We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #1 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at Saltgate house for one night at the start of July. The B&B itself has a great location in the centre of Beccles. The common areas are lovely and rustic and the bedroom we had was huge and well decorated. Breakfast was good as well. Most of all the lovely service, friendly and helpful is what we will remember most about Saltgate House. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
66
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Carol and Steve are very friendly and give a warm welcome to guests. The blue fronted house, a short stroll from both Old and New Market squares, has been lovingly restored. The guest sitting room is a cosy spot to sit and read or check email. Rooms are comfortable and an English country garden makes a very pretty view from the back bedroom window. Breakfast is great, with memorable bacon specially ordered in from a nearby farm via one of the local butchers. Helpful tips on good places to eat and suggestions for pleasant walks by the river enhance exploration of a fascinating old market town. Saltgate House is a pleasing find.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhuAnYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

A real gem of a B&B. The location could not be better, or more easy to find, and our room was very clean with every amenity. The owners are very helpful and there is ample parking. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Carol & Steve are so genuine and helpful they really made the stay easy for us. The location couldn't be better for the beautiful town of Beccles; fabulous cafes, lovely church, quaint shops, great pubs and restaurants as well as the Quay all on your doorstep within easy walking distance. If you're willing to drive the things to do and places to see are endless. The parking situation was worrying us but was absolutely fine when we got there. The B&B may not be ultra modern but it's certainly clean and fresh and very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous (was the only thing we ate all day!). Jess the dog was a little cutie too. All in all made for a wonderful break and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

A lovely property with very friendly proprieters (and a dear little dog!). My room was large, a king size bed, immaculately clean and an excellent decor making it a most comfortable experience. A very efficient shower & good fluffy towels. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, nothing was too much trouble. The house is well situated in the centre of Beccles for a choice of restaurants nearby. There is a charming rear garden plus a guests living room & plenty of books to borrow. Although there is not a car park it was easy to park in the road outside. I would highly recommend Saltgate House.

  • Liked — Friendly Proprieters & comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
311 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
36 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
486 reviews
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Property: Saltgate House
Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing