We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place amid the mayhem”
Review of San Anton Gardens

San Anton Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$67.30*
and up
'Game of Thrones' Filming Locations Tour in Malta
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Attard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“A lovely place amid the mayhem”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Oh what a lovely peaceful place with lots to see and the little museum for 2 euros is so worth it, the moving exhibits are excellent. Get off that bus and enjoy! The gardens are free to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    152
    39
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spend some time in the quiet of the gardens”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hop on hop off bus goes past this garden. A lovely place to have a quiet walk around and enjoy

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is such a beautiful garden to walk around, It has a lot to offer for all the family..Including a coffee shop..

Helpful?
Thank JeanetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
268 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A beautiful garden, interesting flowers and fab bird life, including the cutest ducklings, Muscovy ducks, swans etc. The peacocks are vicious though. The gardens are well looked after and it reminds me of Disneys Alice in Wonderland! A must for ornithologists and plant enthusiasts.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank VindalooQueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasent gardens with wildlife and tame cats”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I’ve been here twice and enjoyed walking around the avenues of flowers and plants. It’s not the most polished gardens, but a nice place to visit if you’re in the area, and it doesn’t cost anything to enter so it’s worth a wonder round. There is also some wildlife – a pond with ducks and terrapins (I think), also birds and peacocks strutting around.

If you are a cat-lover this is a great place to go as there are lots of tame cats about, who are really friendly in contrast to the more feral cats elsewhere. The fountain & buildings are also nice, including the small chapel.

The first time we went we saw the moving-figures exhibition, which has historical scenes of Maltese workers (the fisherman, the bread maker, the glass blower, the farmer, the lace maker et cetera) and we were thoroughly charmed. The exhibition also has some other pieces of art too which were very good. The second time we visited San Anton we were pleased to see it was still there so we saw it again! I'm not sure if this is a permanent exhibition but worth seeing if it's still there.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Anton Gardens also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to San Anton Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing