We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langass Lodge Restaurant

Langass Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I came here to meet friends for an evening meal which everyone enjoyed. I had the cod, which was tasty, but it was a very small portion of fish, and the whole dish could have been warmer. I also thought the frangipane pudding with ice cream was rather small too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PartyGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
396 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Great food in a lovely setting but let down as ever by serving staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I love Langass, I really do. The setting, the lovely interior, the great food.I want to give it 5 stars but the staff always let it down and we have been dining there for several years now.
The conservatory bar is delightful, beautifully designed with lovely garden and Eaval views.Menu is heavy on local shellfish (Kallin shellfish I think, a top quality local provider) and sea food but also meat choices.Very hard to choose.Crab claws and langoustine platter was really first class.My fish and chips was excellent too - firm and meaty fish and probably the best chips I've had in a long while.My husband's fillet steak was just about rare as asked for.The portion of vegetables served separately was lovely and generous.Only disappointment was sticky toffee pudding which was dry and lacking in sauce.
My only reservation about Langass is as it always has been - the staff.You are never greeted with a smile, despite arriving with one! The woman hoovering as I arrived to enquire about dinner simply looked up at me, switched her machine off and despite my eager smile, stayed stony faced as she approached as if I had interrupted something far more important than offering them business.I always leave Langass feeling I've had my knuckles wrapped slightly for some misdemeanour.
The young bar/serving staff were poor as ever....we sat for ages while three of them chatted and laughed without even looking our way.The lad actually passed our table after about 10 mins and made no eye contact, nor did he enquire as to whether we had been served (we hadn't).I eventually called one of the girls over to take our order and was given a look as if I had no right to call her at all! Why are they so consistently disinterested in an otherwise lovely, high quality place?As a student (yonks ago) I have worked in bars and restaurants myself and it doesn't take much training to know you should be welcoming, attentive and aware at all times.
Anyway, we loved our meal there.There is some really fine cooking going on in that kitchen though of course the quality of the produce is world class.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had a bar lunch here and was impressed by the menu. Although it was quite short, I found it very hard to make my choice, everything sounded so good. I decided on a vegetable and cheese tart and it was delicious. Nicely presented too.
Staff were very pleasant.
Langass Lodge is in a lovely setting, below a small hill and near a loch. We were lucky enough to see an otter during our post lunch walk.
Next time, I will try to have dinner there and check out the more extensive dinner choices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Were on holiday on North Uist mid-August and booked to go out for dinner on just one evening and we were so pleased that we chose Langass Lodge Restaurant. The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive but not intrusive. The food was delicious - we had all 3 courses - and we felt it was very good value for money. The wines were also very good and very reasonably priced. Would love to return to North Uist and if we do we will definitely be returning to Langass Lodge for a meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Uists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal about 4 weeks ago here. Don't live on the Islands but visit frequently and found this by far the best place for food in either North or South Uist or Benbecula. Lovely setting, very cosy homely feel. Very friendly staff. Food was very good and reasonably priced as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langass Lodge Restaurant also viewed

North Uist, Outer Hebrides
North Uist, Outer Hebrides
 
North Uist, Outer Hebrides
North Uist, Outer Hebrides
 
North Uist, Outer Hebrides
Benbecula Island, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to Langass Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing