We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip Saltgate House”
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #1 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Business Trip Saltgate House”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June 2014 at this wonderful recent refurbished Georgian town house, in the historic market town of of Beccles. Location was perfect for my business trip. Room standard and facilities were high quality. Breakfast cooked to a very high standard. Owners very friendly and professional

Would return for both Business and recreational purposes.

Excellent value. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matty_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
65
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Came for a night while we were boating as our boat had really uncomfortable beds. Karen and Alan were fantastic and made us so welcome. The bed was very comfortable and the room and furnishings are top end. The whole place is beautiful and we were made to feel like part of the family and met their lovely puppy Prudence. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with extensive choice. All products are locally sourced and tried by Karen and Alan for quality. This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in and deserves 5 stars. We will come again as we feel like friends rather guests. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khume1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Thanks Karen and Alan who made me feel so welcome, staying on my own. What a lovely B&B! Fantastic breakfast and the bed was so comfy after a long day in Norwich! Will definitely be coming back, and will be recommending to all my friends! Thanks!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Have spent two great days in Suffolk in a lovely B&B - we were going to move on to Southwold for the second night but enjoyed our stay so much we stayed put. The room was beautiful, very stylish with a fabulously comfortable bed and smart ensuite . Karen and Alan were great host, very welcoming and a breakfast that sets you up for the day! Beccles has lots to offer and lovely pubs/restaurants so we didn't have to drive out to eat in the evenings which meant there was no arguing about who was driving!

Great value for money, good location to explore the heritage coast of Suffolk and a charming and luxurious B&B. A real find, we will definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years but this one is the best find yet, on arrival we were met by Karen who was extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful in getting us to the parking area and guiding us in. We met the very cute puppy on arrival and were shown to a very nice double room with outstanding en-suite, the room has recently been completely refurbished and is both fashionable and functional. This mix is very difficult to achieve, the fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality combined with quirky and excellent quality furniture. Tea and coffee facilities are excellent with a brand new hairdryer in the room.

The en-suite, like the room, was impeccably clean and had high quality shampoo, soaps and shower gel with a large two point overhead and hand shower at a very good power level. The bed was VERY comfortable with high quality bedding and we enjoyed an outstanding night sleep, the lounge are made available to all guests is beautifully decorated and comfortable. This room includes a free coffee machine with an array of PODs to suit any taste, fresh milk was made available instantly.

The breakfast was truly a treat, local fruit salad and locally made yogurt as well as a range of cereals and granola also available. This was followed with an all locally sourced full English breakfast which was beautiful, for those meat eaters out there a must! To top this off croissants and jams along with any tea you could think of and top quality coffees.

Above all of this was the friendly approach of Karen and Alan, our breakfast turned into a two hour conversation about music, sport, shoes and all the world has to offer. My title says it all, it was like visiting old friends on this our first visit so I already look forward to returning.

Local knowledge of restaurants and pubs was excellent and from my next review you will see very successful.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyAFC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed for a business trip and felt I had to post a review after a fantastic stay .
Luxury beds compared to some 5* star I have stayed in . Delicious breakfast served in courtyard garden on a lovely day . Hosts Karen and Alan were very accommodating . Look forward to staying again on my next business trip to beccles .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark140863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just spent three days relaxing in and around Beccles. We were initially surprised at how much there is to do in the area. We spent time in Aldeburgh, Southwold and popped into Minsmere to do some birdspotting. Saltgate House was a real find. Luxurious beds and toiletries made this a wonderful stay. Large soft towels too. Breakfast was excellent with the local sausages definately hitting the spot! Karen & Alan who have recently taken Saltgate House over, were extremely warm and friendly and knew plenty about the local area which helped us plan our trip. The decoration is wonderful, very classy and very elegant - she obviously knows her fabrics - I spotted Zoffany and Osborne & Little amongst others! Can't recommend it enough - you will not be disappointed - it's like a 5* Boutique Hotel without the pretension. They also recommended a wonderful Deli/Cafe/Restaurant for lunch in the town which was excellent called Baileys. We shall be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
296 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
465 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 11 in Beccles
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Property: Saltgate House
Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing