We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refreshing change!....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #4 of 12 Beccles B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A refreshing change!....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter ( aged 6) and I stayed at the Swan House for two nights, while exploring the the wonderful surrounding area of Suffolk.
We stayed in " The Jermiah" room which on entering takes your breath little.
Not your run of the mill family room, but much more.
With its mezzanine sleeping area and quirky decor I applaud the amount of thought and hard work which has gone in to create such a retreat.
Facilities were great and my daughter was kept entetrained by the Smart Tv especially Netflix.
We all thoroughly enjoyed dinner and breakfast was a magnificent start to each day.
We found Roland, Camilla and all there staff fantastic and helpful in all aspects of our stay.
My daughter especially took a shine to Roland, as they swap stories on crab fishing.
Would not hesitate in booking again, in fact wish we were still there!....
Thankyou to all at the Swan House.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. And what a smashing daughter you have. A future crab champ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    28
    19
    12
    2
See reviews for
16
111
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A one night stop for two couples preceeding a day out on the Broads. Simple. Nice spot in a town fighting with its identity.

Rooms were nice but odd. The Margot room was nice, albeit the scary pictures on the wall of legless dolls in a push chair and the horrific noise of barrel shifting and bin emptying at some unholy hour in the summer morning.

The Jemimah room, with its mezanine (would never put your kids up there) and wierd Mural was ok too. Beware the wet room and empty it before you shower. It really does get wet! All over!

Wanted light lunch. Not possible. Proper 2/3 course meal. Fair enough, we went elsewhere.

Wanted a nightcap in the " POSH INN" as they call it at 10 pm. Was closed!

Good job as you get woke up at 6am.

Breakfast is great, but an hour long 3 course job.

£150 and £130, in Beccles!

You decide....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxtrotUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Just occasionally a visitor doesn't 'get' Swan House. Our food is quirky and innovative, the art that dresses the walls is thought provoking and yes even provocative. Most find the experience an unusual mix of eclectic taste, bespoke detailings and individual style, but do I recognise it is not for all and clearly not for you. You could have checked us out a little more thoroughly on-line before booking and seen, for example, that we don't serve sandwiches.

The 'horrific noise at some 'unholy hour' was in fact the Council emptying a bin between 7.45am and 8am (Waveney District Council will verify the time). Oh and we have never closed at 10pm. On that night we closed at 10.35pm. That time is logged too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a very friendly hotel the staff were lovely and the set menu evening meal was wonderful.
You should stay just to have their wonderful breakfast! Rooms have been designed with care and attention and nothing was too much trouble for the staff,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you Rebecca for such a wonderful review. Clearly you had two teaspoons to enjoy (see next review) ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July 2013.
Lovely room. Helpful staff. But did not like the fact that my credit card had been debited at time of booking on 2nd May
If a hotel offers tea-making facilities they should be properly set up. 'Margot's room' had two china cups with one saucer and one teaspoon, two mugs, no teapot and a very tiny kettle.
Room was noisy as there appeared to be some sort of extractor fan or other machine running all night, very audible through the open French window. I mentioned the noise to a member of the staff the following morning.
Coffee at breakfast was offered only by the cup. The coffee tasted of salt. I wondered if it had been made with softened water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seafarer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Sorry if the missing teaspoon spoilt your visit. Would like to add that the sound from the refrigerator would have been silenced if you had closed the French windows at night and opened the windows on the opposite south side of your room. Our coffee is supplied by 'Paddy and Scott's' generally regarded as the finest available, and served by the cup through our Italian Espresso machine. And no we do not use a softened water, or add salt to our coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I recently stayed with friends at the Swan House for dinner bed and breakfast,
the accommodation was excellent and the rooms had been so beautifully updated,
we explored each others suites and they were all gorgeous - breakfast was such a rare treat,
the orange was freshly squeezed! \ Everything home made including the bread and muesli, and
dinner scrumptious - very friendly atmosphere from all, will def return to this pretty village,
many thanks

Room Tip: just look at the excellent website to choose your room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks Nigel, pleased your enjoyed everything they Swan House has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Beautiful room with a great blend of contemporary and historic. And the food I had at dinner...I can only say it was the best meal I have had in a very long time. This is not a cheap option but just the 3 course delicious breakfast alone makes it great value for money. Nothing was too much trouble. A special place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bells of the clock tower if you're a light sleeper. Didn't imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had the best meal in a very long time. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We took a four night break at the Swan House recently. Bedroom and bathroom excellent. Breakfast superb. Staff superb. Owner very friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant - not bad but didn't live up to the other aspects of the hotel. Service for dinner was extremely slow - there may have been a problem in the kitchen? We couldn't get the hotel to change our bath towels each day even though we kept asking. Using damp towels not very pleasant. Parking is a five minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for reviewing us although I was sorry to read you were not entirely happy. Just for the record we did change your towels on day three and we would have changed them daily if you had followed the usual hotel etiquette of leaving your towels on the floor of bathroom. We are a market town centre establishment and as with most such towns, we do not have a car park. The furthest car park is indeed 5 minutes away, however clients can often park park overnight immediately outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Property: The Swan House
Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing