We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection! Didn't want to leave!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Primrose Sands, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tracyr66
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfection! Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What can I say! Frogmouth Cottage is a home away from home. The house is stocked with everything that you could possibly think of, from a full range of kitchen utensils and pantry items, lots of toiletries in the bathroom, and laundry requirements. Beach towels, kayaks, fishing gear and a whole array of beach balls, buckets and other fun await you. We spent a lot of time sitting around playing board games and cards that were provided by our hosts whilst taking in the ever-changing views out the huge windows.
Speaking of the hosts, Ivanka and Branko made sure that we were settling in. They were staying in the adjoining unit and you would never know that they were there. Privacy screens ensure that everyone has their own space. They were discrete, lovely hosts.
The beach itself which is about two metres from the house is gorgeous. At it's busiest, there were about 15 people on the beach. It was amazing! Early morning walkers were joined by their dogs who were loving the beach as much as their owners!
The town has a general store with reasonably priced basics. Make sure that you stop at Sorell (Coles and Woolies) on the way to Primrose Sands to stock up on groceries for your stay (you won't want to waste time driving back for food once you get there...trust me!).
We day-tripped to Port Arthur, Tasmanian Devil Unzoo, Bangor Wine & Oyster Shed and the Federation Chocolate Factory. It took about 40-50 minutes to reach these destinations depending on traffic.
We have already recommended Frogmouth Cottage to others, although, perhaps we should keep it a secret! It is a hidden gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
One of the rewards of sharing this beautiful cottage with other people is seeing their reaction when they get there, how much pleasure they get staying, especially children and then the reluctance to leave at the end of the stay. We hear wonderful stories from people staying and about their experiences. Yes, it's almost unbelievable but we constantly hear from our guests: paradise, divine, magical, incredible, mesmerizing and our guest book over the last 4 years is quite a read.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LissyL0u
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Paradise Ruined”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Frogmouth Cottage from 3rd of Nov to 13th Nov, the location of the house is absolutely beautiful, the beach is pristine and so gorgeous, just want we wanted, the house has floor to ceiling windows at the front and back of the house and the view you cannot beat.

We unfortunately got almost 10 days of not the best weather, however as the location is so gorgeous and we were really only there to de-stress didn't really matter. Tasmania you really cannot beat for this.

We didn't like that there is only one bathroom, and to go to the toilet you must go thru the bathroom.

What we totally are extremely annoyed about and have told Branko, is that he arrived unannounced before 8am on our last day, walked straight to the back door with the open curtains (it is extremely private). We were all partically dressed and had no idea who he was. I was sweeping the floor and answered the door and Brankos eyes were darting everywhere, obviously checking to see if we had ruined the place. We have advised Branko in no uncertain terms how upset we were with this and he advised that he is a friendly guy. I don't believe that this was his intent as he had to fly from Melbourne to get to Frogmouth Cottage and had sms'd us 3 times during our stay checking on how many people were staying there and if there was anything wrong. Why not sms us "by the way I am arriving early on your last day"?

Another thing that is well hidden is a little house adjoined to Frogmouth Cottage which Branko informed us on our last day that he and his wife often stay in. As the house is so advertised as so private I would not like the owners staying in the adjointing property and I think by the photos hiding this fact, Branko understands alot of people would not like it either.

We have stayed in almost 100 holiday houses within Australia and overseas, I have never had this happen before, it really took the gloss off our holiday. Branko has contacted my husband twice about what he did apologising and whilst it was nice of him I am not sure that it was so we didn't write a bad review, I he knows he did the wrong thing. Doesn't give us our lovely holiday back does it? Thanks Branko, not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of house
Liked least: Owner arriving unannounced walking straight to back door
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Frogmouth Cottage and by the way we do clearly state in advertising that there is one bathroom so I don't know why you are complaining about that. Surely it was sufficient for three people. We have had up to eight with no complaints.
I arrived early for property maintenance and only knocked on your door because I saw you were up readying for checkout and to say hallo. Yes we are friendly hosts and like to meet out guests. I dont know why you assumed I was checking on you, we dont need to, at our price level we don't get rif raf, but there is a lot to check on the property including our commercial cleaners to ensure new guests have the best experience and we only have 4 hr time window to do it in. As part of out customer service we like to say hallo and farewell and stay in touch during guests stay. Perhaps in 100 houses you have been you never had that, we know our other guests complained that at other properties they had no customer service, we didnt when we rented the house across the bay. Your complaint does not match wonderful guest review you left in our guest book saying you wanted to come back and you never complained to me in person, you were all smiles, only after you left.
I suspect your real complaint Lisa is that you were unable to squeeze further discount. After I agreed on a price with Mark you sneakily put through another unrelated inquiry offering much less. When politely I told you that Frogmouth Cottage is the best holiday rental in Tasmania and if you are looking for discount it is not for you and that perhaps something less would suit you better, you should have taken the hint.
Thank you for staying, God bless you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan G
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife booked this cottage for our second week in Tasmania. What a lovely place to stay, right on the beach. Everything you need and even some groceries for guests to use.
The cottage is the perfect place to relax and unwind, long walks on the beach, rowing, swimming or just taking in the beauty of unspoiled nature.
The owners are very friendly and perfect hosts.
We were so fortunate to see a pod of 6 dolphins on our last day frolicking in the shallow water for about 2 hrs .... right in front of the cottage. It was sad to go but we will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star beach views, luxurious, modern house”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Primrose Sands thanks to this wonderful find. The view of the beach is unbeatable and the house is the only place on the beach in Primrose Sands. I have never stayed anywhere so close to the beach before and I am from Queensland and have stayed in many so called 'waterfront' houses. The house's design makes great use of the views with its large tinted glass windows facing the beach. Two of the three bedrooms and also the living and dining rooms have a beach view so we happily stayed indoors when it was too cold to brave the wind.

The owner, Branko, greeted us upon arrival and was very welcoming. He even let us use his kayaks which were great to use in the sheltered bay. We even managed to catch some flathead fish when we were out in the kayaks. If you are a keen fisherman I would recommended fishing near the rocks and going quite far out. We didn't catch many fish at all when we were just standing on the beach.

I would definitely go back to Frogmouth Cottage for another relaxing beachside holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tish_Adda...
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here last. It will spoil other perfectly nice places for you.”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

WOW! This lovely little cottage truly is right on the beach. 2 of the bedrooms have windows looking out on the beach, and it's a beautiful sight to wake to in the morning; it's at the end of the beach, so there aren't many people around, and somehow from the beach the house practically disappears. There are also floor to ceiling windows in the living room and dining area, so your view is unobstructed. It is attractively and comfortably furnished, with careful attention clearly paid to maximizing your water view. The view is simply stunning: beautiful and peaceful, overlooking a lovely garden in your backyard, enjoying beautiful white sands of Primrose Sands and the turquoise waters of Frederick Henry Bay. We enjoyed sitting out at the picnic table in the evening, watching the sunsets. After staying here, every other place will seem "far away" from the beach, and the views not as good. That's why I say "stay here last". Those other places are nice too, but Frogmouth Cottage will just raise the bar too high.

The kitchen is well equipped (stove-top, oven, microwave, electric kettle, pots/pans, cooking/serving necessities), and the dishwasher is so quiet you'll question whether you actually turned it on. It also has a washer and dryer (in addition to a clothesline) available.

There is Wi-Fi, for the internet addicts in your life. There are also movies, books, toys and games, and water toys available for your use, should you want or need them. There are also convenient brochures and maps for nearby activities in one of the drawers.

The only "weak" spot is that there is currently only one bathroom, and the cottage comfortably accommodates 6 people (2 per bedroom). The third bedroom, which we did not use, does not have a view, and has twin beds.

As far as I can tell, Primrose Sands Tasmania does not have any restaurants, so stop at Dodge's Ferry on the way in to pick up groceries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: one bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Nowhere else will you be in the only house on the most beautiful, family safe, empty beach yet only 30 min from airport, 45 from a capital city and 20 from usual shops and conveniences. Local convenience store is only 5 min away and is well equipped and has good range of takeaway food. Then there is local RSL that serves food and drinks. Restaurants and supermarkets are only 20 min away. Many of our guests have told us they wished Frogmouth Cottage was their last stop on their Tasmanian holiday simply because after you stayed nothing else measures up. I have been waterfront property hunting for over 5 years and nothing else is like incomparable Frogmouth Cottage.
Thank you Tish for a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsl
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacularly secluded location”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are wanting a quiet gorgeous get-a-away from the hustle of the cities, this is your place. The view from everywhere in the cottage except the back bedroom is exquisite. You hear the ocean lapping on the shore not 10 meters from your cottage. That being said, you then can't skip down to the local store for a coffee or a bite to eat! The drive to the nearby stores or restaurants is about 20 minutes. We went on day trips to Port Arthur and Wineglass Bay and these trips were shortened by our Frogmouth location as compared to Hobart - so you win in that respect. You will need to hire a car and we found Budget extremely reasonable. Branko and Ivanka keep in touch with you to see you are not wanting for anything. A place to remember.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc8-63
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It proved tricky to leave this review because Trip Advisor has it listed as Dodges Ferry when, in fact, it is in Primrose Sands, about 12 kms away. I'm sure there would be more ultra-positive reviews if it was listed in the correct spot. Never mind. Wow! The bottom line is that this must be one of the best beach holiday homes in Australia, in an absolutely beautiful position with the sand literally a few steps away and the sound of the sea your constant, lulling companion. The "cottage" is wonderfully equipped with everything you could possibly need to assist your stay, including an efficient log fire for those chilly nights backed up by effective reverse cycle air con, electric blankets, bedroom heaters. Lovely touches include bathroom amenities and basics in the kitchen to help you avoid too much self-cater cost. Just sit back in the lounge in awe, looking through the plate glass windows at the ocean beyond. A recipe for total relaxation. It's a great base to explore southern Tassie, but you will find yourself not wanting to leave the front door (and not wanting to go home at the end of trip)!
Fish from the beach or rocks with the complimentary fishing gear, paddle out in the complimentary kayaks, swim, walk, have a glass of wine on the front terrace, bbq a steak. It's a long way from our gorgeous Queensland, but we have fallen in love!
A big thank you to the perfect hosts for a wonderful break we will not forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and facilities
Liked least: Travel out about 20 minutes for decent supermarket shopping. Small price to pay!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
What is National Treasure? A rarest of places of unimaginable priceless beauty where sum of its parts is exceeded by magic, where fantasy merges with reality, where your dreams become reality, live the dream! It’s where gravity of Tasmanian history gives way to lightness of innocence like child in mother’s arms. Nowhere else will mother embrace you so tenderly, caress you so gently with whispers of wind, put you to sleep with lullaby of the waves and melody of a wind chime.
Our guests come from far and wide, domestic, interstate and international, and have left us with most incredible guest entries and reviews that are a treasure trove of unforgettable memories and none wanted to go home. Is Frogmouth Cottage a National Treasure? Our guests have ticked all the boxes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;