We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Portions”
Review of Temple View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Temple View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We only ate here, as we were staying elsewhere. We were glad that we didn't choose the dinner menu of two or three course, because the main course contained enough food to feed four people as it was. Nice view from the sun lounge across to the Temple which we had walked to before dinner (couldn't move afterwards!). Prices weren't too bad on what is quite an expensive island to eat on. Steak was good. Our waitress was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaphillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    63
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
79
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Wonderful evening to finish off our visit to uist, we had a great dinner last year and even better this year! Food excellent, staff absolutely lovely and particularly attentive to our 10 year old who had "best meal ever"! Will DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We were well looked after by the owners in this small but comfortable hotel. The rooms are not luxurious but clean,comfortable and everything works! We had an excellent lunch of homemade soup and a delightful dinner, served by friendly and helpful staff. This hotel is in a bleak location but worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here one night on a trip round the Hebrides. Off road parking and pleasant rooms. We ate here, and were given a good seat in the conservatory. Food is OK-ish and well priced, and breakfast was good . What was excellent was both the service and the range of bottled ales from small Scottish brewers- a wide choice of cracking good ales, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We ate twice here. The first evening we dined in the restaurant, the second we had a bar meal. The latter gives much better value for money and if you are early enough you can claim a seat in the conservatory on the front with its lovely view out to sea. We found the dining room a little dark. The standard of food from the bar menu was just as good as from restaurant menu. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 while working on Nth Uist.

The rooms are a tad on the small side, but very comfortable, the beds extreemly so. The highlight of the hotel for me is a small "study" type room set out like a small living room - lots of maps and sweeties and the like laid out. There is also a conservatory on the front of the hotel which catches the sun very nicely in the evening. There is a very reliable fast free wifi but only in the bar / study areas - very intermittently in the rooms.

As some reviewers have noted the restauraunt area is a tad small - although it is intimate, had a couple of meals in the Hotel and the food was very good.

Downsides ? The hot water does tend to run out and if you are working odd hours (which we were) it is very noisy if one is trying to get some sleep - the walls are quite thin and the doors do clatter somewhat. This however is more than made up for by the friendly staff - in particular the ladies (family) who tend the bar and waitress the restauraunt for breakfast and evening meals. The rooms have a nice little LCD tv.

All in all its a very cosy family run hotel with descent food - a few niggles but overall fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have stayed at the Temple View for seven year now, usually twice a year and have always found June and Harvey excellent hosts who are always attentive and pleasant. As a disabled person I often need assistance and Harvey or June always oblige.
Harvey is a very good chef and the food is excellent with a wonderful range of what is on offer on the Western Isles.
The accommodation is very clean and tidy with the very best of furniture.
I am always working when I base myself at the Temple View and would recommend both the hotel and mine hosts as some fo the best I have ever met anywhere in the world..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Temple View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple View Hotel

Property: Temple View Hotel
Address: Templeview Western ISLES | Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Temple View Hotel North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing