We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Catherine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catherine House
Ranked #3 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Bury st edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Catherine House is situated in a very quiet part of Beccles and finding it is very straight forward. Once you arrive you are made to feel very welcome and we was extremely impressed with the look and feel of the rooms as everything was immaculate and very tasteful. Karen was very accomodating with our requirements as we asked to come early to leave our luggage due to a wedding we was attending nearby. The breakfast menu was excellent and was served promptly and very well cooked. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were also excellent.
We would certainly go back and hope too soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank causer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our two night Stay at Catherine House can only be described as a home from home.
The proprietors, Karen & William along with Ann made my wife and I feel most welcome. Their attention to detail is what you would find at a boutique hotel.
We stayed in room 2 with its luxurious roll top bath. Couple this with the lovely breakfast and I think you'd be hard pushed to find this standard in the best hotels!
We will be back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macadees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had room two which has a freestanding roll top bath in the middle of the room - what a lovely touch for a B and B. They have made the best of the space available with a small ensuite shower in addition to the bath and the sink in the bedroom.

As it was a lovely day we spent an hour on the swinging hammock in the garden in the afternoon. There is also a guest lounge with DVDs and a comfy looking sofa which we didn't use as the weather was so lovely.

We walked into Beccles (10 minutes) for dinner - what a charming little town.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh - I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon.

All in all if I am ever in the area again I will definitely use Catherine House again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nîmes, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you want a sophisticated luxury BnB in Beccles than Catherine house ticks this box. The rooms are of quality with comfortable thick bedding, and has an upper class english taste. Inside the rooms you will feel spoilt especially if you get the room with the deep bathtub (one person only) However, with posh style can come the nose.

Our initial stays were pleasant and welcoming enough, breakfast was good, rooms immaculately presented. We have tried two rooms and the lodge out back, all so utterly perfect in presentation but unfortunately Catherine house lacks a warming feel or charming service.

We found our future stays (total stay: 2 months) to be rather stiff and quiet negative especially with concerns to cancelling any bookings (even with a weeks notice or future bookings/business!). I received guilt of all things, being told I cost them money!! (one moment, are we not providing an equal investment?!?) I was disappointed that this treatment occurred especially as BnB's rely on positive service for reputations and continued business, so we felt quiet offended.

All in all, I hope no one else receives such words. If you do manage a stay, minus the service, Catherine does provide a very stylish and fancy accommodation in Beccles. Location; be mindful it is up a little hill if you are walking there (I didn't mind the exercise) and it's near opposite a primary school. Just 10 minutes walking distance up the road is a Gym Centre for any fitness lovers.

Room Tip: For couples, ask for the room with the bath, it can be very romanic but a little hot in summer, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

On arriving at Catherine House we were pleased to see it looked very clean on the outside, on introduction to the owner, we were shown to our room. WOW!!!!!!. what a surprise. The room was immaculate, the decor was beautiful everything in the room had been thought out and all fittings were high end, i`m sorry to admit to this but i actually found myself looking for faults.......NONE. The ladies who ran the house were extremely pleasant and very helpful and presented us with a breakfast fit for a king, (all in the price) and locally sourced. All in all, it was the most enjoyable stay and experience i have had in a long time, it will be VERY hard to beat.
Terry and Sharon

Room Tip: Any room will be pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYMAN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Catherine House for two nights as we were attending a family reunion in Beccles and It is, without doubt, the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Large, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished rooms where a great deal of thought and effort has been put into the decor, extremely comfortable beds, and a friendly host who couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Very conveniently located with plenty of off street parking in a lovely quiet street. If you are staying in Beccles you will not find better value for money. Thank you Karen for making our stay memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A lovely venue. Good food. Organiser Alison made sure all went smoothly. Definitely recommended for weddings or similar occasions. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly efficient staff. Although guests at a friend's wedding I presume that the cost was value for money as our host was certainly very happy!

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night but those that did were impressed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWIFTTAXISGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
305 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hotel Victoria
The Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Lowestoft
400 reviews
6.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
476 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine House

Property: Catherine House
Address: 2 Ringsfield Road, Beccles NR34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Catherine House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Catherine House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing