We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Not Be Bettered”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catherine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catherine House
Ranked #3 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could Not Be Bettered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent service, beautiful rooms, and a superb cooked breakfast. Importantly for us, as we were four on a leisurely bicycling trip from Ipswich to Norwich, there was plenty of storage for our bicycles. We all enjoyed staying here very much. A very friendly place.

Room Tip: The newly constructed room at the top of the house is very nicely done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenRK4104GN, Owner at Catherine House, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. It is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had a warm welcome at Catherine House and have already booked to return. My first visit to Catherine House left me very impressed on all counts. I was staying on business and, as I shall be working intermittently in Beccles over the next few months, I am hoping that I can always finid a room at Catherine House. It has lots of return visitors and, once you have been here, it is easy to see why.

Rooms are contemporary, furnished to the highest standard and very comfortable. I stayed at the top of the house. The owner will always carry your bag up and down the two flights of stairs. The attention to detail is brilliant. I loved the fluffy towelling robe hanging on the door of the very modern bathroom. .

Amazing breakfast. Home cooked food, locally produced and purchased, delicious eggs (free range from a local supplier) and lots of high quality cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruits. First class in every way. You can believe all the reviews (other than the rather odd review that was less positive and not at all representative of every other guest's experience).

I'm hoping I can still get a room, given the popularity of this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Thank you Karen for making us feel so welcome! Your B&B is so beautiful, modern and clean. Local produce breakfast without the slightest sight of any grease! Amazing value for money! I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwhaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have stayed at Catherine House as a business traveller for approx 20 nights. The rooms are immaculate, well furnished and exceptionally comfortable. Breakfasts are amazing, and with local produce and a huge variety of choice.

I have found service to be excellent; friendly, flexible and helpful at all times. To top it all, there is exceptionally good value for money.

I have stayed at two other B and Bs in Beccles at a higher price and neither Catherine House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zepelina100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A group of us stayed for 1 night on a cycling trip. 3 of our party had rooms in the main house whilst I and one other had the Lodge in the garden. The Lodge was very well finished with a double bedroom and a double sofa bed in the lounge/kitchen. Both rooms had access to a shared wetroom bathroom. Fixtures and fittings are of a very high quality throughout with a modern fresh feel. We were staying as bed and breakfast guests, but the kitchen was very well specified for self catering visitors with washer/dryer, dishwasher, oven, hob, microwave, toaster and kettle. Both rooms had televisions and air conditioning.
We were able to store our bicycles in a secure undercover location.
Breakfast had to be ordered the night before and was very high quality, made with local ingredients.
The hotel is located on the edge of Beccles, a short walk from the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Myself and a friend stayed for one night to attend a wedding nearby. Arrived to a warm reception by the lady owner. The whole place was immaculately clean, decor lovely and the twin room we booked had a double and single bed. It was such a pleasant surprise, especially as the room rates are a fantastic price. My friend and her partner had a room with a tub bath it in...gorgeous and perfect for a couple! There was a great choice to selection for breakfast, and you were able to specify a time you would like it for. There is also an extra surprise at breakfast as you are invited to enjoy fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts before your cooked breakfast arrives. I would recommend this b&b and would stay there again myself .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nats-c32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Catherine House is a well situated B & B only ten minutes walk from the town centre, the last 50yds back being up a very slight gradient but not a problem even for an older person. Plenty of off road parking should you require it.

Being met on the doorstep, before ringing the bell, with a cheery greeting by our host Karen set our stay off to a perfect start. Although our choice, it was a bit of a climb up a narrow staircase to our room but the room and the view from it made it well worth it. A large comfortable room with a similar bed. The en-suite was compact but more than adequate. Good sized soft fluffy towels that were changed daily. Tea and coffee making facilities included.

A breakfast pre-order form was available each evening for the mornings breakfast. Breakfast consisted of plenty of choice from cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit and full english and toast downward, enough for anybody, but always followed with a "would you like anything more?" Daily newspapers were available at breakfast every morning.

We found Karen and her two lady assistants very helpful and extremely friendly and can not wait for the excuse for a return visit.

Room Tip: Having been shown all rooms they are all excellent, nothing to choose between them although I unders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fritton Arms HOTEL
Fritton Arms HOTEL
#1 of 1 in Fritton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#2 of 12 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine House

Property: Catherine House
Address: 2 Ringsfield Road, Beccles NR34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Catherine House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Catherine House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing