We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Fossheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fossheim Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Off season and excellent, personal service. We were one of only 2 maybe 3 rooms and yet all was as if they were on a normal capacity (in a good way). Room was really nice, shower was awesome. Breakfast was just as big as if the hotel were full.
I will make it a point to stay in this hotel when we make it back to Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlyGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in a double hotel room with own bathroom (room 206, if that helps). The first impression wasn't very good as the building looked old, but we had a very nice stay. The room was relatively big and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the food very good. It has a sauna and some other services that we didn't try.

The breakfast (included) was a pretty standard scandinavian breakfast: several kinds of bread, several kinds of milk/yoghurt, waffle maker and a good variety of things to put on your bread.

The hotel also has a restaurant where they serve dinner (not included). Not only we found the food excellent, but they prepared a special, out-of-the-menu dish for us every day, as we don't eat meat and all options on the menu contained meat/fish. It's a bit on the expensive side (between 230/300 NOK per person), but totally worth it. It's also very nice to have because the location, Ulsåk, seems to have only one other restaurant (a Chinese restaurant we didn't try).

The bus stop is 50 meters away, which makes it a good place to stay if you're going to ski in Hemsedal (it's 10 minutes to the ski center with the free ski bus). You can take buses to other places, like the Gol train station, from the same stop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanchado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed as a couple oin this hotel in liuxury room for a night and must admit its very expansive comparing to waht we gto in the rooms,, couple points to mention!

luxury room;
very cold and you cannot adjust the heater
no hotel info in the room
no room service or phone
undone bathrooms
very cold floors
bad tv
meaningless soafs
little bit shower gel


bad dry breakfast,!!

i cannnot sugest anyone to stay here!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We visited this hotel for an overnight stay on our way from Geiranger to Oslo. We found it in a guide book recommending exquisite restaurant. Well, the room was ok (see pictures) but firstly they asked for something like 1900 Nok ! We argued that its completely out of season and ended on 950 Nok. We was curious about the restaurant but we found it heavy overpriced - the only option was a menu for 380 Nok/person - no choice! The meal was not very tasty - some kind of fat pork - really not a gourmet experience we were prepared for.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank vaschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

have been here twice.There is both hotel and cabins. Rented the cabins with bath and kitchen.Beside a river with a bridge.Only problem is the small beds

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ting2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We ski a lot, and this is a skiers hotel. Great rooms, but the food is outstanding. It seems they try to use only local ingredients in their dishes, different and great. The children enjoyed reindeer, not your every day dish, but fantastic. For good tips on skiing try talking to the manager, Knut Eric, he,s been skiing across Greenland a few times and knows his way around Hemsedals secret powder spots. We,ll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasdanwox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We had the perfect Christmas holiday at Fossheim last December. This excellent family hotel has a special atmosphere and is really suitable for all ages.
Gourmet meals and helpful staff made this holiday into something we are looking forward to repeating.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
2.3 mi away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
81 reviews
4.3 mi away
Skarsnuten Hotel
Skarsnuten Hotel
#1 of 5 in Hemsedal
75 reviews
8.0 mi away
Harahorn
Harahorn
#2 of 5 in Hemsedal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
15.3 mi away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gol
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hemsedal Cafe Skiers Lodge
Hemsedal Cafe Skiers Lodge
#6 of 13 in Hemsedal
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fossheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossheim Hotel

Address: Ulsak, Hemsedal 3560, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Price Range: £82 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fossheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fossheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing