We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent little cafe and a brilliant old-school fry up” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MA Airfield Cafe

MA Airfield Cafe
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Beccles
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent little cafe and a brilliant old-school fry up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are after a 'traditional' English breakfast then this is the place for you. There is no pretence and you will be sharing the place with folk who are setting themselves up for a hard day's work.

The MA cafe is located on the industrial estate so it's hardly a surprise that it is popular with the local workforce; to be honest - they looked a little surprised when I turned up with the family. That said, we were made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed an excellent chat with a couple of the regulars and the breakfast was simply excellent. A simple but perfectly cooked fry up with lashings of hot team and a pile of hot buttered toast on the side.

I only mark it down slightly because, despite being a charming log cabin - it's still in the middle of an industrial estate and the view isn't that great.

Great people, great food, great fun - it made me proud to be British again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good - but not the best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food is very well cooked and the staff are friendly and polite. They have fast and free wifi which is nice when you want to check the football/grand prix results etc and there is a pleasant seating area outside. The service was good and they well deserve a good reputation. I will certainly go there again.

However as this rating leads to their position in the table of places to eat in Beccles, I've had to mark them down as their main competitor was actually better.

The atmosphere and service was slightly lower here than their main rival on the industrial estate and they have less facilities like espresso/cappuccino machines if you like a rich coffee.

Having said that this is still worth a visit and a great place to eat - I'd rate it at #2 for breakfasts and #3 overall in Beccles - and beyond- I'd rate them above most places in Lowestoft and Bungay too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nav-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Only eaten a couple times which have been awesome however I've come in few more times with friends for drinks and a catch up and we're always greeted with a friendly and warm atmosphere.. X

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I found this Diner by accident but I am glad I did.
the food is first class .... at a very reasonable price and the staff are so good.
Also free wifi and plenty of signal.
all in all a really great experience.
I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wow what a find.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Roger and Mary-Ann have created an absolutely fabulous café here. They were potentially up against it with those Posh Piggies nearby but suffice to say they have blown them out of the water. The food cooked on site by MA is wonderful, plentiful and very well priced. Been at least 15 times now and had numerous different meals, everyone superb. Please can we have a loyalty card :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billboard-Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MA Airfield Cafe also viewed

 

Been to MA Airfield Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing