We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining only”
Review of Temple View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Temple View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dining only”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We ate twice here. The first evening we dined in the restaurant, the second we had a bar meal. The latter gives much better value for money and if you are early enough you can claim a seat in the conservatory on the front with its lovely view out to sea. We found the dining room a little dark. The standard of food from the bar menu was just as good as from restaurant menu. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    63
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
79
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 while working on Nth Uist.

The rooms are a tad on the small side, but very comfortable, the beds extreemly so. The highlight of the hotel for me is a small "study" type room set out like a small living room - lots of maps and sweeties and the like laid out. There is also a conservatory on the front of the hotel which catches the sun very nicely in the evening. There is a very reliable fast free wifi but only in the bar / study areas - very intermittently in the rooms.

As some reviewers have noted the restauraunt area is a tad small - although it is intimate, had a couple of meals in the Hotel and the food was very good.

Downsides ? The hot water does tend to run out and if you are working odd hours (which we were) it is very noisy if one is trying to get some sleep - the walls are quite thin and the doors do clatter somewhat. This however is more than made up for by the friendly staff - in particular the ladies (family) who tend the bar and waitress the restauraunt for breakfast and evening meals. The rooms have a nice little LCD tv.

All in all its a very cosy family run hotel with descent food - a few niggles but overall fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have stayed at the Temple View for seven year now, usually twice a year and have always found June and Harvey excellent hosts who are always attentive and pleasant. As a disabled person I often need assistance and Harvey or June always oblige.
Harvey is a very good chef and the food is excellent with a wonderful range of what is on offer on the Western Isles.
The accommodation is very clean and tidy with the very best of furniture.
I am always working when I base myself at the Temple View and would recommend both the hotel and mine hosts as some fo the best I have ever met anywhere in the world..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and despite being full, the service was good and meals were fantastic. The rooms were clean and well furnished although compact.

Location is central and easy reach of both Lochmaddy and Benbecula.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

During our stay on North Uist in May we've visited the Temple View Hotel 4 times. 3 times for dinner, once for coffee. The food was very delicious, the service good, the dinning room cosy with a wonderful view to the temple and the owners are really nice. We'll certainly come back on our next travel on the outer hebrides!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Bern_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during a tour of the west coast of Scotland.The bedroom was large and comfortable as was the bathroom with a view to the front of the building. I had a very good dinner served in the lounge. I had to leave early in the morning so I missed breakfast .Th owner was friendly as were the rest of the staff. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Comfortable and clean.Nice bar and good food.Had dinner and breakfast, both lovely. It was a pity there was no internet connection in our room but able to find in public areas. Nice short walk before breakfast across to the medieval temple. Close to R.S.P.B. Sanctuary for lovely informative croft/beach walk in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Temple View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple View Hotel

Property: Temple View Hotel
Address: Templeview Western ISLES | Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Temple View Hotel North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing