We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan House
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Head Hotel(Beccles)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Swan Motel(Beccles)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waveney Inn(Burgh St Peter)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
123
31
22
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
31
22
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomattention to detailopen firechurch bellshuge fireplacelovely roomleave your carcreaky floorboardsbell towerquirky little placerelaxing staywednesday nightstayed one nightfamily roomkings headswanjeremiah
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a one night stay at the Swan which has been
renovated with great style. We stayed in the lovely Eln
room, which is full of character unfortunately full of dust
as well. The bathroom door is impossible to close and
needs attention. However we enjoyed our stay and
the food was excellent. Parking is a good five minute
walk away and you have to be lucky to find a space.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry the bathroom door issue caused an inconvenience, due to timber expansion. Unfortunately skilled craftsmen had to be brought in, and so couldn't be instantly repaired, but is now. Whilst all our rooms are very thoroughly cleaned, the Eln room originates from the 1560's and will never appear appear quite as pristine as a modern hotel room. Bare Tudor brick walls and open chimneys take their toll!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Swan in Beccles.
Its town centre position was great and parking wasn't an issue, just a 5 minute walk away but well worth it for the centre location.

The rooms were beautifully crafted, with lots of thought and consideration for guests. Each had a unique theme based on the history of the building. Beds were comfortable, storage for clothes ample and bathroom spacious.

Breakfast was well........an experience.......amazing! The live guitarist in the evening was a real bonus to the stay.

We visited during a really hot spell so my only comment would be to add in a small fridge for water and milk, our milk turned with the heat overnight and we couldn't make a drink first thing in the morning but this is just a minor point to an otherwise good stay.

Hope to return, well one day ☺

Diane

Room Tip: Check the website out for the different rooms, the photos are a true reflection of the room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us and yes hope to see you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Too many good points to list but definitely worth the review for outright charm, attention to detail and 'that nothing too much trouble' attitude. Hope to be back next year if we can find an excuse. Great food too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3fins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Manager at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for the succinct, yet excellent review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a very nice stay in this charming inn. Everything is of very good quality. I enjoyed breakfast very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room Seth is not exactly luxurious. The beams are vey low and there is not much room to move.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarieHT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Marie for your review of Swan House. The Seth room and indeed all of our rooms are not particularly intended to be luxurious and it's certainly not a word I would use to describe them. They have however been created to offer a unique visitor experience, whereby original thinking and quality of design have been combined with hand-built cabinet making, local craftsmanship, murals, art objects, and paintings etc. in a way that integrates period rooms with the 21st century.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Factual review avoiding emotion as I am aware that the owner will pounce on any negative comment.

1. Arrived and were unable to be shown to our room as the key was not available. Offered a drink but this was not on the house.

2. Seths room has lots of character but very low beams and sloping ceilings. Would advise against this room if you are 6ft+. No blind on wet room window, a person looking out of the adjacent window can look at you having a shower.

3. Wet room does not drain adequately. Floor will remain wet for hours after taking a shower.

4. Restaurant under staffed. As has been mentioned in previous reviews we were seated at 7.30 and at 9.30 had still not received our food. Manager refused to come and explain to diners what the cause of the issue was. Restaurant waiting staff taking brunt of diners wrath.

5. Were requested to pay the balance of our room payment before we would be taken to our room. Manager explained that this was the policy and that the hotel system would pop up with errors if not paid. Have seen feedback from owner saying that it is policy and guests should be aware.

5. Dining room incredibly hot at all dining times. I am aware that we are in a heat wave but very uncomfortable.

6. Breakfast. Slow service. No cereals apart from a home made sweet muesli.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Factual reply, as I will not be intimidated into not defending Swan House from unreasonable comments. And I will of course admit and apologies where criticism is due.

1 The short delay in giving you your key was due to the previous occupant not returning it. However I agree not your problem, but it was resolved within a couple of minutes by programming another key card.

2 The Seth room you complain about is very honestly described and photographed on our website through which you booked. The page about Seth states: "A gorgeous room for short lovers...Cross joists straddle this historic and characterful room leaving clearance at 1.6 metres. Slightly restricted bed access is fun to some, but not to all". The so called adjacent window does not have a direct view of the Seth Bathoom unless someone were to lean out of a window by a considerable distance. However for those that uncomfortable with this scenario, a blind has been added.

3 No it is not hours for the floor to dry. Partially open the window and it will naturally evaporate in less than an hour. And of course our website does make clear that you are booking an en-suite with a wet-room!

4 I asked my staff to explain and apologise as we were attempting to serve all, whilst being let down by two chefs. I agree with you and apologise for believing we could manage the evening, but once a couple of tables arrived late, the issues compounded. I wasn't avoiding my customers, more trying to help the kitchen catch up. This was a particularly difficult period for us, but one that is now happily resolved with a new creative team in place. It will not happen again.

5 We ask for just 25% on booking and the balance on arrival. This is very clearly explained in our Terms & Conditions on our website to which you ticked and accepted, prior to booking on-line.

5.1 Yes it was a full house during a heat wave and you were dining in a room built in the 1540's, with air-con not an option. However, you may have asked to dine under our umbrellas and awnings on our terrace or courtyard. Quite beautiful and an excellent summer option that's fully viewable on our website.

6 We treat breakfast as a languid affair, as most prefer to savour our excellent three course breakfasts over the morning papers and without without being rushed. We do not offer packaged cereals, preferring to make our breakfasts entirely from fresh and healthy ingredients. Hence the original Swiis recipe Bircher Muesli.

So thank you for your review and once again my sincere apologies for point 4, the remaining six you may consider 'Pounced' upon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews