We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed when we arrived...”
Review of Stilhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stilhotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Signa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Closed when we arrived...”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We had booked this hotel through a third party website that guaranteed late night check-in. This was our first night in Italy and our flight arrived in the evening, so we wanted to be sure to have a hotel with a reception. When we arrived, the lobby was closed and there was a note on the door for me to call. After numerous attempts (and a lot of money for international calls) we finally deciphered the pre-recorded message that the reception was closed and would open again at 8 a.m. We tried the emergency number they provided, but it did not work. Fortunately, the pub across the street directed us to another hotel that was still open. We cannot comment on the rooms themselves, as we never saw them! Location is good, as it is near the train station that brings you into the Florence city center.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca G, Proprietario at Stilhotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are really sorry for the problems occurred, but i have to inform you that none of the website that sells Stilhotel report "Late night check-in".

Our check-in time ends between 20:00 and 22:00, and you can easily find this information about us everywhere, starting from our own website.

We also give the possibility to check-in later but we always ask to be contacted for that.

Also, i've checked the emergency telephone but there are no missing call. You probably dialed the wrong number.

In any case, we really feel sorry for what happened and we would be glad to have you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    96
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
139
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The staff is very kind and helpful. if you are use a free Wi-Fi communications is sometimes slow.
Breakfast is European style. I am satisfied. Because, there was a lot of fruit every day. The staff serves delicious coffee every day.
The transportation used a train. To the Florence S.M.N station, I was spend the 20 minutes .One way 2.5€ is necessary. The station employee said that there was not the discount ticket.I don't know about other methods.Town of Signa is very safe.
The hotel is recommended because it is very beautiful.

スタッフはとても親切で英語も話せます。Wi-Fiは時々遅いです。
ヨーロッパ風の簡単な朝食です。フルーツが毎日たくさんあったので、満足しました。コーヒーは毎日、スタッフが提供してくれますとても美味しいです
交通は電車を使いました。片道2.5€です。割引チケットは駅員に無いと言われました。他の交通手段は私は知りません。シーニャという町はとても安全です。
ホテルはとても綺麗なので、オススメします

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nino0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Travelled north of italy by car and found this hotel just outside of Florence. Its 12km from Florence city center. The hotel is also close to the motorway. The rooms are quite good. cleanly maintained. the furnishing are quite new. I travelled with my family, so i had spacious room. The hotel is just opposite to big super market. and outside hotel there is ample parking space which is free of cost.
Wifi is provided free and is quite good and stable. Breakfast is sufficient and has ample choices.
Best part is the hotel staff.. they are quite welcoming. Especially Francesca and zulima. I had a problem with shower in my room and Francesa immediately offered me a spare room. I really thank them for their warmness.

Overall its the best fit hotel if you drive yourself and dont want to stay in the crowded city areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkandalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at SH / stilhotel in late June 2012 and did 2 day trips. Although we were touring Italy by car having driven from Britain we chose not to drive when we reached our destinations. SH / stilhotel was perfect in this regard because it has good connections to the motorway and was outside Florence, have you ever tried driving in an Italian city?! SH / stilhotel was also great because they had a shuttle bus to take you to Signa train station about ¾ of a mile away. You can ask to go to the station anytime and on the way back all you needed to do was let them know when your train would arrive. This service was available until 9 PM. The hotel didn't have a restaurant but there was a restaurant pizzeria just across the road so, if you didn't want to go to the restaurant you could order pizza and eat it in the hotel reception area while you watched TV on your computer (WiFi). The staff at this hotel did everything they could to help us. We had a problem with our air conditioning unit and when they couldn't fix it, they moved us into another room. When it was fixed they let us move back into that room because we liked it. The location isn't fantastic because it's next to a retail park but the advantages are that the parking is okay and whatever provisions you need, you can get. The location is perfect for visits to Florence (of course), Pisa and Lucca. Florence is beautiful and hot in June so, take some water and a hat. You will not believe the queues to see the statue of David. Everyone goes to Pisa but the tower is all that there is in Pisa. Lucca is much more interesting

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireRamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Pais Vasco, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The staff people are really helpful and friendly... any questions, doubts or concerns they try to find a solution for you. The location is perfect because you can easily go to other places to visit besides only Florence, like for example Pisa. The hotel is a little far from the train station, however they have a free shuttle service, meaning the staff drives you to the station that way you dont have to walk. Rooms have lots of space, very clean, really nice decorated and most importantly is comfortable and quiet to sleep in. This hotel was overall the best choice I could have ever made, my stay was wonderful :) trust me

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_E02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed StilHotel for 6days and got much happiness.

The good things are free parking place, yammy breakfast, cleaning room and kind service.

When I would be back to Italy again would like to stay in this hotel.

Thx for all the stilhotel's staffs.. !

Room Tip: nice balcony and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doohyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

many people have been fooled into thinking Florence is a quaint Italian town...it is not. It is a bustling city with loads of people year round. Signa is a short drive or train ride into Florence and provides a break from the city as well as a taste of real Italian life. Stilhotel is clean, comfortable, and quiet. We stayed in the dependance area of the hotel which was a queen sized bed, a single bed (with trundle), a small table, fridge, and huge balcony. We also had another large terrace available to the few rooms in the dependance. Breakfast was a welcomed surprise with pastries, meats, yogurts, eggs, cheese, fruit, juice and espresso prepared to order. We loved the fact that the supermarket was just downstairs as well. We did not have a car and it was about a 20 minute walk to the station, but it was through the town and very fun. We enjoyed walking through the market and by the gelaterias, park, and shops. Overall, Stilhotel was a great place to stay for anyone looking to enjoy Florence by day and enjoy nice, quiet Italian evenings.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Signa
Hotel Europa Signa
#3 of 4 in Signa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Country Hotel Borgo Sant'Ippolit...
#1 of 1 in Ginestra Fiorentina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Delfina
#2 of 4 in Signa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Hotel Marzia
#1 of 5 in Scandicci
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilhotel

Property: Stilhotel
Address: Via Dei Macelli 22, 50058 Signa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Signa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Signa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stilhotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in the Florence metropolitan area, stylish and modern, Stilhotel is in a very good position both for business and leisure.Its ideal location, near to the most important highways, is the best starting point to reach Florence and all the landmarks of Tuscany.Stilhotel provides a Free Parking Area, Wi-Fi Connection all over the Hotel, Free Shuttle Service for/to the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stilhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilhotel Hotel Signa
Stilhotel Province Of Florence/Signa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing