We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Boireach

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Terri and...
Haverhill suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday ”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Web probably had the best weather Uist has ever seen!! The cottage is perfect for a total get away, it has every thing you need and more, the cottage stays warm and cosy, and we absolutely love it!!!!
The beaches are the most beautiful in the world I've never seen anything like it,I came here not expecting to be impressed and will go away with memory's to last a life time.
We will most definitely be back!!!!!❤️

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The house was comfortable, cosy and clean. A lovely conversion from an old croft building, kitted out with everything you need. The croft is located close to one of the many beautiful beaches on the west coast of the island. We had a lovely relaxing holiday with lots of runs and walks. There is an abundance of wildlife on your doorstep here. We enjoyed being surrounded by working crofts and the herb garden next to our house. Tigh Chearsabhagh in Lochmaddy is worth a visit. Highlight was actually seeing a corncrake and the views to St Kilda on one of the few bright days we had. Our only complaint was the weather, though it didn't stop us getting out and about.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
194damien...
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A cosy nest in the wildnerness.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely nest in a remote location, close to some of the best beaches in Scotland, and maybe in Europe. Very confortable, this warm and small cottage suits a solo traveller or a couple. Great Herbs boat where we could pick up fresh mint and chives.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and cosiness
Liked least: Very low front door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucinda S...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage.”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is the perfect place to spend your holiday. The cottage had a wonderful home from home feeling and a lot of effort has gone into all the small details from the comfort of the bed (exceptionally comfortable) to the quality of the towels and linnen and a well equipped kitchen. True to their website the cottage is housed next to another cottage but this does not take away from the charm of this cottage. The cottage is warm within winter and once inside feels both spacious and private(for a small cottage). The cottage is only a short drive from the ferry port lochmaddy. A wonderful base in which to explore all the Islands. Dealing with the owner was both pleasant and easy. Had a fantastic stay we can't wait to return and highly recommend this cottage to anyone considering visitiing the islands. Fantastic value for money.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail.
Liked least: My stay wasn't long enough.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaeFife19...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location for a relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We found Tigh Na Boireach the perfect place to have a quiet break. We were here for three days and it was a good location for seeing the islands. It is small, but for two people it is ideal, has everything you need and at a good standard. It was everything we expected it to be!

Date of stay: September 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cottage, disappointing location”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
17
people found this review helpful

This would be an ideal holiday cottage apart from three things, location, location and location. As soon as we turned into the shared drive/garden our hearts sank. This cottage is not remote. Overlooked by a larger cottage at the front, and corrugated iron sheds and the detritus of a fishing business at the rear, the cottage has no outlook. Privacy is gained by locking the front door to stop the wind blowing it open, and pulling the curtains tight. Not a romantic idyll. The Ordnance Survey and Google Maps have not caught up with this area. We have since discovered that the Google camera car has.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was on North Uist
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
I am grateful to this reviewer for pointing out that Tigh na Boireach is not ISOLATED. It sits in a small community with 5 other cottages within half a mile, one of which is opposite our cottage as shown in the photograph on the Holiday Lettings advert captioned "The shared access drive leads to the cottage". It is however undeniably REMOTE. The garden is not a shared garden as stated by the reviewer. It is not fully enclosed, having the front section unfenced as we considered fencing this would be to the detriment of the cottage (hence its unsuitability for guests with dogs). We are working hard to improve the garden with a number of projects for next season, including a 'herb boat' from which guests will be able to pick fresh herbs. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmill
Knightwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic break at the cottage which was just as you hope from the pictures, a real home from home that was well equipped and very comfortable and relaxing. The beaches on the island are outstanding and if the weather is sunny you could be anywhere in the world. White sands and turquoise blue seas. It is a place that you step back in time a few shops and little shopping but making your own entertainment is the name of the game and we did that with pleasure.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.