We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, good small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Temple View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent two nights here and found it ideal for travelling around North Uist. The hotel is comfortable and staff are friendly. I appreciated some of the small touches - fruit available in lounges and chocolates too! We booked at short notice and stayed in a room especially adapted for disabled people - it's good to see this in place. Residents can eat bar meals in the restaurant - they are very good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
73
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I visited this small hotel for dinner one evening recently and really enjoyed a great dinner! I had telephoned to make reservations several days before and the owners said that they were completely full, but as there were only two of us, they would try and 'squeeze us in'!
When we arrived, we were placed at one of a few tables in a small conservatory, overlooking the road to the moor to the west of the hotel, with a great view of the ruins of the Trinity Temple - a great seat in fact, in easy chairs and feeling rather special!
The two waitresses made the evening even more special, as they were extremely helpful in choosing our dinner and as a result, we opted for one of the specials - halibut, cooked in lemon butter sauce!
This came with a generous selection of potatoes and vegetables, all of which were delicious! Prior to this, we had enjoyed a very nice starter and then finished our meal with coffee!
Throughout the evening, the staff were attentive without being intrusive and very friendly, chatting about various things in the area. It was a very nice evening and we thoroughly enjoyed it all!The meal was of a high quality, generous portions and a reasonable price. Without doubt, we would certainly revisit this restaurant on our next visit to the region.

Room Tip: Only ate in the hotel, did not stay, so cannot comment on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We ordered the haddock and chips and the poached salmon with potatoes and veg. Huge portion of salmon was only just warm enough, cooked fine but not hot when it reached the table. Haddock was borderline too. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dq1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The owners June and Harvey are superb hosts and will go the extra mile to help very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent with Harvey cooking things that he thinks you would like, in my case seafood making sure he has it in for my frequent visits , at least once a month. The rooms and communal areas are spotless.

DOT

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for two nights here after our booking was bungled elsewhere on the island and I wish we had just booked here in the first place. Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms and delicious food. The staff are very attentive and the views of the sun settting from the conservatory and the outdoor area were stunning. I would thorougly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandazaldua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay at the Temple View Hotel during a two week trip to Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The hotel owners, Harvey and June, were very welcoming as were the bar staff and waitresses. The room we had was in the old part of the hotel and was very clean and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc provided in the room was very good.
Dinner was amazing. We had huge portions of lovely fresh seafood and then spent the evening sitting chatting to other guests and our hosts as we were too full to move!
We will definitely visit Temple View if we are back in North Uist.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fab_rhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We only ate here, as we were staying elsewhere. We were glad that we didn't choose the dinner menu of two or three course, because the main course contained enough food to feed four people as it was. Nice view from the sun lounge across to the Temple which we had walked to before dinner (couldn't move afterwards!). Prices weren't too bad on what is quite an expensive island to eat on. Steak was good. Our waitress was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaphillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple View Hotel

Property: Temple View Hotel
Address: Templeview Western ISLES | Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Temple View Hotel North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing