We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth staying at”
Review of The Plough Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Plough Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed four nights and not only got an excellent price, but also a friendly welcome and very good food. The staff are relaxed and always ready to help. Rooms are very size with a power shower in the bathroom ( leaked a bit ) Hank the dog was a delight.

Room Tip: A room furthest from the road is best
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The Plough Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Four of us had lunch on Sunday all ordered something different absolutely delicious ,we had a warm welcome and brilliant service what's nice it was leisurely lunch we were not hurried will certainly go again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Since the new owner has taken over at the Plough, and employed a new head Chef the food has transformed. We have had several excellent meals there. The shin of beef is divine. The service is really friendly and the atmosphere is great. The fire and comfortable seating is a real plus. A great place for a posh meal, or more typical pub grub. So happy have booked the whole family for lunch on Christmas Day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I have read the reviews and have to say the faults advised on past trips was not the case when we stayed this weekend. The owner was very friendly loved the puppy so be warned a wet nose welcome might be part of the experience.

The venue was welcoming and relaxed with a nice fire. For the food dinner was excellent and we invited friends over and they too were impressed top marks. The breakfast was informal and a nice touch to have the chef come to our table and take the food order.

For the room itself we stayed in number 3. No issue with traffic noise and if you like a power shower its amazing. Bed comfy and room clean, I have only dropped a star as for us we felt the family room was lacking personal touches and one or two niggles with broken bathroom lock and broken bathroom fittings which are simple DIY tasks. The room could also do with bigger TV and some little touches as it felt a bit blank and clinical. But on the whole big thumbs up and will be back for a meal with family.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 in far corner but no real issue in our view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We called in for Sunday lunch - a fantastic roast with generous portions of local meat and interesting vegetables. The children were well catered for in terms of high chairs and menu. Very warm welcome and convivial ambience. Hope the puppy is better trained next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonUKJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Really excellent and helpful. Ideal accomodation and reasonable . my evening meal was excellent. Not knowing what time I eould arrive the staff wwere going to phone me to put my food order in. Many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We first visited The Plough on a special deal during the 'management changeover'. As they were not able to offer a full menu they invited us back for another stay at no extra charge! The room was great: purpose built onto the the pub, very spacious with a huge bathroom with a separate shower and bath and nice and quiet. The pub is traditionally decorated and very pleasant. There's also outside eating areas for the summer. The food ranged from good to excellent (the mussels we had were the best we have ever tasted). The staff are very pleasant and Dan is planning further improvements. Overall a srong recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 3 is probably the quietest room and very spacious
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-of-Cley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
2.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
533 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
730 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: High Street | Wangford, Beccles NR34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Wangford Hotel Beccles
The Plough Inn Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing