We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably great!”
Review of Casale Fontibucci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casale Fontibucci
Ranked #6 of 18 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My travel companion and I stayed with Aurora at Casale Fontibucci for a week during the summer of 2007, both of us being expatriates from different countries. This was my first experience at a bed & breakfast, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. Aurora was very personable, knowledgeable about the area, and gave great recommendations for sight-seeing in Florence. Additionally, the room was cozy, the breakfast always delicious, and the grounds absolutely gorgeous, including the swimming pool! There is a lot of interesting history about the house, and the area surrounding. The scenery is tops, bar none, and away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but close enough to be convenient. If you get a chance, visit The Uffizi Gallery and Boboli Gardens. There are also many beautiful cathedrals to view in town, lots of shopping, street artists, wonderful restaurants (ask Aurora about the locally-owned trattoria close by that makes their own olive oil) and don't forget to partake in local cooking classes!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realoverture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013
Google Translation

Grazie,sono felice d'avere lasciato un bel ricordo, nonostante il trascorrere degli anni.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Casale Fontibucci
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Me, my husband and our dog stayed at the Casale for one week, it was the most relaxing time i have ever had.
Our room, the Limoni suite was huge and cosy, decorated with a great choice of decorative items in perfect farm house style.
The views where amazing especially at night when the city of Florence seems to shine from our windows.
I really enjoyed the breakfast! The owner, Aurora, was preparing every day a different sweets, I adored the chocolate bread, was so delicious with her homemade jam that I cannot stop thinking about it!
Aurora, the owner was always very helpful and everyday she had tips for us. She was very gracious and always willing to help.
It really was the perfect holiday and we really want to go back!!
Thank you Aurora!!!

Grazie Aurora!! Ho lasciato il commento in inglese cosi che fosse piu' accessibile a tutti!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARAQDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks for the review: I also remember you fondly and hope to see you in the future.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon during our tour of Tuscany. Aurora was a wonderful hostess, giving us everything we needed and being wonderfully accessible without being invasive. Our room was beautiful, and we had a view of the Florentine lights at night. She gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants and tips for getting into Florence easily. The Casale is absolutely beautiful. The drive up is a little daunting, but we had a 4 speed rental Fiat and were able to do it easily in a very dry July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks for the review: I also remember you fondly and hope to see you in the future.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We are a family with 2 mature dougthers and had a wonderful time. The place is a real gem. The dwellings are fantastic, beautifully decorated, with lots of room inside and a nice garden outside. Aurora was an extremely wonderful host.
The location is a bit tricky; you have to drive up (and down), a typical italian country (narrow) road. We really liked it. the views over Florence are unblievable. we made day trips to Florence, San-Gimignano and Chianti - Casale Fontibucci is right in the middle of everything, and only 15-20 min. from Florence (a car is a must).
We stayed for 5 days of our 2 week Italy-trip and it was by far the best place. Thank you Aurora for your hospitality and your beautiful Casale.
Khen

Room Tip: We stayed at the I Limone - excellent for a familly with mature children, on a b+b basis. I think th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were really lucky to have found Aurora's watchtower in Case di San Romolo. It's a great place to visit Florence from as it is quiet and secluded on a hill side overlooking the city. We could see an incredible view of Florence from our bedroom window which was stunning throughout the day.

There is a lovely pool to cool off in and Aurora made us a delicious varying breakfast each day. She went out of her way to help us get tickets for the Uffizi and had a lot of local knowledge about the area. I would really recommend staying at Casale Fontibucci.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Many thanks
You are very kind. I also remember you fondly.
Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 5 lovely days at Aurora's "Casale Fontibucci" in August on recommendation from our friends who stayed here in 2005.Best decision we have made. The accomodation and Aurora are 'out of the box' and exactly what you expect Italy/Tuscany to be.... all class. Its a little hard to find at first,but that adds to its charm. Thank you Aurora you deserve the best rating....10 out 10 from two grateful Australians.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brumarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thanks, I remember with great pleasure the days that you have spent @ Casale Fontibucci.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We are a family with young children and had a marvelous time. The accommodations were fantastic and we had lots of room inside and out. Aurora was extremely accommodating and a wonderful cook and host. We also enjoyed the location, we made day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa, Bologna and Chianti and was right in the middle and only 15 minutes from Florence. We stayed for a week of our 3 week trip and it was our favorite place. Thank to Aurora for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gneargarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thanks, I too have wonderful memories of your stay Casale Fontibucci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bagno a Ripoli hotels
3.8 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
823 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Le Tre Colombe
B&B Le Tre Colombe
#9 of 18 in Bagno a Ripoli
2 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Poggio Baronti
B&B Poggio Baronti
#1 of 18 in Bagno a Ripoli
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
3.2 mi away
Residence Ristorante Golf Club Centanni
2.9 mi away
Villa Nobili B&B
Villa Nobili B&B
#5 of 18 in Bagno a Ripoli
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Fontibucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Fontibucci

Address: Via Fontibucci 5, 50012, Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range: £78 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Fontibucci was originally built as a watchtower in the Middle Ages, after which it is traditionally believed to have been home to Michelangelo's stonecutters. At present it is used for residential purposes by the owner, who has appointed a part of it to a B&B and holiday home. Casale Fontibucci has been featured, with numerous illustrations and an extensive description, in the book "The 70's House" edited by Wiley and Sons. The book describes the most important houses of the 70s; "Casale Fontibucci ... was, by repute, originally the home of Michelangelo's stonemason. The site of the house lies on a hill commanding a view down the valley of the Arno to Florence in the distance past the picturesque array of hilltop palazzi and villas in between". Casale Fontibucci is set amidst the rolling hills of Chianti Colli Fiorentini, more specifically in the area of Bagno a Ripoli. Surrounded by verdant countryside rich in spontaneous vegetation and orchards planted out with vines and olives, the Casale Fontibucci bed and breakfast offers not only the unspoilt natural beauties and characteristic peace of the gentle Tuscan landscape, but also all possible comforts to make your stay tranquil and enjoyable. Florence, just 15 kilometres away, is within easy reach by both public and private transport. Casale Fontibucci is also strategically placed for reaching the Firenze Sud motorway exit in just 20 minutes. All the major Tuscan art cities - Pisa, Volterra, Lucca, Siena and San Gimignano – and the entire Chianti area are within a radius of about one hour's car journey. The B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover the Tuscan traditions through food & wine tours or more traditional cultural excursions. An old Tuscan farmhouse, the building has been renovated in complete respect for the characteristic Tuscan style, featuring stone walls, open-beam ceilings and terracotta floors. The spacious grounds surrounding the B&B have a swimming-pool with the gentle contours of a small lake set amidst flowering shrubs, olives and cypress trees. Open from May to September, both the pool and the sun terrace, fully equipped with parasols and loungers, command breathtaking views over Florence. Beach towels are provided for guests' use. Aurora, the owner of Casale Fontibucci, has been personally managing the property since she retired in 2004. A lover and connoisseur of Florence and its culture, she can arrange for you tourist itineraries off the beaten track and manage your bookings for exhibitions and museumsThe Casale Fontibucci B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover Tuscan traditions through the classic cultural excursions or food & wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casale Fontibucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Fontibucci Province Of Florence, Italy - Bagno a Ripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing