We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wee hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Temple View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great wee hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Temple View for a two night business trip. June and Harvey were extremely welcoming and very accommodating!

I stayed in a single room which was a reasonable size with a great sized ensuite with full bath and power shower.

There is free wifi which does vary in speed however the was an added bonus as the mobile phone signals on Uist and Benbecula aren't the best.

Meals were fantastic! Great service from the waitresses and always with a smile. The food was of an excellent standard and local produce.


I will definitely be returning soon for business if not pleasure!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
73
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

As we travelled from the North to South we spoke to a family who recommended this restaurant and we were not disappointed- in fact my father-in-law who seldom rates good restaurants was so impressed he booked us in for dinner the following night ! We mostly had fish dishes and steaks and the best we have tasted .
Yes the hotel/dining room is small however the staff time the bookings so that one booking is nearing the end of their meal before the following party is seated.
Staff friendly and helpful and if you have waitress Alice on duty -a night to remember is included in the price !

Room Tip: Unable to comment -dinner only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimpy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a 2 night trip to both North & South Uist.

We found the rooms to be absolutely spotless and plenty of room for myself, my husband and our 12 year old son in our triple room. Everything we needed was there, fresh fluffy towels, bath, shower, toiletries etc. There were tea and coffee facilities with supplies in the room and fresh bottles of water and glasses just outside the door on a table in the hallway.

We found the hotel to be very comfortable and friendly with a home from home feel. My son loved being able to slouch in front of the tv in the residents lounge and we enjoyed a few afternoon glasses of wine in the sun room to the front of the hotel.

We ate here in the evening and the food was fantastic. We had local seafood which was absolutely delicious. Our bill for the the night including the room, a bottle of wine, several local beers and ciders, a 2 course meal each (seafood and steak) was £280. I thought at first this was a bit pricey but in hindsight, we did have a lovely stay, lovely food and warm hospitality from the staff plus when I realised £80 of this was wine/drinks it didn't seem quite so bad.

My only minor complaints would be that I have a thing about hotel toiletries, especially when paying £135 a night. They weren't very good. There are some lovely suppliers of toiletries on the Island such as Hebridean Soap Shack which would have made a wonderful addition to the comfor t of our stay.

Downstairs is very cramped and when its busy its hard to move about. But those really are two minor niggly things that didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishmum31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel so can't comment on rooms but we had a lovely dinner on a sunday night. Not sure about going after reading other reviews but we were not disappointed. Yes its quite small but its a hotel in the outer Hebrides not Glasgow city centre so very pleased with our bar meal. There are not many places to eat out here and we have eaten in a lot worse. There are 2 menus, bar menu and 2 or 3 course restaurant menu. They allowed us to eat our bar meal in the dining room as not busy. Had homemade fishcakes and salad to start very nice, even my daughter tried them and liked it. Had breaded haddock with a very fresh salad and chips for main which was a nice change to batter and a very good size portion. No room door dessert after that. Also had a very nice bottle of wine between us. The kids menu was a small portion of adult and my daughter (9) said its the best pasta bolognaise she has had in a while with fresh tagliatelle for a change. The chef came out to see how we were getting on and to see if my daughter wanted her food while we had our starter. Very thoughtful I thought and the lady in charge checked we were happy with everything and all staff were very friendly. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had one evening meal here staying at a local B&B. The food was very average and the staff needed a lesson in good manners. We were greeted by a sullen, short-tempered girl when we arrived, were overcharged by our waitress and when we asked to speak to the manager, he seemed disinterested in our problems. Not a good experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed one night at Temple View on our way North and found this a very comfortable stop. The rooms were a little pricey but the food was ample and delicious. We went for a very pleasant walk across the road to the ancient Temple before heading on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very cramped inside - little room to move around. Restaurant area was reasonably attractive and comfortable. There was a good but limited choice on the menu. When the food arrived we got the main course and a small dish of vegetables but no chips. The waitress was very off hand when we asked for the chips. When they arrived we got a single portion between two (same size as a single guy on the next table). We asked for more chips as we were hungry. On getting the bill they had added the cost of the extra chips. The staff just could not care less. They had no idea of good customer service. We talked to the manager and he was just as disinterested as the other staff.
Avoid at all costs1

Room Tip: Didn't stay here - just had food. Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple View Hotel

Property: Temple View Hotel
Address: Templeview Western ISLES | Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Temple View Hotel North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing