We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Ruffino - Tenuta di Poggio Casciano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only a few miles from Florence, immersed in the beautiful lands of the Chianti, our historical Ruffino estate offers guided tours and tastings of our best wines to our guests.
Mukilteo, WA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I visited here in September, 2013 for a "Winemaker for a Day" tour of the grounds and cellar. Lidia was our guide and was so kind, gracious and generous. We learned so much about the site, which dates back to the Renaissance, the well around which the original structure was built, and of course the wines of Ruffino. Lidia was just a joy to spend time with. We had our very first barrel tasting in Italy--what a treat! All in all, a great place for a tour and wine tasting. We highly recommend both the place, the wine and the tour guide. It was also a great opportunity to try wines that are not available in the US (and to ship some home!) Thank you, Lidia for an amazing experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastingCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Don't rely on your GPS - make sure to look for Tenuta di Poggio signs - not Ruffino. We arrived late but were still welcomed. Lidia was delightful - very attentive and informative. Suggestion would be to not have lunch before but to do their tasting with wine - nice room with a beautifully set table. Great wines!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenChiasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Tour of Ruffino with Lidia Ceseri”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I visited Ruffino on a recent trip to Florence. Lidia led us on an extensive tour of the grounds, educated us about the history and current relevance of Ruffino in Italy and the rest of the world. Afterward, we tasted a number of wines that Ruffino produces, some more common that others, and ended up shipping some home.

Ruffino was the last stop of our wine touring day and was definitely our favorite. It was a fun experience and we have Lidia Ceseri to thank for it. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We visited Ruffino September, 16, 2013. We had a great tour and a great time. Lidia was fantastic. We have toured many wineries in in Italy and this turned out to be our favorite. We knew about their Chianti's from here in the U.S., but learned about the Brunello's and other wines following the tour. We tasted and we purchased!

We were greeted warmly and treated like royalty. Our reservation request was handled promptly and everything started right on time. We were there for more than two hours and it flew by like an instant.

I would recommend a visit here to anyone who likes Italian wine and likes to be treated like they are special visitors to a special place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Georges
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exclusive wine experience at Rufino Poggio Casciano”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Thank you for the very wonderful visit.
We really appreciated the privacy of the tour, the tasting, etc. All was perfect.
Lidia was very kind and answered all our questions.
The choice of tasting, the "liberty" to choose many other wines to taste... WOW!!!
The visit to Ruffino was one of our highlight in Italy.
Thanks to Lidia.
We hope to see you again one day. And your wines are so good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_houde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruffino - Tenuta di Poggio Casciano also viewed

Antella, Bagno a Ripoli
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Bagno a Ripoli, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ruffino - Tenuta di Poggio Casciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing