We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at Golsfjellet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Storefjell Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you want to stay on the mountain - a quite place with good service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainboyGeilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Recently stayed for 1 night at this hotel. The hotel is large, consisting of a number of different buildings connected by a large lobby area. Rooms to the front of the hotel look out over an impressive far reaching view, those to the rear face onto an upwards mountain slope.

We had booked a budget room, this was very small, with just enough space for twin beds that were pushed together. Have seen larger single rooms. Noise insulation was very poor, with noise from the bar (two floors below) entering the room.There was no lift access to the part of the hotel the room was in.

Paid extra to upgrade to a larger room in a newer building. Again room insulation was very poor, able to hear the next door neighbours.The room was in need of some cosmetic repairs, the wood style flooring showing lots of damage. Pillows were of very poor quality. At least this room could be accessed by a lift!

The buffet style breakfast is served in a large dining room, your name will be on a table. Food was plentiful, a selection of cold meats, cheese, fish, bread and hot food set out in serving dishes. In my view quantity over quality.

Would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not book a budget room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shropshire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is an excellent winter hotel with all the facilities. Open in summer also, but not the best hiking area in summer. Still a very good choice.

Room Tip: No bad rooms that i have noticed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goalerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were touring the west coast of Norway with our Norwegian friends and stayed overnight here. The rooms were very good. We took a walk up to the top of the small hill behind the resort and, WOW, the scenery was awesome - mainly a flat plateau with majestic mountains in the distance - no wonder it is a successful cross-country skiing resort!! But the surprise came at dinner - the restaurant is long and faces south, with sheer glass windows all the way along - the scene beyond was breathtaking! As for the food - just imagine what a banquet fit for a king looks like - that comes close to the standard here - for starters you had the choice of various salmon, caviars, cooked meats and many other dishes. I just wish we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: Ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Excellent resort, delicious food, very nice rooms, everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xania_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Storefjell is a big hotel located at Golsfjellet 1000 meters above sea level. The hotel is “in a middle of nowhere” so you do have to use the hotel for everything from eating to the nightlife. But the hotel can offer very much. This hotel is like a cruise ship with a lot of activities, many common rooms and a restaurant with a buffet that you perhaps never have seen before. I remember my first night at Storefjell. As Norwegian I was used to big breakfast buffets at the hotels, but this one just made me startle. Another time I had dinner here (no buffet that time) and when the guests entered the restaurant all the waiters was lined up to great the guests. And this is one of Storefjell’s big advantages. The service is so friendly. When I have entered the hotel and approached the reception, the receptionist shake my hand. This isn’t common at a hotel with several hundred rooms. Here the employees are drilled in giving the guests good service.
The only minus are the rooms, they are just average. And of course such a big hotel has its advantages and disadvantages compared to a smaller hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Excellent buffet table. Nice and modern rooms, clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distence from the slopes, and only one hour drive from Hemsedal

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gol
2.5 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
7.2 mi away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gol
186 reviews
15.7 mi away
Scandic Valdres
Scandic Valdres
#1 of 3 in Fagernes
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
42 reviews
7.0 mi away
Solstad Hotel
Solstad Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gol
51 reviews
16.1 mi away
Skarsnuten Hotel
Skarsnuten Hotel
#1 of 5 in Hemsedal
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storefjell Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storefjell Resort Hotel

Address: Storefjell Resort Hotel, Gol 3550, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Gol Municipality > Gol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gol
Price Range: £36 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storefjell Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storefjell Resort Hotel is a full service hotel 1001 meters above sea level, up in the beautiful mountains of Norway. It is situated between Oslo and Bergen in Norway centrally on Golsfjellet, right between Hallingdal and Valdres. The hotel have a great restaurant and are famous for our Norwegian Cuisine. We have good varieties and there is food for any preferences. There is also a small AquaLand in the hotel with a 50m long waterslide and its great for kids. The spa is great for the guest who want to relax. The location is a good spot for nature experience. Vinter: We have our own Ski Resort and its good for downhill but also cross country skiing with a nice panorama view of the Norwegian national parks. If you want to visit three of the biggest ski resorts in Norway then Hemsedal, Geilo and Beitostolen is not far away. Summer: The nature around the Storefjell is perfect for biking, hiking, fishing and much more. If you want to make daytrips you can go to several parks and museums showing norwegian animals and old historic buildings. You can visit several national parks like Hardangervidda, Jotunheim and the Fjords of Norway on the Unesco's Heritage list. We'll always provide great experiences, whether you come by yourself, with your family or as part of a group/company. With our 300 rooms and 4500 sq/m conference facilities we are well prepared for big groups and companies as well. How to get here from Oslo: Railway:Take the train heading for Bergen and get off in Gol. Car: RV 7 or E16 to Gol. Airplane: Fly to Leirin Airport. We wish you welcome to Storefjell Resort Hotel 1001 meters above sea level Kind Regards Nibstad familiy and all employes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Storefjell Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storefjell Resort Hotel Norway/Gol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing