We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay and warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We received a really warm welcome. The safari tent was fully equipped, clean and just lovely. The grounds that the two tents and three shepherds hut are on is lovely and it was lovely to be woken up by the sounds of the cockeral, moo-ing cows and chickens (albeit a weee bit early...). My daughter and niece loved running across the grass to collect the eggs for breakfast. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clax-Bord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just home from a great stay, stayed in an amazing tent, this place is a real gem.
We took 3 children who have not stopped talking about the holiday yet, it is so safe for children of all ages, plenty of open space to explore, collect eggs and play the great games provided by the amazing hosts Helen and Bob, we explored the local area and had great days out at the Lido in Bicycles, boat hire down the river, beeches where amazing in Southwold and on the only bad weather day we went to the world war museum which is free and highly recommended.
All in all an amazing holiday, tents very well equipped every thing you need, beds very comfortable kids loved the cabin bed. Thank you Helen and Bob you have a great retreat and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OrchidHouseDenbyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great job Helen and Bob - Hope you are proud of what you have achieved - we had a fantastic week thank you and you were great hosts! Wonderful tent, probably bigger than our first flat and better equipped - think we all slept in all of the beds at some point - fantastic weather, beautiful setting and our boys (7 and 5) just so happy riding their bikes around the field and playing frisbee, rugby and hide and seek and visiting the pigs and chickens. And so much to explore locally from glorious beaches, WW2 air bases, BewilderWood, the brilliant Beccles lido and much more. A great blast of fresh air, nature and family fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a great secluded retreat; close enough to Southwold but also far enough to know you're in the countryside- it is after all a working farm; chickens, sheep even a couple of friendly Gloucestershire Old Spots. Me and my wife stayed for a night in the Texel Shepherd's Hut, listed as having space for a couple and two small children (though to be honest it would have been cramped with that many). Perfect for a couple though. The site is new, the Bradshaw family who run it are very friendly. When we went for a wander the local farm nearby even invited us to join in with their mass family rounders match!
We were provided with milk, eggs tea and coffee for when we arrived, a nice touch I think. You could even tell the cake was homemade!
There is a small honesty charge for the charcoal or wood for the BBQ but that's not a problem. Given all the utensils and gear are supplied I think even the least savvy BBQ'er can't go wrong. I can see they have also planted saplings around the huts so in a couple of years I think they will provide even more seclusion.

Not sure what could beat being sat outside in a quiet countryside with a BBQ, some vino and beautiful sunshine!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Haizum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Suffolk hut, was really lovely. Cosy, quiet and in a great location, was all we wanted really.
everyone we met at the weekend was really friendly, the whole area was amazing and the farm where the huts are located, is fantastic, even the animals were friendly :-)

Couldn't say a bad word about it really, definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really enjoyed a mid week break here with small kids. Safe for them to run about and explore, cosy and well equipped tent (they loved the cabin bed) and very friendly and helpful hosts. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex-mum-of-three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The small details are what make this holiday so special. The space that each unit is given on the field is lovely and allows peace and privacy. The games, both outdoors and in the shepherds hut was a wonderful touch, as were the delicious cake and eggs. We sadly did not meet the owners, but were more than ably assisted by son, Olly, who could not have been more helpful. I've never met such a delightful young man (and I am a teacher by trade).

The facilities in each hut are second to none. My only hope is that this venue does not change. Clearly the units are still very new and are beautifully presented. I hope that the success that will clearly come to this lovely organisation will not encourage them to overload the site with people - this was a really special break for which we send enormous thanks to the owners.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suffolk shepherds hut which I reckon was the nicest situated as it was furthest awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EssexWigglyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicken65Barsham, Owner at Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We do not intend to change our format and realise we will have to work hard to keep the huts looking like they are now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
2.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Swan House
The Swan House
#5 of 10 in Beccles
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Grain Store
The Old Grain Store
#1 of 3 in Bungay
31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
338 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#6 of 10 in Beccles
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines

Address: The Pines Hall Road | Barsham, Beccles NR34 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Beccles
Price Range: £66 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawn Chorus Holidays offers two spacious luxury safari-style canvas lodges and 3 shepherds huts (glamping at its best), the tents can sleep up to 8 people and the Norfolk Horn and Suffolk can sleep 2, Texel can sleep 4 but 2 being 2 small children no bigger than 110cm. Set on a working farm near the beautiful market town of Beccles. You will delight in the space, fresh air and seeing how a working farm works and you will love to be able to switch off and have a deserved break from hectic lifestyles. This is a time to get away from all things modern and resort back to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing