviews for
8
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

stayed at San Marina recently and have to admit I was largely put off by the negative reviews on here. However, upon arriving I was surprised with how lovely the hotel actually was. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was right on the strip, and meant I could safely get home even in the state I was in after copious amounts of alcohol ;) Really lovely staff, especially Costa, the night receptionist, who was always up for a bit of banter, no matter what time.
Breakfast was a bit of a let down, but we didn't care too much for that as we were rarely awake before 10 anyway. Rooms were cleaned everyday other than Sunday and bed sheets/towels changed regularly. Would highly recommend this hotel to any young groups looking for a wild holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I came to San Marina for a girls holiday, it has a perfect location! 100m setback from strip, and the beach was at the back of the hotel! The staff were so friendly, specifically the night staff in reception, he was always a great laugh when we came back at silly times in the morning! Although it's not an 18-30's hotel, there's plenty of youngsters staying at the hotel meaning great company at the poolside! The hotel was very clean, and the rooms were a suitable size, the balconys were a nice size too, I recommend getting a beach view balcony. The presentation of the hotel both inside and outside were lovely! The only fault I can find about San marina is that the breakfast was a bit dull, however on the strip you could grab a fry up for 2€ so it wasn't a big deal, and lastly you had to pay for sunbeds at the beach! But I always went to the pool which had free sunbeds due to all the PRs trying to sell you tickets on the beach! All in all, it's a great hotel to stay at & perfect for a girls/lads holiday! For the price I can't complain, highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not told by booking agent that this was in the party capital of the world. Arrived at 2am in the early hours and after the coach drove along the very noisy strip we were dumped at the end of the road and told to walk the 50 meters to the hotel.. We checked in and was greeted very nicely by Costas the hotel manager and then by 6 drunk irish lads who i must say were very friendly and they had the room next to ours.. After a very very noisy night in our room which overlooked the pool (Not) we decided that this was not for us and told Costas that we would not be staying.. Our pool view was of a lot of waste ground and fair enough,you coiuld see the pool way over to the right hand side...Also greeted us in reception was three young lads with bottles of vodka and well drunk.. Any way we booked another hotel further up the coast and had a really nice holiday...

Room Tip: Check the location Before you book any holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havensent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kavos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel was a lovely place to stay. The people were very friendly and our rooms were cleaned everyday apart from sunday. Which didn't matter as your not in your room that much...your on HOLIDAY why would you want to be inside. We Had a great view of the beach,my friend who booked last minute still had a great view of the pool.It was a great location,most nights you never heard the music or anyone coming in the mornings. As for the price for sun loungers and umbrellas on the beach 2euros which is next to nothing compared to some places you go. There was 8 of us and not one of us had any compliants. Definitely recommend staying here. For a good breakfast head to jolly chef and if u want a few quiet drinks before you go out head to the fresh bar!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hannahsm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel is fantastic for its location as you can quite literally roll out of bed and roll on to the beach and all the main attractions are less than 2 minutes away. Unfortunately this is where the attraction ends. I came here with my friend and after travelling through the night we just wanted to go straight to bed. After being greeted by the receptionist we got our room key and hauled our cases up the stairs to the top floor. We discovered that our room had not been cleaned, the beds had not been made and the discarded items of the previous occupants were still there. So after going downstairs to complain (the maids had lied about cleaning the room) we hauled our cases down stairs again to another room. The day after we unpacked and made our way to the beach. Giving our key in to the reception we were told that we had to move rooms again as the room we were given was for someone else coming and that our previous room was now clean. So we had to pack all our things up, drag our cases up the stairs again and unpack again.The room me and my friend stayed in was something else. The beds were rock hard, giving my back so much pain that towards the end I could barely sleep, the "pool view" was a view of overgrown grasslands and the air con that we had paid extra for barely worked. The bathroom was atrocious, it had an unholy smell as if something had died in there, which doesn't go down well when you have food poisoning! Our rooms were "cleaned" twice, by that I mean the bed sheets were folded on the end of the bed and we got new toilet roll...that's it (I've slept in cleaner fields!) Some of the staff were friendly, while others were rude and more concerned about being on Facebook rather than actually doing their job. On the whole it was great to have the beach at the back but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very pretty, with nice rooms and a nice view. From the beach view rooms you can see the beach, which is beautyful. Only thing is: you have to pay for the beds and a parasol/umbrella. But we chose the pool view, and... We didn't see more than the corner of two different pools. One of them didn't even belong to the hotel I think, cause at night there were some of the young party people in there, making a lot of noise and they had some lasers that were pointed strait against our balcony window. Most of the people working there were pretty nice and helpful if you had questions. Because of all the partying you kind of never get any total silence while you're there.
POSITIVE:
There is a restaurant called "Jolly Chef Resturant" a few steps away from the hotel, where I ABSOLUTELY recommend eating dinner. And for a yummy desert I'd recommend "Sweet House" wich isn't too far away from the Resturant. If you want to rent a scooter or something like that, I do not recommend all of the places. There is a place not too far away from sweet house, where a lady and her husband works. The lady talks fluent English and they are both very nice. Look for their place if you want to rent a scooter etc! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malinseder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kavos hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.3 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#4 of 13 in Kavos
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Corfu Sea Gardens
Corfu Sea Gardens
#11 of 13 in Kavos
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kavos
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koulouris Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kavos
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marina Hotel

Property: San Marina Hotel
Address: Kavos 49080, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marina Hotel Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing