We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beccles Finest”
Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #5 of 10 Beccles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a visit for our wedding anniversary. This is a truly lovely place to stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to all. From the flowers that were pre ordered for the room (right down to the colours and variety asked for, many thanks to Roland and Fresh and Silk Flowers!) to the wonderful food and polite and courteous staff. Fantastic breakfast, something for everyone and the sticky toffee pudding after dinner is a must! The owner was helpful with knowledge of lovely local walks and we enjoyed a tour of all the other beautiful rooms the hotel also has to offer. All done with such taste and attention to detail, we stayed in the immaculate Eln room and would love to come back and visit William' s room too.

Room Tip: For couples, Eln or William room with open fires are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyMay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks for your excellent review. I'm pleased you really enjoyed visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beccles is lovely town, great walks nearby.
Swan House plus points: distinctive character; intimate; comfortable. Negative: no on-site staff overnight; breakfast is determined for you, there is no question of asking what one would like; music is unavoidable (requests by a number of guests to turn this down were rejected, bizarre). Is likely to be noisy in summer because of location on the main square but having said this the town was quiet at night. Mattress and room furniture a little faded, but bedding very fresh. Overall if you can manage these downsides, the hotel is a good base. Dinner was good and wine excellent. Staff variable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247LondonW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Sorry to read that you were disappointed Malcolm, however I have to disagree with almost all your points.

Firstly Being a five bedroom Inn, we do not have overnight service and that is why we describe ourselves as a Boutique Inn, rather than an Hotel.

The centre of town is very much like any other town centre in Britain, there will be a little noise, but none that would generally be obtrusive. If you want the bustle and life of being in the centre of a historic Suffolk market town, then you cannot expect silence.

There is a plentiful choice for breakfast with options ranging from Eggs Benedict; Scrambled or any type of eggs on toast; Egg dipped toast topped with a hedgeberry berry compote, natural yoghurt and honey drizzle or of course full English breakfast. These and more options, just happen to be preceded by two courses, we like to think of as serendipitous. We produce all our own dishes from fresh ingredients including real cereals and that is why the usual fare of packaged breakfasts was missing. You can check our breakfast menu on our website under 'Food & wine' section.

Music is played at a relatively low volume, to both offer privacy from neighbouring tables and to aurally stimulate. We give the music we play a lot of consideration and I would like to think of our choices as the antithesis of muzak. We did incidentally reduce the volume. Oh an you can read many appreciative comments on 'Trip' of our music selections.

It wouldn't have been appropriate to fit our rooms with new 'repro' furniture, so genuine antiques have been introduced. The chest in the Eln room is mid 16th century, the bed and chairs Regency. The genuine Liberty curtains are almost new and the mattress just 20 months old. Beyond the natural ageing of genuine antiques, nothing in the room is 'a little faded', as recent pics on our website will indicate.

Whilst reviewing us why not also discuss the positives and point out that the 'Eln' room had an exquisite blend of 15th charm with 21st century technology. The Samsung Smart TV has free access to over 10,000 films, the room an audio link for your smart phone/tablet to link your own music with our surround sound system. Discuss the use of contemporary art including Turner nominated artist, an open log fire-place for mid winter cosiness; a library of books; a fantastic wet room with natural foliage. Locally hand crafted lighting system, as well as hand built solid oak fixed furnishings. I could go on...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Beccles is a joy to explore and with a beautifully furnished room, super supper and mammoth breakfast we really enjoyed our night away. To be picky supper was perhaps a little expensive for us and we couldn't easily find menu on web site so booked blind.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosnets18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks for the splendid review. I would just like to point out that all our menus are clear to view on our excellent and highly informative website under the 'Food and wine' section, and can be downloaded as a PDF.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Myself and partner booked last minute and were offered table for two straight away. Fixed menu for two or three courses is what we chose. Started with pate and toast. Wonderful livery tasting pate and good portion. Home made steak and kidney pie with vegetables followed which was superb. Succulent meat, beautifully cooked. My partner opted for the sticky toffee pudding, but two courses was sufficient for me. Had a couple of glasses of Leffe beer, not often seen on draught, and a glass of house wine to finish. Staff were very friendly, owner came up to the table for a chat also. Roaring fire completed the atmosphere.
We had a lovely meal, very reasonably priced for the quality and would happily recommend this place being worth a visit when in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HarryCoeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for the excellent review and destroying the myth that we are expensive. Where else could you taste such a succulent, made on the premises, steamed Steak and Kidney pudding for our price?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I returned home from our stay at The Swan House Hotel a few hours ago and we had the most wonderful time (we treated ourselves and left the children with their grandparents :-) The small but perfectly formed, cosy and welcoming boutique hotel and restaurant was right in the center of Beccles, our room (The Eln room) was beautiful, totally unique with amazing attention to detail, no expense spared from the light fittings to the stereo system, wet room, open fire, complimentary fruit bowl and amazingly comfy bed. The food was outstanding, the breakfast one of the nicest we have had in years. We met the lovely owner Roland who made a point of coming to welcome us at dinner (not intrusively so) and we had a nice chat and he showed us another room which was even more stunning than ours! (next time...!). The staff were fantastic, the rooms out of this world and the food top notch. Such a great find and its clear how passionate Roland feels about his business - it comes across in every detail. You wont be disappointed! (oh unless you like brown sauce with your full English as no bottled sauces allowed!). And one very small detail from a female customer with long hair -the hairdryers where you have to hold down button the whole time are so frustrating! But that is ALL I can think of!! We would love to come back soon, Cath & Tim (Harpenden)

Room Tip: Eln room has an open fire but no bath - a lovely big wet room with power shower instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AylettsStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for the excellent review Cath and pleased you so enjoyed. It was lovely having you both stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I usually sit back and let my wife do the reviews following our little jaunts across the country, but I was so bowled over by our stay at The Swan House Inn, Beccles that I've butted in ahead of her (I have little doubt she'll be uploading her own glowing testimonial in due course!).

This was our first trip to the wonderful market town in Suffolk and the location of The Swan House Inn couldn't be better - so central it defied belief! The room we'd been assigned (Jeremiah's Room) to accommodate two adults and an excited eight-year old proved to be perfect the moment little lady scampered up the ladder to her very own mezzanine floor above Ma & Pa, complete with all safety precautions one could ask for and plenty of space for one or two children up in the eaves.

Wonderfully appointed in every way, no small detail in our room had been overlooked with a superbly appointed bathroom, vanity area for the girls, ample storage and the most comprehensive lighting options I can ever remember encountering! A state of the art, wall-hung Samsung Smart TV (complete with free access to Netflix and all manner of other channels helped fill the rare voids between jaunts into Beccles, Southwold & Aldeburgh) and two comfy leather loungers set the seal on a quite magical room!...

Breakfast was a real treat with a wide variety of continental staples lovingly re-invented & presented; the portions on the initial 'teaser' plate were so ample that there really wasn't much room for the options of eggs benedict, standard full English or light French toast on offer if required. We dined in the hotel restaurant the first evening and the choice/food was absolutely first-class (as was the Prosecco!).

I'm a hard one to please on short-jaunts such as we've just enjoyed but I can honestly say that I'm already hopeful we'll be returning to The Swan House Inn again later in the year for another wonderfully relaxing weekend, at which point I'm sure owner Roland Blunk will be totally up to speed with the spanking new camera he'd just taken delivery of that Saturday morning!

Recommended? Most certainly - check out availability as soon as you can and start looking forward to enjoying the delights of rural Suffolk from the perfect base that is The Swan House Inn, Beccles!...

Room Tip: Jeremiah's Room, for those with children aged 6 and above, was perfect! A peek into two empty co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

What can I say to such a review, other than to assure readers you are not my long lost brother or even a mate. But it was great meeting you and your lovely family and swapping graphic design tales. Oh and I believe I tweeted!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hands on approach by the owners and attentive staff certainly works well to create the perfect stay. The beautiful building and delicious food have always been notable, but this is the first time we have stayed. We were in Eln's room which met and exceeded expectations as we had chosen and booked from the website. The room was cosy, the shower excellent and the open fire a treat. The live music session on Monday evening was an added bonus for us and very enjoyable. Breakfast the following morning served on a large slate platter was an absolute treat and my poached egg was perfectly done :) . Thanks for a memorable stay. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Just 5 rooms and their website is easy to navigate to enable you to chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamD766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you Adam for your past dinning visits and now your 'perfect stay'. Pleased we could give you such a good time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beccles hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
338 reviews
1 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
2.9 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#6 of 10 in Beccles
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing