We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #1 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“well worth a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a quaint listed building and a nice and quirky B/B .Steve and Carol is very hospitable and helpful and makes you most welcome .Carol cooks a fantastic full English breakfast which honestly sets you up for the day. We have just come back from are third visit there and we really recommend it .Will be going back again next year for a longer visit as there is so much to do and see there around Beccles

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulugwilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were visiting Beccles to attend a concert at the beautiful St Michaels church. The Saltgate was about a 30 second walk from the church! We were welcomed by Carol and given tea in her beautiful garden. A lovely relaxing space to enjoy a cuppa and the sunshine. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed and good shower. Carol's breakfast was first class! Full cooked selection, top notch local ingredients, as well as loads of quality cereals and delicious freshly made fruit salad. (We certainly didn't need any lunch!) Carol really made us feel at home and her local knowlegde was invaluable for the rest of our trip to Suffolk. We can't wait to go back to Beccles, possible Britain's friendliest town and will absolutely stay at Saltgate House again. Carol's warm and friendly personality really made our stay special, she really treats everyone as individuals and not faceless strangers, like you get in some places. Thank you Carol.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

after a long and slow journey from Yorkshire we were greeted by Steven, who not only carried our suitcases in and up to our rooms but made us a lovely tray of tea and biscuits. And it was that caring that lasted over the 2 days we were there. Our rooms x 3 were all extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were so delicious. Cafetieres of coffee just kept coming!!! And the caring didn't stop there as they had to send on My Pillow which arrived the following day. Thank you Carol and Steven for being so understanding and helpful at a most difficult time for us all.

Room Tip: we had the four poster bedroom, the downstairs one and the twin at the top of the stairs overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaram243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We're regular visitors to both Beccles and Saltgate House and the excellent accommodation on offer at Saltgate House makes a massive difference to our stay. A beautiful listed building in the heart of the town, there's a nice lounge with a big selection of DVDs should you not fancy going out. The rooms are all a good size, clean and comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms are all modern with a power shower. Breakfast is always excellent, with a good choice of both times and food options - if you want it, they'll try their best to provide it!
Carol and Steve could not be more helpful; nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, even going so far as to help you plan your stay outside the B&B as much as they can. In the last year, they've kindly kept us tickets for both Beccles Ghost and History Walks (both of which are also recommended!).
We always look forward to going to Beccles, and the opportunity to stay with Carol and Steve again is a large part of that.

Room Tip: One of the rooms at the front has a four-poster bed should you be feeling extravagant - rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Easy to find, once you've negotiated the Beccles one way system anyway, Saltgate House is a handsome blue-painted town house in the heart of the Suffolk town. We were greeted warmly by Carol and taken up stairs to our cosy twin room overlooking the pretty garden. The beds were gloriously comfortable, a benefit we appreciated particularly on rolling into them after a late night wedding party nearby. The room was so quiet and the thick curtains so good at keeping out the morning light I was quite resentful at having to get up for 9.30 breakfast - why do B and Bs never allow lie-ins??! The bathroom was a bit small, too small in fact to accomodate a towel rail! The shower was wonderfully powerful but had a mind of its own and drenched the entire room as soon as you turned it on. Breakfast was very tasty with fruit and cereals followed by a well cooked full English.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The excellent service my Dad Pete and I received at Saltgate House B & B was so good that I felt compelled to let others know!
We arrived and were greeted by Carol who offered to carry my Dad's case, shown into the comfy living room and shortly after Steve presented us with a tray of tea and biscuits and a handy map of Becccles. This was such a pleasant surprise and just what we needed that it put us in a good mood straight away.
After mentioning to Carol that we would be walking alot during our stay she brought us a couple books to help us out, it was this thoughtfulness ( just one example of many ) that really stood out for us, as well as the great location, comfy room for three nights and excellent breakfasts.
I am not given over to gushy sentiments but credit where credit is due they really do care about their guests.
As for our map reading skills and sense of direction no amount of books is going to cure that I'm afraid but it did give us all a good laugh.
Thanks Carol and Steve.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Have just returned from a short break to Beccles in the Waveney Valley where we stayed with Carol & Steve at Saltgate House. Cannot praise them enough for their hospitality, friendliness and willingness to accomodate us. Nothing was too much trouble as they made every effort to make us as comfortable as possible during our short break.

As an escape from London this is a haven only a few hours away with a comfy bed and fabulous breakfast to set you up for a day exploring the tranquil countryside...I think Carol & Steve even organised the gorgeous weather...though they said they didn't!!!

See you again soon - Claire & David Mitchell

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Property: Saltgate House
Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing