We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, well appointed luxury”
Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #5 of 10 Beccles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in October as a base to explore the surrounding area and as a treat for my birthday. We were very pleased with the service, accomodation, food and overall package that Swan House delivers.

There is no onsite car parking, and so you can either leave your car on the street at no cost for one hour or overnight between 18:00 and 10:00, or you can pop it in to a car park a couple of minutes walk away for £4 for 24 hours. This isn't a criticism as we knew this in advance, it's just an FYI for other travellers.

The Swan Inn is smack bang in the middle of Beccles, just underneath the clock tower and about 5 minutes walk from the river. It's a perfect central point within Beccles, with all of the bars and restaurants equidistant from it. It's also very well located for exploring the surrounding areas of Southwold, Dunwich, Aldeburgh, Bungay and even Great Yarmouth.

We had the Williams room, which was very well sized, very well decorated, very comfortable and probably one of the best rooms we have stayed in. The room has clearly been renovated recently and sympathetically, carpented with oak throughout and with travetine in the bathroom, plus a very good sized bath too. The room does have an open fire, which can be lit for you, but unfortunately it was too warm for us to take advantage of this quirk. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets and plump, quality pillows. The wet room style bathroom was interesting. Not something I could live with on a day to day basis, but another quirk of this place.

We ate breakfast here twice and it lived up to the expectations fuelled by some of the other reviews. You start with home made tea cake and coffee, followed by a slate covered in ham, cheese, fruit, croissants and preserves, and then on to a full english breakfast. You'll be stuffed, but you'll enjoy it! I have to pay particular mention to the quality of the bacon!

All in all, if you want to stay somewhere near Beccles or the surrounding area, then I would have to recommend this place. It's quality, quirky, different and absolutely deserves a recommendation.

Room Tip: Do your homework and choose the room that suits your needs. Each room is unique and offers differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Swan House and taking the time to describe your visit so thoroughly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a treat this hotel is, even our teenagers were impressed!
Every detail has been thought through with love and care from the rooms to the food and the staff... this was a special one night treat for us...and it was worth every penny...thank you for a really lovely time in a lovely town.
You will not be disappointed
Wendy Robertson

Room Tip: The Jeramiah room is perfect for families with a great upper level and an amazing slidding staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you Wendy for the glowing review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed from Tue 22 - Fri 25 Oct on business. Stayed in the Eln room. It is large, nice TV above fireplace. Large wet room / toilet area. More than big enough for a couple although I was on my own. Right in the town centre so lots of other pubs and restaurants although I didn't go to any.
I ate in the restaurant twice from the specials menu (3 courses for £17.50) the food was excellent.

Breakfast is nice they bring out some tea bread with orange juice, then a continental style and then ask if you would like something cooked, full english, french toast etc.

I will definitely stay there again on business or leisure, although be warned the town clock chimes from 7:30am which was fine for me as I needed to be up but probably not great if you want a lie in.

Room Tip: If you want a lie in ask for a room away from the town clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-Baggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It's pleasing to read that your visit gave a nice edge to your business trip. We look forward to greeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were really impressed with the interiors and the attention to detail Roland has put into the Swan House. The bed and linen were extremely comfortable and the bedroom had just a lovely feel to it. The art and furniture make for a very eclectic and interesting mix. The service was superb and the staff could not have been friendlier. The breakfast was superb, possibly the best poached eggs I have tasted in years! If we are ever in the area again we will definitely stay at the Swan House Inn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thanks Bish for that glowing review. Oh and I had poached eggs this morning and they were rather lovely. Fresh from the farm does the trick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm a bit slow to review but I stayed here in May and can only begin to describe how good the Swan Inn is. If you're into boutique, this is it.

Our room was fantastic. Beams and quality furnishings with design and quality throughout. We had a tour of the unoccupied rooms and the thought that went into the design was not only creative but from the heart. The art work is inspirational and the courtyard is the perfect place to have a cheeky cigar after dinner or breakfast.

Putting the Swan Inn though it's paces, we enjoyed dinner and the evening musical entertainment. The home-made pasta was perfectly cooked, quality and finesse was evident in everything we ate and drank. We enjoyed the musical exploits of the 'gentleman piper' who played some of the most amazing medieval instruments.

Breakfast took on an edge I've not experienced before. The Swiss-alpine influence came through with the ham and artisan cheese, but the muesli-yoghurt-fruit ensemble (I can't give it a name!) was the finest mix ever.

Combine the product with the service of gifted individuals, this place is second to none. I'm back for Burns night which I'm assured is a top evening. I might even take a trip beforehand!

Craig Gillespie

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. Enjoy! I don't know which one to choose next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Lovely that you picked up on and reviewed our 'European' influences. Carmela, our Italian manager coupled with my own Russian/Austrian roots have subliminally castes our spell! A superb review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed overnight at the Swan House on a whirlwind tour of Norfolk/Suffolk. The property has been renovated beautifully with taste and quality. We stayed in Williams Room which is both spacious and comfortable - particularly the bed!. My only comment would concern the bathroom/wet-room, excellent shower but clearly left floor wet after use! Could do with an 'implement' to remove surplus water from the floor. We particularly enjoyed our evening meal, good quality, reasonably priced with very friendly and efficient service. (The piped music was a bit overpowering at times!). The chicane of doors to negotiate with luggage on arrival and departure are a bit of a challenge and not assisted by a large specimen tree in an equally large plant pot located in the middle of the passageway. We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to others for quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

I'm pleased you found us a great place to stay. I take your point about the wet-room floor becoming wet, however you can of course throw the bath mat on the floor or just have a bath if it worries you. Having an instrument to wipe away the water, might suggest that we expect our clients to clean up after a shower and that would not be appropriate. But thanks for the thought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a really enjoyable experience at the Swan in mid September and can thoroughly recommend it to others. It is a place of charm and character and there were high standards of staff friendliness and service to match.
Our room (Eln) was spacious and a wonderful design blend of old and new. We liked the comfortable bed, the creative lighting, the magnificent wet room with piping hot water, the free wifi facility, the large flat screen TV and the extensive choice of reading material. We were provided with a jug of fresh milk to use with the tea/coffee making facilities in our room and made use of the daily newspapers available.
Meals here are a definite strength. The breakfasts were outstanding. The generous three course system was explained to us beforehand - so we knew what to expect! We also took advantage of the reasonably priced two course evening meal option and were not disappointed. The atmosphere was enhanced one night by a talented guitarist.
The staff tried really hard to make us feel welcome. We were told in advance of the late night entry system and potential car parking issues - but encountered absolutely no problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for such an all encompassing review. You've covered just about everything and it's very rewarding for us to have visitors that appreciate all the considerations we have put into Swan House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beccles hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
2.9 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#6 of 10 in Beccles
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing