We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!! PERFECT GETAWAY!!!”
Review of Kingfisher Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kingfisher Resort
Ranked #3 of 34 Pagudpud B&B and Inns
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!! PERFECT GETAWAY!!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

One thing I could say about the place..ITS pretty awesome....What can you ask for..great food great host and great place....great guest as well..very friendly...and the dogs dang they are lovely!!...I would recommend the place for couple or group of adults...if you wnt relaxation then this is the place for you away from busy body people..the food are outstanding not your measly low end kind of meals and ingredients are fantastic...the only place I enjoyed Mocha Frappe better than starbucks or etc....MON the host and owner is very friendly and welcoming..

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach take the huts...if you want cozy place take the casitas..the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rey Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    20
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
36
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here last minute in April. Thinking Pagudpud and Saud beach would be very busy because of Holy Week, this place was quiet and relaxed. The beach is amazing, the resort simple and classically done, food is great, and staff are lovely - Zhara was so very helpful, she really made my stay enjoyable. I had a great stay and would highly recommend anyone to stay here if they want to see beautiful Pagudpud, without the crowds. Can't wait to go back!

My one only, not even complaint really, is that the windsurfing centre is a little disorganised - it is separately run to the resort. I am not a windsurfer and wanted to try, but there was little wind when I wanted to try with the Instructor (even though the day before another guest did the course in less wind than there was for me). I got the feeling, end of season and the instructor was done with teaching, and wanted to go. I get it, but like diving, everyone is a beginner at some point and Instructors have to remember they work in an industry that isn't just for people who know the sport already. I would go back there to windsurf but will do my training somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmandSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarifa, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Such a great place to be, which is hard to leave. Just experience it!!! Wind mostly for 7m kite with flat water but with a great break as well - wonderful wave spot... Season begins in October already and finishing March/April!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniCZka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights and tried the casitas and also the ocean view huts! Casitas are amazing and perfect for all the wives of windsurfers, kitersurfer etc. While my husband was so keen to learn kitesurfing I had best time watching all the movies after getting tanned, massage is good too! plus all there pasta's are delicious. When we move to ocean view huts I was a little bit concerned about the common shower rooms and toilets you know women are always fussy about that but suprisingly its clean and massive shower rooms! Hence, I enjoyed the stay in the ocean view huts. Staffs are super great look for ana!! And the chef is super good all pasta's taste like makati italian style. If you come here don't forget to be friends with toby (dog) he will always follow you make you feel safe.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank omihughesjnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Kingfisher was for us one of the must beautiful place we have seen in the world, completely surrounded by the virgin nature.
Is the perfect place to live a magic kite experience with the opportunity to turn around 360° and see nobody.
The kingfisher family, Mon and Sara on the top, is special and precious! Thanks to them we could taste the real filipinas culture.
If you will live a very special experience go there!! And keep the place like this...
We miss everyday the place, the people and the four mosquetier dogs!
We will come back as soon as possible...

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view hut! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had such a great time! I traveled quite a lot around the islands, and it's very difficult to find a place which excels in so many areas. I booked the palce after a friend of mine highly recommend it, so i had quite high expectations. Took a cheap flight from Manila, we had a van waiting for us at the airport, and it took us less than 90 minutes to get there.

Beach is nice, i don't practice any sports, so I was just lazying around, reading a book on a hamok with a beer and it was great. I rented a bike and went around the area, the roads are not busy, and the resort is an hour away from waterfalls, other beaches etc.

We booked an ocean view room with no shower. The room was nice, clean, and comfy, and the shared bathroom is super clean, so that was not an issue at all. They also do have rooms with showers though.

Food was the best, big menu, with a lot of choices, and great fresh seafood.

Manager and the staff were super nice and friendly, they are one of the reasons I will be going back, and overall the whole atmosphere is awesome. Honestly, I am not sure how they can improve. I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area, but its also a good spot to escape the city. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sharing bathrooms (which were very clean btw) then definitely get the ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanjiao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Two weeks Kingfisher was overall a great experience and we would come back any time.
We came to wind- and kitesurf. We found kingfisher by searching the net for windy destinations in Asia for the Chinese spring festival time as we are based In Beijing. The kingfisher website I must say promised a lot, based on the publications of a French pro windsurfer who discovered the place, it is branded as the "NEW HAWAII", so we were very curious what to find.

Kingfisher Resort
The place is right at the beach about 4km away from the next sizable village. It has different type of accommodation, based on your budget, you can choose more or less comfort . All places are clean and well maintained.

All this is centered around an open, airy main building where you can hang out, read, watch TV, play table football and of course have your meals. The restaurant is pretty good and has a decent variety of dishes. The style of the building fits very well In to the surounding and with the pretty palm leave roofs also follows the local architecture. The staff is super friendly and is always trying their best, Mon the owner and Sarah are paying much attention to introduce new guests, bring people together make sure everybody feels ok and entertain with anecdotes and stories about kingfisher. Over all the place is very relaxed, it is easy to get to know other people and we made many new friends and liked the mix of people who all seem to share the same enthusiasm for watersport. We meet many who are regular visitors which speaks for itself. There is also a bunch of friendly dogs running around and even a monkey. It's a perfect place for families with kids, couples and singles.
There is no internet! Mong and Sarah though offer to take you once a day or on request about 3 km down the road to an area where their hotspot has reception. The beach is uncrowded and you are able to walk for miles meeting nobody else than local fishermen.

The Wind and Kitesurf conditions.
We spend 14 days (first half of Feb.) and had around 70% days with good conditions. Other travelers and the kite and surf center told us that this was a bad patch and normally there is more wind,
The reef is about 200 m far out and the area before that is very much affected by the tide. So much that some places become dry and very shallow, so you have to wait until there is enough water around. For us this meant sometimes waiting until 2 or 3 pm depending if you wind- or kitesurf. If the wind is strong enough, there are alternative beaches available with less tide dependence and the kite centre can organize trips to them. The Seabed is a mixture of coral sand and seaweed, if you are a beginner or windsurfer you should bring shoes. The center can rent out shoes, but if you want to be sure to have the right size bring your own. The wind is mostly side to side on. The waves can get big, we had several days with waves up to 3m and we were told that they can get bigger. The wave builds up quick and is pretty powerfull. We did not see perfect peeling conditions but I guess that depends on the swell directions. From my point of view this place suits kitesurfers better then windsurfers. As a windsurfer you need to be pretty good to manage through the waves and due to the shallow conditions at and in front of the reef you very easily trash your equipment when you fall. For kite surfing I think the place is great for learning and also for the advanced who want to ride in waves. The place was never crowded and at max there where 10 kiters on the water and most of the time no windsurfers. The centre was run by a kitsurfer couple Janna and John, who provide great lessons and general support and Info.They have a few windsurf boards from Jp and sails from neil pryde and a range of different kites from cabrinah. The equipment is pretty good.
If you break stuff be prepared that you must pay. There is no insurance and it is not cheap, as the place is remote and repair and replacement is not available locally.
The resort has a number of jet skis for life rescue, I saw them never running or tested, so I am a bit doubtful they are functioning when required, keep that in mind when you go out.

Overall, we loved the place and enjoyed the quiet remote setting with great conditions beautiful scenery and a great bunch of other visitors.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Axel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagudpud
48.2 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
36.4 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
32.0 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
78.2 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
483 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pannzian Beach
Pannzian Beach
#1 of 4 in Pagudpud
86 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Consuelo
Casa Consuelo
#1 of 17 in Pagudpud
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Resort

Property: Kingfisher Resort
Address: Sitio Aprot Brgy Caparispisan, Pagudpud, Luzon 2919, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Pagudpud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Pagudpud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Busy at work? Stressed and feeling like you want to feel the Paradise nature vibe? Kingfisher Kite Surfing Hotel offers water activities like wind surfing, kite surfing, snorkeling, stand up paddle, kayak. If you are a kiter this three star hotel located between Saud Beach and Blue Lagoon is very good location for pro-kiters and begginers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kingfisher Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing