We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #5 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July 2013.
Lovely room. Helpful staff. But did not like the fact that my credit card had been debited at time of booking on 2nd May
If a hotel offers tea-making facilities they should be properly set up. 'Margot's room' had two china cups with one saucer and one teaspoon, two mugs, no teapot and a very tiny kettle.
Room was noisy as there appeared to be some sort of extractor fan or other machine running all night, very audible through the open French window. I mentioned the noise to a member of the staff the following morning.
Coffee at breakfast was offered only by the cup. The coffee tasted of salt. I wondered if it had been made with softened water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seafarer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Sorry if the missing teaspoon spoilt your visit. Would like to add that the sound from the refrigerator would have been silenced if you had closed the French windows at night and opened the windows on the opposite south side of your room. Our coffee is supplied by 'Paddy and Scott's' generally regarded as the finest available, and served by the cup through our Italian Espresso machine. And no we do not use a softened water, or add salt to our coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    28
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
16
111
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I recently stayed with friends at the Swan House for dinner bed and breakfast,
the accommodation was excellent and the rooms had been so beautifully updated,
we explored each others suites and they were all gorgeous - breakfast was such a rare treat,
the orange was freshly squeezed! \ Everything home made including the bread and muesli, and
dinner scrumptious - very friendly atmosphere from all, will def return to this pretty village,
many thanks

Room Tip: just look at the excellent website to choose your room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks Nigel, pleased your enjoyed everything they Swan House has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Beautiful room with a great blend of contemporary and historic. And the food I had at dinner...I can only say it was the best meal I have had in a very long time. This is not a cheap option but just the 3 course delicious breakfast alone makes it great value for money. Nothing was too much trouble. A special place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bells of the clock tower if you're a light sleeper. Didn't imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had the best meal in a very long time. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We took a four night break at the Swan House recently. Bedroom and bathroom excellent. Breakfast superb. Staff superb. Owner very friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant - not bad but didn't live up to the other aspects of the hotel. Service for dinner was extremely slow - there may have been a problem in the kitchen? We couldn't get the hotel to change our bath towels each day even though we kept asking. Using damp towels not very pleasant. Parking is a five minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for reviewing us although I was sorry to read you were not entirely happy. Just for the record we did change your towels on day three and we would have changed them daily if you had followed the usual hotel etiquette of leaving your towels on the floor of bathroom. We are a market town centre establishment and as with most such towns, we do not have a car park. The furthest car park is indeed 5 minutes away, however clients can often park park overnight immediately outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Had 4 night stay in this lovely hotel, stayed in Margots room which was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely small balcony. Breakfast was fabulous, we ate in the restaurant each evening, food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Swan House is a unique mix of may periods and I'd like to think we've developed the interior in a way that enhances those qualities. Thank you for recognising the work we have put into making it truly unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A group of us stayed overnight at this delightful boutique hotel. We loved our bedrooms : comfortable and well equipped of course, but also stylish and sophisticated in décor, blending the whimsy of a building dating back to Elizabethan times with the panache of a modern eye. A well as the best breakfast we've ever had, we ate fantastic food in the evening, served by relaxed and attentive staff. We would definitely recommend Swan House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc143_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks Jane. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our two night stay in Seth's room was compact but excellent, the breakfasts were some of the best we have had, I took a picture of the French Toast to show our friends! We had a large group (16 people altogether) join us for dinner on one night and the inn gave us a dining room to ourselves and the service and food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Lovely review Jim and Diana. Thanks for choosing us and very pleased your dinner party of 16 went so well. It was a please to have you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Property: The Swan House
Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing