We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming campsite”
Review of Moorcroft Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moorcroft Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We visited fairly self sufficient in our camper van. We arrived early evening and the friendly couple that ran the site allowed us to reserve a good van pitch. We then drove off to explore Benbecula (we had dinner at the Dark Island hotel) and SouthUist before sunset. Five star facilities. Clearly appreciated by the campers who were struggling with bad weather conditions. Beautiful views and reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ClearlyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent last night in Moorcroft with our campervan, and it is the best campsite we have stayed in yet. It was spotlessly clean and had all the extras which make camping life easier - lots of hooks to hang clothes on when showering and chairs and stools for towels and sponge bags. The sanitary block is also very spacious, which is a real luxury. We enjoyed the campers kitchen where there is the opportunity to exchange craic with other campers. I would love to bring my grandchildren with us next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartyGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The owner met us on arrival and pointed out a great spot down between long grasses...would have missed otherwise. Good facilities and a good price. Great views back to south uist across benbecula. Nice to sit and watch the tide coming in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveandhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I can't rate this site highly enough. It was an amazimg find, at the end of a hard days cycling in gales & rain in JULY, it was like a little paradise. As in previous comments, the ammenities are fantastic. The wee bothy is like a minaiture kitchen, dining room. It is so welcoming, fully equiped with microwave, hotplates, kettle, toaster, 2 big butler sinks. A washer & drier, a large farmhouse table & chairs & a rocking chair! And power points to plug into & charge up i phones etc.The showers & toilets were immaculate & had nice wee touches. The night I stayed it was blowing a real hoolie & throwing it down, I sat in the bothy with fellow travelers exchanging tales & experiences. Excellent value, very clean & tidy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22toogood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Five of us camped here for two nights. One at the start of our cycle tour and one at the end. Two of our party used the bunkhouse and I can only agree with all previous comments. What a fabulous site! I have never come across a better site, amenity wise for campers. The toilet block is fabulous with super, hot and powerful showers plus a hair dryer for the ladies. The campers kitchen is fantastic. It's like a small bothy with 6 seats and a table, kettle, 2 sinks, double hot plates, microwave, cutlery, crockery and pots. There was even a pulley for drying damp clothes in addition to a washing machine and dryer. All washing up materials are provided. Everything has been well thought out and it was much appreciated by 5 tired cyclists. When we return to the islands we will definitely use Moorcroft again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

having camped for 3 nights on Lewis we rang to see if Catriona and iain could put us up in the bunkhouse rather than on the campsite, they could and what a pleasure it was to stay thre. More like a self catering cottage that you happen to share with other people than a "bunkhouse". Comfy beds, amazingly well equipped kitchen, nice warm bathroom and a stunning location. Excellent value for money - and they're lovely people too!

Room Tip: If you need to visit the bathroom in the night ask for the downstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Having stayed at campsites throughout Scandinavia and Western Europe, this site should definitely have the ‘best campsite' award. It is in a beautiful spot, has excellent toilet and shower facilities and the advantage of a very well equipped camper’s kitchen which, in the unpredictable weather conditions of the Outer Hebrides, is a definite boon. The prices are seriously reasonable and the proprietors friendly and welcoming. A big thank you to our hosts - Iain and Catriana.

Room Tip: Not really applicable, as we were camping but my tip would be - book well ahead; this is such a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moorcroft Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcroft Holidays

Address: 17 Carinish, HS6 5EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in North Uist
Also Known As:
Moorcroft Holidays North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing