We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of Ko's Restaurant

Ko's Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 57 Restaurants in Bridgewater
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Chinese, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ko's Restaurant is one of the best Chinese/Canadian restaurants on the South Shore of Nova Scotia. Located in the heart of the downtown core, Ko's serves food for anybody in the family. With a wide variety of options including, noodle dishes, rice dishes, meat dishes, vegetable dishes, soup, and even a children's menu, we're sure that you'll find something you like.
Montague, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food, and the wait staff were great! Was a pleasant surprise! Will come back here when we are in town again...

Helpful?
3 Thank DeanScheepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    13
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broad Cove, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We are fairly new in town, our impression from the exterior was not good (looked a little tired .)We tried everywhere else first!
We were wrong ! The food was great and amazing value too!!
The view of the river and the new balcony for summer will be great.
Our waitress was lovely, she knew all the locals and what they liked!
Possibly a few changes out front would entice more people

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were travelling in the area and discovered too late that there are few restaurants along the south shore of Nova Scotia. With Ko's, my first mistake was actually going in when I was hit by the nasty musty smell at the front door. The place was deserted, and it soon became clear why it was empty. We were travelling with 8, some handicapped, who had already made their way to the door, so we were stuck.There is no parking on site, so just getting there was difficult.

I do come from an area where real Chinese food is served, so I must be spoiled. The food at Ko's is retro to the 1960's but still badly made. Deep fried chicken balls? Everything is coated with a sickly sweet red sauce. WIth the Pork and Broccoli dish, the broccoli was edible but the pork tasted old and was full of fat. Soups had fat floating on the top. I ordered only a hot and sour soup and only that because someone wrote in a review that it was good. Youch!!! It had so much vinegar in it, I should have taken it home it to kill the weeds in my lawn. When the waitress asked how everything was, I told her about the soup and she said that's how they make it there. The "chef" actually measures in the amount of vinegar. I couldn't eat it. And so had nothing. We knew it was pointless to mention anything else.

They did offer a free dessert to me, which I bravely accepted and took along. It was cheesecake, which was actually good - after I scraped off a sickly sweet red sauce that was dumped all over it - this time strawberry, I think.

Everyone had a terrible meal. The waitress was very nice, but the food - nasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Father's Day”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great food, service and prices reasonable. Recommend to others. I eat there often. Staff very attentive and friendly. Clean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There great”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

there food for me has always tasted fresh unlike some places were u can tast the old oils and stuff there Singapore noodles are amazing and the people there are always so friendly which to me is worth the trip since its about 30 minit drive away from me keep it up the deck looks nice to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Harnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ko's Restaurant also viewed

Bridgewater, Southwest Nova Scotia
Bridgewater, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Bridgewater, Southwest Nova Scotia
Bridgewater, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Ko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing