We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Country Retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Palmira

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polcanto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Palmira
Ranked #1 of 1 Polcanto B&B and Inns
Linwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Country Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Casa Palmira and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's located in the hills above Fiesole about 10 km from Florence. Florence is easily accessible by car or the SITA bus that stops on Via Faentina in front of the property. I'd recommend the SITA bus for day trips to Florence as driving/parking in Florence can be a hassle. Note that the last SITA bus back to Casa Palmira from Florence is 7:45 pm. Casa Palmira provides a tranquil retreat after a day of site seeing in Florence. I can't say enough good things about Assunta and Stefano. They are wonderful people and hosts. Assunta's scrambled eggs at breakfast are fantastic! Stefano handles the wine, cheese, bruschetta and salumi appetizers provided daily before dinner. There is no restaurant at Casa Palmira but there are good restaurants nearby (Il Feriolo and the more casual but very good 4 Strade). We'll definitely return to Casa Palmira!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Away from the hustle bustle of today's Florence, but still within a 20-minute drive from it, if one is looking to stay in a country house that has character, nestled in the Tuscan Hills behind Fiesole, this is the right place. Character, charm, age, stated beauty, peacefulness are a few of the adjectives I could find to reminisce of our time with Assunta in Casa Palmira. She and her companions run a wonderful home-away-from-home experience where one can enjoy Tuscany. The breakfast scrumptious and succulent. Child friendly. Wonderful restaurants nearby. Need I say more?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishapiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

It has been my wife's dream to go to Tuscany since I can remember. We travelled to Europe from our home in Nova Scotia Canada with just backpacks and a Euro Rail pass. We booked places to stay as we went, seeing as much as we could each day. We saved Tuscany towards the end to be our relaxing part of the trip. We wanted somewhere on the hills of Tuscany so we could enjoy the countryside and atmosphere, the culture of the people. The Casa Palmira site really caught our eye and we were excited when we arrived. Everything we could of imagined or hoped for was surpassed. It was like coming home but in a different country. Assunta and Stefano treated us like family and went out of their way to make sure everything you could want was provided and any questions answered. We did not feel like guest but relations that came to stay for awhile. The bedroom was more than perfect and the downstairs common area would lure you every night to sit by the cozy fireplace and talk with other guest and have some of Stefano's excellent choices in wine. It is a very convenient location to travel from to see all the sites and Assunta and Stefano made sure you had the proper directions and willingly gave advise for things to see and do. I did the cooking class which was so much fun and makes a wonderful evening in.They are very passionate and proud of where they live and it shows in how you are treated. We made some wonderful friends and it was hard to leave. So if you want a home away from home and close to all the wonders of Tuscany then Casa Palmira is what I recommend. You will be rewarded with far more than the little you pay to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Casa Palmira was an amazing experience. Starting for the owners, a super nice couple that makes you feel immediately home. The place is really nice too, super cozy, a true tuscan atmosphere, comfortable and with a delicious breakfast.

Its very close to Firenze and within a reasonable distance from many great destinations, do its good to base there and hang around the Tuscany region. Besides, there's a great pool, perfect for refreshing in the hot italian summer.

In the arrival you'll be even received with a fresh tuscan appetizer :)

Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariarita01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family spent 4 nights here (28-31 July 2013) and loved it. We were looking for a place in the hills outside of Florence so that at the end of the day we could "retreat" and just relax and unwind - Casa Palmira fit that to a "T". Assunta and Stefano are warm, gracious and accommodating hosts who went out of their way to make us comfortable and help us with logistics (like getting us to/from Fiesole and Florence more than once, getting us bus tickets in advance, cooking food at breakfast to suit our tastes). The room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was superb, the local cats/kittens were very entertaining, the air was so refreshing, and the rural setting was just wonderful.

If you are without a car, you will need to figure out the bus routes and schedule (there is a bus stop about 100m from the front door, Assunta/Stefano will help you with that too. There is also a great restaurant option about a mile away towards Fiesole.

I highly recommend this location for anyone wanting to stay outside the city - you will definitely enjoy it!

Sheets family - California, USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astigarraga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Abuztuko 5 egunez joan ginen bertara. Assunta eta Stefano benetan atsegina eta gerukoak dira. Ederki egin genuen lo eta baita ederki jan ere. Bi afari oparo prestatu zizkiguten, biak ala biak bikainak. Ardo beltz zein txuri eta Vinsantoak hartu ditugu nahi adina. Prezioz oso merkea iruditu zaigu. Fiesolen kotxea uzten genuen eta autobusean Firenzera. Esker mila

5 special days in August at Assunta's and Stefano's. Very good serviceand quality. They are very friendly. Best house in a so amazing place like Tuscany. Grazie mile

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank itelleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Casa Palmira is quite charming & restful; located in the country. My wife and I spent three days & nights there last fall. Our room was comfortable; well-appointed with Italian country furnishings, & the view of the property from our bedroom windows was beautiful. Stefano was extremely helpful with our various questions about Tuscany & Florence. He also prepared a nice scrambled egg & toast breakfast each morning. Both he & Assunta made us feel most welcome; it is a very friendly & polite atmosphere, & they have done a wonderful job of restoring their property. The main room is large with a small kitchen area. It's filled with a few tables, chairs, books & the soft sounds of classical music. Various teas, fruit, coffees, wine & delicious cookies are offered throughout the day.

Additionally, it's a perfect location for traveling through Tuscany or taking the local bus to Florence (there's so very much to see & to admire). There are also quite a few nice nearby restaurants, especially in nearby Fiesole--which is a splendid nearby hill town with several interesting village shops. If you're looking for county, peace & silence, you should try Casa Palmira.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agolfpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Palmira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palmira

Property: Casa Palmira
Address: Via Faentina 4 (SS 302) Localita Feriolo | Polcanto, 50030 Polcanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Polcanto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polcanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Palmira Hotel Polcanto
Casa Palmira Italy/Polcanto, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing