We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting friends on our first visit!”
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #2 of 10 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years but this one is the best find yet, on arrival we were met by Karen who was extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful in getting us to the parking area and guiding us in. We met the very cute puppy on arrival and were shown to a very nice double room with outstanding en-suite, the room has recently been completely refurbished and is both fashionable and functional. This mix is very difficult to achieve, the fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality combined with quirky and excellent quality furniture. Tea and coffee facilities are excellent with a brand new hairdryer in the room.

The en-suite, like the room, was impeccably clean and had high quality shampoo, soaps and shower gel with a large two point overhead and hand shower at a very good power level. The bed was VERY comfortable with high quality bedding and we enjoyed an outstanding night sleep, the lounge are made available to all guests is beautifully decorated and comfortable. This room includes a free coffee machine with an array of PODs to suit any taste, fresh milk was made available instantly.

The breakfast was truly a treat, local fruit salad and locally made yogurt as well as a range of cereals and granola also available. This was followed with an all locally sourced full English breakfast which was beautiful, for those meat eaters out there a must! To top this off croissants and jams along with any tea you could think of and top quality coffees.

Above all of this was the friendly approach of Karen and Alan, our breakfast turned into a two hour conversation about music, sport, shoes and all the world has to offer. My title says it all, it was like visiting old friends on this our first visit so I already look forward to returning.

Local knowledge of restaurants and pubs was excellent and from my next review you will see very successful.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TonyAFC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed for a business trip and felt I had to post a review after a fantastic stay .
Luxury beds compared to some 5* star I have stayed in . Delicious breakfast served in courtyard garden on a lovely day . Hosts Karen and Alan were very accommodating . Look forward to staying again on my next business trip to beccles .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark140863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just spent three days relaxing in and around Beccles. We were initially surprised at how much there is to do in the area. We spent time in Aldeburgh, Southwold and popped into Minsmere to do some birdspotting. Saltgate House was a real find. Luxurious beds and toiletries made this a wonderful stay. Large soft towels too. Breakfast was excellent with the local sausages definately hitting the spot! Karen & Alan who have recently taken Saltgate House over, were extremely warm and friendly and knew plenty about the local area which helped us plan our trip. The decoration is wonderful, very classy and very elegant - she obviously knows her fabrics - I spotted Zoffany and Osborne & Little amongst others! Can't recommend it enough - you will not be disappointed - it's like a 5* Boutique Hotel without the pretension. They also recommended a wonderful Deli/Cafe/Restaurant for lunch in the town which was excellent called Baileys. We shall be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and need to invest in the same bed at home, wonderful nights sleep. Luxury shower with luxury scented toiletries to match! Really delicious breakfast, local sausages were the highlight. Alan and Karen make excellent hosts and we have booked a return visit in August.
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinaR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Extremely good B & B, Carol was a brilliant host, the bed was fantastic, the breakfast was so good and filling and tasty that it set me up till the evening. Having taken it over recently the deco is amazing, very high quality and ' boutique' without the price tag. I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying there again or recommending that Saltgate House is the place to go

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liltjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellecurtain, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon night with us - room already booked for next year ! Alan and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at salt gate house on our wedding night and it was amazing from the moment we walked through the front door. Every detail is beautiful, food, furnishings, bathroom products, and hosts. So warm and welcoming with champagne and wedding card waiting how special this place is x

Room Tip: All sumptuous and very tasteful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellecurtain, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - room already booked for next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

New owners Karen and Alan are aiming to turn Saltgate House into a luxury B and B and are well on their way! Beds that hug you so you don't want to leave them, luxury toiletries, beautiful designer decor, great breakfast using locally sourced ingredients and a home from home welcome. Who could want more? Good luck both in your new venture, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bully4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellecurtain, Owner at Saltgate House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review looking forward to seeing you in the Autumn
Alan and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beccles hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan House
The Swan House
#5 of 10 in Beccles
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
2.9 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#6 of 10 in Beccles
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing