We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Remote gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Recent guest quoted 'Great views - Otter, Eagles, Merlin, Peregrine & Red deer all viewed from sofa'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Recent guest quoted 'Great views - Otter, Eagles, Merlin, Peregrine & Red deer all viewed from sofa'
Priest's Loch at Sunset Entrance to house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Recent guest quoted 'Great views - Otter, Eagles, Merlin, Peregrine & Red deer all viewed from sofa'
Priest's Loch at Sunset
Entrance to house
Twin Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Livingroom
Kitchen with loch view
Bathroom
Gateway to the beaches
Local Beach
Fishing
Uist poppies
Stunning scenery
Surfing
Bird-watching
Uist wildlife
MV Hebrides at Lochmaddy
Neolithic site at Udal, North Uist
MV Hebrides leaving Lochmaddy in gorgeous May weather
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katie591
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Remote gem”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at An Taigh Boighreach for a week in August and left having fallen in love with the island and we would be more than happy to return to this cottage. We found the cottage very comfortable and well equipped. There is electric heating and a peat burning stove - all ready laid and waiting to be lit. OUr bedroom had a wonderful view over loch and hills and the small sun parlour has even better views from which on several mornings we watched the local eagle patrolling the loch. The sitting room furniture is not out of the latest design magazine but it is extremely comfortable. The kitchen supplied all we needed. We were aware of the Sunday shop closure but also that the nearest shop (several miles away) is open to10pm 6 days. We had increasing difficulty with TV reception and decided to let the local care-takers know. We were bowled over by the response of 100% helpfulness resulting in the replacement of the TV that afternoon. Their friendliness and welcome was just way beyond the call of work.
The cottage is set in an archipelago of islands and lochs strung together with narrow roads and causeways. The wild flowers ,birds and wildlife in this remote place are a constant fascination and binoculars were there to help identify the sights.
We explored the rest of the island and like others were captivated by the beaches and the food when we ate out. The Hebridean Smokehouse provided the makings of some of the simplest and most wonderful meals.
There is another cottage attached which does not intrude on your privacy. It has been recently modernised and has huge windows but it is bigger and of course costs more. We would be so happy to return to An Taigh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package - warm house, the views, peace and the little sun parlour
Liked least: Can't think
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara L
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful setting ... Comfortable but dated interior”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you want a get a way from it all holiday this is it, albeit semi detached. No problem as the layout works to keep privacy. Very warm, cosy, efficient accommodation but furnishings and equipment are dated, as opposed to shabby chic which would work so well. We had a very happy break. A walk up to masts opposite gives fab views. Eagles and owls fly in from all directions all the time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peat stove
Liked least: Dated sofas, polyester quilt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for seven nights and were very impressed with the clean, warm and comfortable stay. Well equipped kitchen, good shower and comfortable beds - what more do you need when you're on North Uist? It's set close to the end of the Loch Portain road so you will need to prepare for bit of a drive/cycle to get anywhere, but it was a great cycle road, past lochs and sea - we saw seals, hen harriers and golden eagles in the immediate surrounds and there were signs of otters everywhere. A lovely natural setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tippytoes...
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rest, Quiet and Relaxation”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Five years ago we had our first visit to this quiet spot and loved it, as did our two dogs. The furniture is begining to look a bit tired but we enjoyed the comfort and relaxed atmosphere. Haven't slept so well in years. Saw and eagle twice, also short eared owl flew over a couple of times and the cuckoo sent us to sleep every night. The view is heavenly especially on a sunset evening. Only suggestion would be a welcome pack to start visitors off as the shops are closed on Sundays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Whats not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
141craig
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent experience from the moment we called to enquire. Very helpful and friendly staff with the booking. All information emailed over immediately.

The property is in a beautiful quiet location and it is superb for sitting and watching nature at its best. The tide rising and falling on the loch, the clouds moving across the endless sky.

The property has everything you need and in addition, the charm of being an old chapel.

Highly recommended and we have stayed at quite a few places in the isles over the last 10 years.

I would also take a look at the adjoining property [run by the same company] which has been recently refurbished - WOW...Even bigger windows and comfier sofas : )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly easy booking
Liked least: Snow [which was rare for the time we were there]
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazmo12
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely - Well Equipped Cottage”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is exactly as described a lovely well equipped cottage just outside Lochmaddy with excellent views and great location as a base for sightseeing across all the outer hebridean island. We had a lovely week as a group of friends and would recommend highly to others. The inside is a little dated but none the less it has everything you need for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peat fire and the old church items that had been re-used effectively to retain some of the history of the place before it was converted to a holiday cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing