We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Site a wee haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorcroft Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorcroft Holidays
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Site a wee haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I can't rate this site highly enough. It was an amazimg find, at the end of a hard days cycling in gales & rain in JULY, it was like a little paradise. As in previous comments, the ammenities are fantastic. The wee bothy is like a minaiture kitchen, dining room. It is so welcoming, fully equiped with microwave, hotplates, kettle, toaster, 2 big butler sinks. A washer & drier, a large farmhouse table & chairs & a rocking chair! And power points to plug into & charge up i phones etc.The showers & toilets were immaculate & had nice wee touches. The night I stayed it was blowing a real hoolie & throwing it down, I sat in the bothy with fellow travelers exchanging tales & experiences. Excellent value, very clean & tidy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22toogood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Five of us camped here for two nights. One at the start of our cycle tour and one at the end. Two of our party used the bunkhouse and I can only agree with all previous comments. What a fabulous site! I have never come across a better site, amenity wise for campers. The toilet block is fabulous with super, hot and powerful showers plus a hair dryer for the ladies. The campers kitchen is fantastic. It's like a small bothy with 6 seats and a table, kettle, 2 sinks, double hot plates, microwave, cutlery, crockery and pots. There was even a pulley for drying damp clothes in addition to a washing machine and dryer. All washing up materials are provided. Everything has been well thought out and it was much appreciated by 5 tired cyclists. When we return to the islands we will definitely use Moorcroft again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

having camped for 3 nights on Lewis we rang to see if Catriona and iain could put us up in the bunkhouse rather than on the campsite, they could and what a pleasure it was to stay thre. More like a self catering cottage that you happen to share with other people than a "bunkhouse". Comfy beds, amazingly well equipped kitchen, nice warm bathroom and a stunning location. Excellent value for money - and they're lovely people too!

Room Tip: If you need to visit the bathroom in the night ask for the downstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Having stayed at campsites throughout Scandinavia and Western Europe, this site should definitely have the ‘best campsite' award. It is in a beautiful spot, has excellent toilet and shower facilities and the advantage of a very well equipped camper’s kitchen which, in the unpredictable weather conditions of the Outer Hebrides, is a definite boon. The prices are seriously reasonable and the proprietors friendly and welcoming. A big thank you to our hosts - Iain and Catriana.

Room Tip: Not really applicable, as we were camping but my tip would be - book well ahead; this is such a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in the Moorcroft 'bunkhouse' for our only night on North Uist (£18pppn) during our mini cycle tour of the Outer Hebrides. The position of the campsite was perfect for our needs, located at the southern end of North Uist, with views across the sea to Benbecula and only a mile away from Carinish.

The room was compact, but the comfortable beds and skylight that allowed the natural light to fill the room more than compensated. The communal sitting room, kitchen and dining area are excellent, stylishly finished and with a homely feel. The showers are really good, better than a bed and breakfast we stayed in later on in our holiday, and a life saver for cyclists coming in from There is also a camper's kitchen outside of the main building, and a nice touch is that the hosts leave surplus food there for anyone to use if they need.

The hosts were very helpful in pointing out things in the local area, and even gave us a lift to Carinish for our dinner. The kind of hospitality we found on show throughout the Outer Hebrides was very much continued here.

The one thing that detracted from the experience was that our room as above the sitting room, and so the sound carried up through the floor, meaning that we were kept up for a while by the loud talking of other guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew_Sumption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had heard wonderful things about this hostel and they were all true. Lovely well equipped kitchen and lounge area with wood effect floors. Tasteful two bedded rooms with pine furniture and a hanging rail for our stuff. Great showers and for campers, a fantastic campers kitchen. We had two lovely nights there and had it to ourselves...it felt like a holiday home. It was spotless and the owners were friendly and very helpful. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had a perfect stay at this bunkhouse recently. A beautifully decorated and comfortable cottage, with wonderful views in every direction.

The standard of cleanliness would put my own home to shame!! Spotless and fresh everywhere. Excellent showers and a cosy sitting room to relax in the evenings.

Brilliant hospitality from the owners and we will definitely be returning.

Can't recommend this place enough, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moorcroft Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcroft Holidays

Property: Moorcroft Holidays
Address: 17 Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in North Uist
Also Known As:
Moorcroft Holidays North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing