We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catherine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catherine House
Ranked #3 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked here to stay for 2 nights to attend a wedding of friends living nearby. It is exactly as they say. Lovely clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. A lounge and garden to enjoy if you wish. We stayed in the converted large attic room which is going to have a balcony with more spectacular views in November. One of the best breakfasts I have had, fab fresh fruit, local eggs, bacon and sausages, all delicious. Nice coffee, don't know why somebody complained, I thought it really nice and as Karen said, if the man had mentioned it she would have given him alternative! It's a great location to Beccles, just a 5 minute walk to the outdoor lido (summertime), church, shops etc. We would definitely stay there again and it well deserves the 4 star rating.

Room Tip: The attic room is very spacious, light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M.C.Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Catherine House in Beccles after looking up B and B in Beccles. What a find! Spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms (which are obviously kitted out for the guess t's comfort), guest lounge with Tassimo on tap. Breakfasts delicious( very hard to make choices from a very tempting list) and thoughtful and kind proprietor . Very accommodating. I can't recommend it too highly. Amazing value for money too!

Room Tip: The lodge which is Los on site is definitely gold standard. Don't let the term "sofabed&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My sister and I stayed in Catherine House for a wedding held at Elms Barn. What a delightful place! The rooms were lovely and clean, there was a good selection of DVD's in the lounge, the breakfast was great. Karen was wonderful and had lots of tips about the area, and about our stay in London as well. If I ever find myself back in Beccles, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Immaculate, friendly, good value, convenient location. Minor building disturbance more than made up for by complementary bottle of wine. Excellent breakfast (apart from the coffee) using all local ingredients, recommended

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StuRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Fritton Arms HOTEL
#1 of 1 in Fritton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Grain Store
The Old Grain Store
#1 of 3 in Bungay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine House

Property: Catherine House
Address: 2 Ringsfield Road, Beccles NR34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Catherine House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Catherine House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing